Business & Economics Book Reviews

THE BROKEN LADDER by Keith Payne
NON-FICTION
Released: May 2, 2017

"Though the author doesn't break much new ground, he provides valuable psychological insights into our daily behaviors."
The surprising consequences of inequality. Read full book review >
MAKING IT by Louis Uchitelle
NON-FICTION
Released: May 2, 2017

"A robust and fatalistic argument for a return to American greatness."
A venerable economics reporter delves into the messy business of American manufacturing. Read full book review >

WE ARE DATA by John  Cheney-Lippold
NON-FICTION
Released: May 2, 2017

"Essential reading for anyone who cares about the internet's extraordinary impact on each of us and on our society."
How algorithms shape our lives online. Read full book review >
AMERICAN KINGPIN by Nick Bilton
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 2, 2017

"A fast-paced, readable true-crime tale that frames the likely future of the underground economy."
Engrossing account of the rise and fall of Ross Ulbricht, founder of the now-shuttered online drug bazaar the Silk Road. Read full book review >
MASTERS OF CRAFT by Richard E. Ocejo
NON-FICTION
Released: May 9, 2017

"A close-up and often entertaining look at new service jobs in an urban economy."
How formerly low-status jobs have become cool, creative careers. Read full book review >

THE CEO PAY MACHINE by Steven Clifford
NON-FICTION
Released: May 16, 2017

"A well-thought-out, clearly written exposé marred only by some repetition of the main points."
A former CEO of two corporations shatters the myths and explains the stupidity regarding astronomical salaries at the top of the business world. Read full book review >
NON-FICTION
Released: May 16, 2017

"An urgent, balanced, eye-opening plea for mental health care reform."
An alarming report on the dire state of our nation's mental health care industry. Read full book review >
NON-FICTION
Released: May 16, 2017

"Illuminating and entertaining—heady science written for a lay readership, bringing scaling theory and kindred ideas to a large audience."
From a dean of complexity theory comes a sharp consideration of the pace and pattern of life in a universe of "complex adaptive systems." Read full book review >
NON-FICTION
Released: May 16, 2017

"An absorbing and often entertaining look at precious metal and its place—or lack thereof—in our wallets."
Is the dollar as good as gold? Not for a long time, writes Inc. editor Ledbetter (Unwarranted Influence: Dwight D. Eisenhower and the Military-Industrial Complex, 2011, etc.), and therein hangs a tale. Read full book review >
CITY ON THE VERGE by Mark Pendergrast
NON-FICTION
Released: May 16, 2017

"A welcome look at a city—a mass of cities—not often heard from in the urban-studies literature and of wide interest well beyond the I-95 corridor."
Given enough political will and enough choice, we can save the world. Or, as this case study shows, we can let things continue to go to hell in a handbasket lined with peach blossoms. Read full book review >
THE CAPTAIN CLASS by Sam Walker
NON-FICTION
Released: May 16, 2017

"A fascinating sports study with much wider-reaching application, featuring page-turning tales of personal triumph and cogent analysis."
From the rugby pitch to the baseball diamond, a riveting analysis of greatness in sport. Read full book review >
GROCERY by Michael Ruhlman
NON-FICTION
Released: May 16, 2017

"An illuminating journey through and behind the grocery store, which, 'perhaps more than any other mechanism of change…has the power to shape how we raise and produce food in America.'"
Cookbook author and food writer Ruhlman (In Short Measures: Three Novellas, 2015, etc.) explores the evolution of the American grocery store and how it has affected what we eat in this country. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >