Adventure Book Reviews (page 4)

ADVENTURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"Sturdy, ingenious—and winning, despite the small color misstep. (Toy book/board book. 3-5)"
Another animated introduction to colors from the creators of What Makes a Rainbow? (2000), using the same "Magic Ribbon" technique. Read full book review >
SEVEN LITTLE MICE HAVE FUN ON THE ICE by Haruo Yamashita
ADVENTURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"Get the augur and poles ready—this is likely to have children clamoring to try their own hands at ice fishing. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Yamashita's septuplet mice are back, this time solving the problem of how to get their slip-cautious Mother to go ice fishing with them. Read full book review >

TRICKY COYOTE TALES by Chris Schweizer
ADVENTURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"Folktale purists will be driven looney tunes, but so what if the tone isn't completely authentic—who doesn't like to see a coyote fall off a cliff? (Graphic novel. 7-10)"
Not every folktale collection includes the words "BONK BONK BONK," but they fit perfectly here. Read full book review >
THE ELEPHANT MOUNTAINS by Scott Ely
ADVENTURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"Equal parts interesting and unsettling, this one may appeal to fans of Gordon Korman and Gary Paulsen. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
A fast-paced, brutal story of survival delivered in a clipped, no-frills style. Read full book review >
PUSS IN BOOTS by Gerald Kelley
ADVENTURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"This ageless trickster tale has a nicely subversive message, but this rendition lacks the panache to carry it off. (Pop-up fairy tale. 8-10)"
A wooden retelling of Perrault's classic tale, with underwhelming movable parts. Read full book review >

BLOOD ON THE MOON by Jennifer Knight
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 28, 2011

"Curiosity about the author's ending promise to tweak paranormal mythology will impel some readers to the sequel, provided they care to learn more about Faith's travails. (Paranormal romance. 14 & up)"
Knight rehashes themes of werewolf-vampire rivalry and redemptive paranormal romance in a debut that adds little to the genre until the final cliffhanger. Read full book review >
ABARAT:  ABSOLUTE MIDNIGHT by Clive Barker
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 27, 2011

"All in all, fans will revel and newcomers will be baffled. (Fantasy. 13 & up)"
The long-awaited third book of Barker's series has finally arrived. Read full book review >
DOGLANDS by Tim Willocks
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 27, 2011

"A riveting dog tale with a healthy serving of savagery, not all on the part of the four-legged characters. (Fantasy. 11 & up)"
After his brutal owner tries to kill him, a half-breed greyhound escapes and embarks on a series of adventures. Read full book review >
MISTER CREECHER by Chris Priestly
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 27, 2011

"By turns brooding and ghoulish, this old-fashioned gothic horror story is one lively read. (author's note) (Fiction. 12 & up)"
Looking younger than his 15 years but hardened by a life on the streets of 19th-century London, Billy accidentally befriends a monstrous man in this electrifying story set against the events of Mary Shelley's Frankenstein. Read full book review >
CITY OF WIND by Pierdomenico Baccalario
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 27, 2011

"Clever writing and a pell-mell plot will win over readers new to the series and satisfy its fans (Adventure. 12 & up)"
This third installment in this four-book teen thriller series continues the adventures of a multicultural group of teens in the mysterious mission that they know is important to Earth's survival, this time in Paris. Read full book review >
CITY OF LIES by Lian Tanner
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 27, 2011

"Muddy, if often riveting. (Fantasy. 9-12)"
The second title in Tanner's Keepers Trilogy delivers a fantasy as thickly plotted as but less successful than Museum of Thieves (2010). Read full book review >
THE LAST MUSKETEER by Stuart Gibbs
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 27, 2011

"Using Alexandre Dumas' stories as a jumping-off point, Gibbs mixes fact, fantasy and thrills to create a galloping swashbuckler. (Adventure. 8-12)"
From the gripping first sentence—"Clinging to the prison wall, Greg Rich realized how much he hated time travel"—the excitement never flags in this newly imagined Musketeer adventure. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Libba Bray
author of LAIR OF DREAMS
August 25, 2015

In Lair of Dreams, the second installment of Libba Bray’s bestselling young adult Diviners series, after a supernatural showdown with a serial killer, Evie O'Neill has outed herself as a Diviner. Now that the world knows of her ability to "read" objects, and therefore, read the past, she has become a media darling, earning the title "America's Sweetheart Seer." But not everyone is so accepting of the Diviners' abilities....Meanwhile, mysterious deaths have been turning up in the city, victims of an unknown sleeping sickness. Can the Diviners descend into the dreamworld and catch a killer? “Weaving together a chilling mystery with a truly elusive solution, several poignant love stories, agonizing injustice, terrifyingly monstrous dreams, and even a cameo by legendary psychiatrist Carl Jung, this installment wraps enough up to satisfy but clearly sets the stage for more,” our reviewer writes in a rare starred review. “How will readers stand the wait?” View video >