Adventure Book Reviews (page 4)

THE ELEPHANT MOUNTAINS by Scott Ely
ADVENTURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"Equal parts interesting and unsettling, this one may appeal to fans of Gordon Korman and Gary Paulsen. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
A fast-paced, brutal story of survival delivered in a clipped, no-frills style. Read full book review >
PUSS IN BOOTS by Gerald Kelley
ADVENTURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"This ageless trickster tale has a nicely subversive message, but this rendition lacks the panache to carry it off. (Pop-up fairy tale. 8-10)"
A wooden retelling of Perrault's classic tale, with underwhelming movable parts. Read full book review >

BLOOD ON THE MOON by Jennifer Knight
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 28, 2011

"Curiosity about the author's ending promise to tweak paranormal mythology will impel some readers to the sequel, provided they care to learn more about Faith's travails. (Paranormal romance. 14 & up)"
Knight rehashes themes of werewolf-vampire rivalry and redemptive paranormal romance in a debut that adds little to the genre until the final cliffhanger. Read full book review >
ABARAT:  ABSOLUTE MIDNIGHT by Clive Barker
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 27, 2011

"All in all, fans will revel and newcomers will be baffled. (Fantasy. 13 & up)"
The long-awaited third book of Barker's series has finally arrived. Read full book review >
DOGLANDS by Tim Willocks
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 27, 2011

"A riveting dog tale with a healthy serving of savagery, not all on the part of the four-legged characters. (Fantasy. 11 & up)"
After his brutal owner tries to kill him, a half-breed greyhound escapes and embarks on a series of adventures. Read full book review >

MISTER CREECHER by Chris Priestly
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 27, 2011

"By turns brooding and ghoulish, this old-fashioned gothic horror story is one lively read. (author's note) (Fiction. 12 & up)"
Looking younger than his 15 years but hardened by a life on the streets of 19th-century London, Billy accidentally befriends a monstrous man in this electrifying story set against the events of Mary Shelley's Frankenstein. Read full book review >
CITY OF WIND by Pierdomenico Baccalario
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 27, 2011

"Clever writing and a pell-mell plot will win over readers new to the series and satisfy its fans (Adventure. 12 & up)"
This third installment in this four-book teen thriller series continues the adventures of a multicultural group of teens in the mysterious mission that they know is important to Earth's survival, this time in Paris. Read full book review >
CITY OF LIES by Lian Tanner
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 27, 2011

"Muddy, if often riveting. (Fantasy. 9-12)"
The second title in Tanner's Keepers Trilogy delivers a fantasy as thickly plotted as but less successful than Museum of Thieves (2010). Read full book review >
THE LAST MUSKETEER by Stuart Gibbs
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 27, 2011

"Using Alexandre Dumas' stories as a jumping-off point, Gibbs mixes fact, fantasy and thrills to create a galloping swashbuckler. (Adventure. 8-12)"
From the gripping first sentence—"Clinging to the prison wall, Greg Rich realized how much he hated time travel"—the excitement never flags in this newly imagined Musketeer adventure. Read full book review >
AWAY by Teri Hall
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 15, 2011

"Another absorbing, suspenseful and imaginative effort in this excellent series. (Dystopia. 12 & up)"
This worthy sequel to Hall's The Line (2010) continues to build a dystopian world rich with suspense and moral choices. Read full book review >
NOWHERE GIRL by A.J. Paquette
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2011

"A culturally tone deaf exercise in narcissism. (Fiction. 10-14)"
Opening with a flash-forward teaser, this unpersuasive debut quickly fizzles. Read full book review >
ASHES by Ilsa J. Bick
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2011

"Splendidly paced apocalyptic zombie horror ends with a thrilling, terrifying cliffhanger and a number of unresolved mysteries. (Horror. 12-15)"
When civilization ends and you're faced with an army of face-eating, nuclear-mutant zombies, having a brain tumor doesn't seem so bad. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >