Going for the elliptical and understated, Browder arrives instead at the obscure and flat.

READ REVIEW

SECRET LIVES

Meandering snapshots of outsiders seeking contentment in their daily lives.

Russian, Japanese, Latino, or Iranian immigrants in bland America, Americans in stoic Japan, and hard-working, underappreciated, rustic moms in the harsh Midwest all seek equilibrium as they struggle with a foreignness that swings between intrinsic and ethereal. Throughout Brower’s second collection (after The Clay That Breathes, 1991), a literary-minded tendency toward understated, stark realism collides with the tug of sentimental naiveté to leave characters in interesting enough activities or situations—amnesia, archery, earthquakes—yet sketched in a broad, generalized manner. Sincere immigrants deliver pizza, a tough, generous cop seeks Celtic music, a fiery Latina woman is fixated on her teenaged brother-in-law, and a gentle Japanese animal-lover prowls her neighborhood for neglected dogs. In 11 stories, the consistent, compelling disconnect between characters and their adopted homes is simultaneously affirmative and isolating, yet never quite satisfying. The values and situations seem to exist in a simplistically undefined and timeless past (where a criminal can climb through a window and “insult” a woman rather than “rape” her), and while characters are generally sympathetic, their dialogue remains stubbornly un-lifelike. Truncated endings abound, as with the out-of-wedlock pregnancy of a practical Navy wife in “Girls Like Us.” The story moves well through the meat of the drama—a husband’s absenteeism provokes a complex and juicy affair—but ends in the arduous: the quick reunification of husband and wife, difficult birth, ideal adoption, heartfelt explanation to the older children. Best is “The Juice-Seller’s Bird,” in which an American nun’s ambivalent feelings toward a pair of orphans—one ugly, reticent, and unwaveringly devoted to her charmed, enchanting baby sister—are revealed against the disconcerting backdrop of Mexico City’s devastating earthquake.

Going for the elliptical and understated, Browder arrives instead at the obscure and flat.

Pub Date: July 31, 2003

ISBN: 0-87074-480-1

Page Count: 236

Publisher: Southern Methodist Univ.

Review Posted Online: June 24, 2010

Kirkus Reviews Issue: June 15, 2003

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

A gut-wrenching debut.

Our Verdict

  • Our Verdict
  • GET IT

  • New York Times Bestseller

  • IndieBound Bestseller

MY DARK VANESSA

The #MeToo movement forces a struggling young woman to confront the abusive relationship that defines her sexual and romantic past.

At 15, Vanessa Wye falls for her English teacher at Browick, a private boarding school. Jacob Strane is 42, "big, broad, and so tall that his shoulders hunch as though his body wants to apologize for taking up so much space." Strane woos Vanessa with Nabokov's novels, Plath's poetry, and furtive caresses in his back office. "I think we're very similar, Nessa," Strane tells her during a one-on-one conference. "I can tell from the way you write that you're a dark romantic like me." Soon, Vanessa is reveling in her newfound power of attraction, pursuing sleepovers at Strane's house, and conducting what she feels is a secret affair right under the noses of the administration. More than 15 years later, at the height of the #MeToo movement, Taylor Birch, another young woman from Browick, publicly accuses Strane of sexual abuse. When a young journalist reaches out to Vanessa to corroborate Taylor's story, Vanessa's world begins to unravel. "Because even if I sometimes use the word abuse to describe certain things that were done to me, in someone else's mouth the word turns ugly and absolute....It swallows me and all the times I wanted it, begged for it," Vanessa tells herself. Russell weaves Vanessa's memories of high school together with the social media–saturated callout culture of the present moment, as Vanessa struggles to determine whether the love story she has told about herself is, in fact, a tragedy of unthinkable proportions. Russell's debut is a rich psychological study of the aftermath of abuse, and her novel asks readers both to take Vanessa's assertions of agency at face value and to determine the real, psychological harm perpetrated against her by an abusive adult. What emerges is a devastating cultural portrait of enablement and the harm we allow young women to shoulder. "The excuses we make for them are outrageous," Vanessa concludes about abusive men, "but they're nothing compared with the ones we make for ourselves."

A gut-wrenching debut.

Pub Date: March 10, 2020

ISBN: 978-0-06-294150-3

Page Count: 384

Publisher: Morrow/HarperCollins

Review Posted Online: Aug. 19, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Sept. 1, 2019

Did you like this book?

Traversing topics of love, race, and class, this emotionally complex novel speaks to—and may reverberate beyond—our troubled...

A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD

A riveting, potentially redemptive story of modern American suburbia that reads almost like an ancient Greek tragedy.

When the Whitmans, a nouveau riche white family, move into a sprawling, newly built house next door to Valerie Alston-Holt, a black professor of forestry and ecology, and her musically gifted, biracial 18-year-old son, Xavier, in a modest, diverse North Carolina neighborhood of cozy ranch houses on wooded lots, it is clear from the outset things will not end well. The neighborhood itself, which serves as the novel’s narrator and chorus, tells us so. The story begins on “a Sunday afternoon in May when our neighborhood is still maintaining its tenuous peace, a loose balance between old and new, us and them,” we are informed in the book’s opening paragraph. “Later this summer when the funeral takes place, the media will speculate boldly on who’s to blame.” The exact nature of the tragedy that has been foretold and questions of blame come into focus gradually as a series of events is set inexorably in motion when the Whitmans’ cloistered 17-year-old daughter, Juniper, encounters Xavier. The two teenagers tumble into a furtive, pure-hearted romance even as Xavier’s mom and Juniper’s stepfather, Brad, a slick operator who runs a successful HVAC business and has secrets of his own, lock horns in a legal battle over a dying tree. As the novel builds toward its devastating climax, it nimbly negotiates issues of race and racism, class and gentrification, sex and sexual violence, environmental destruction and other highly charged topics. Fowler (A Well-Behaved Woman, 2018, etc.) empathetically conjures nuanced characters we won’t soon forget, expertly weaves together their stories, and imbues the plot with a sense of inevitability and urgency. In the end, she offers an opportunity for catharsis as well as a heartfelt, hopeful call to action.

Traversing topics of love, race, and class, this emotionally complex novel speaks to—and may reverberate beyond—our troubled times.

Pub Date: Feb. 4, 2020

ISBN: 978-1-250-23727-9

Page Count: 288

Publisher: St. Martin's

Review Posted Online: Oct. 1, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Oct. 15, 2019

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet
more