Biography & Memoir Book Reviews (page 3)

THINGS I SHOULD HAVE TOLD MY DAUGHTER by Pearl Cleage
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 8, 2014

"A warts-and-all self-portrait rendered in juicy, robust prose."
Cleage (Just Wanna Testify, 2011, etc.) reprints journal entries chronicling her tumultuous life in the 1970s and '80s. Read full book review >
MAGGIE & ME by Damian Barr
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 8, 2014

"While it should be heartbreaking, Barr tells a wonderful story, demonstrating the remarkable resilience of a child not only surviving, but succeeding in such a grand way."
Memoir of the difficulties of growing up poor and gay in Margaret Thatcher's Scotland. Read full book review >

THE WRONG ENEMY by Carlotta Gall
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 8, 2014

"Gall admirably never loses sight of the human element in this tragedy."
A longtime New York Times war correspondent delivers a moving, on-the-ground chronicle of her years covering the Afghanistan War. Read full book review >
I DON'T KNOW WHAT YOU KNOW ME FROM by Judy Greer
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 8, 2014

"Readers will wish Greer was their conspiratorial best friend."
A memoir by a rare breed of Hollywood actress: happy, well-adjusted and working. Read full book review >
YEAR OF NO SUGAR by Eve O. Schaub
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 8, 2014

"A funny, intelligent and informative memoir."
A Vermont blogger mom's delightfully readable account of how she and her family survived a yearlong sugar-free diet—and lived to tell the tale. Read full book review >

NO END SAVE VICTORY by David Kaiser
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 8, 2014

"An admiring, richly textured portrait of a leader confronting the unthinkable."
In the years leading up to World War II, America was fortunate to have Franklin Roosevelt as president, a prescient leader who anticipated our inevitable entry into the global conflict most Americans wanted to avoid. Read full book review >
"BOYS WILL BE BOYS" by Tracy Barker
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 8, 2014

"Barker's story shines an important light on the subject of sexual harassment in the workplace while exposing the shoddy ethical standards and procedures of Halliburton/KBR."
In 2004, seeking greater financial security for her family, military wife and mother Barker secured a one-year assignment working for Halliburton/KBR in Iraq. Her memoir chronicles her sexual abuse, the military contractor's attempted coverup and her prolonged battle for justice. Read full book review >
JAMES GANDOLFINI by Dan Bischoff
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 8, 2014

"Not the last word but an earnest, endearing homage to an outstanding actor."
A bittersweet biography of an intensely private artist. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 8, 2014

"Completely over-the-top, scattered, only occasionally funny parenting humor. Pick up Robin O'Bryant or Jill Smokler instead."
Rants on the messier side of raising children. Read full book review >
LOVE LIFE by Rob Lowe
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 8, 2014

"A savvy writer with a quick wit, Lowe invites readers into his world with easy charm and disarming frankness."
Actor Lowe follows up his Stories I Only Tell My Friends (2011) with a potpourri of observations and reflections about youthful indiscretions, celebrity tidbits, marriage and fatherhood, addiction and the acting life. Read full book review >
STRONGER by Jeff Bauman
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 8, 2014

"A moving demonstration of how strength of mind and character helped one man stand tall despite the loss of his legs."
One man's account of life before and after the Boston Marathon bombing. Read full book review >
NOW YOU SEE ME by Kathy Sanders
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 8, 2014

"A moving account of how one woman's life was changed forever after the Oklahoma City bombing."
A journey of self-discovery after terrible loss. Read full book review >