Adventure Book Reviews (page 4)

ADVENTURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"Sturdy, ingenious—and winning, despite the small color misstep. (Toy book/board book. 3-5)"
Another animated introduction to colors from the creators of What Makes a Rainbow? (2000), using the same "Magic Ribbon" technique. Read full book review >
SEVEN LITTLE MICE HAVE FUN ON THE ICE by Haruo Yamashita
ADVENTURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"Get the augur and poles ready—this is likely to have children clamoring to try their own hands at ice fishing. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Yamashita's septuplet mice are back, this time solving the problem of how to get their slip-cautious Mother to go ice fishing with them. Read full book review >

TRICKY COYOTE TALES by Chris Schweizer
ADVENTURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"Folktale purists will be driven looney tunes, but so what if the tone isn't completely authentic—who doesn't like to see a coyote fall off a cliff? (Graphic novel. 7-10)"
Not every folktale collection includes the words "BONK BONK BONK," but they fit perfectly here. Read full book review >
THE ELEPHANT MOUNTAINS by Scott Ely
ADVENTURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"Equal parts interesting and unsettling, this one may appeal to fans of Gordon Korman and Gary Paulsen. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
A fast-paced, brutal story of survival delivered in a clipped, no-frills style. Read full book review >
PUSS IN BOOTS by Gerald Kelley
ADVENTURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"This ageless trickster tale has a nicely subversive message, but this rendition lacks the panache to carry it off. (Pop-up fairy tale. 8-10)"
A wooden retelling of Perrault's classic tale, with underwhelming movable parts. Read full book review >

BLOOD ON THE MOON by Jennifer Knight
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 28, 2011

"Curiosity about the author's ending promise to tweak paranormal mythology will impel some readers to the sequel, provided they care to learn more about Faith's travails. (Paranormal romance. 14 & up)"
Knight rehashes themes of werewolf-vampire rivalry and redemptive paranormal romance in a debut that adds little to the genre until the final cliffhanger. Read full book review >
ABARAT:  ABSOLUTE MIDNIGHT by Clive Barker
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 27, 2011

"All in all, fans will revel and newcomers will be baffled. (Fantasy. 13 & up)"
The long-awaited third book of Barker's series has finally arrived. Read full book review >
DOGLANDS by Tim Willocks
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 27, 2011

"A riveting dog tale with a healthy serving of savagery, not all on the part of the four-legged characters. (Fantasy. 11 & up)"
After his brutal owner tries to kill him, a half-breed greyhound escapes and embarks on a series of adventures. Read full book review >
MISTER CREECHER by Chris Priestly
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 27, 2011

"By turns brooding and ghoulish, this old-fashioned gothic horror story is one lively read. (author's note) (Fiction. 12 & up)"
Looking younger than his 15 years but hardened by a life on the streets of 19th-century London, Billy accidentally befriends a monstrous man in this electrifying story set against the events of Mary Shelley's Frankenstein. Read full book review >
CITY OF WIND by Pierdomenico Baccalario
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 27, 2011

"Clever writing and a pell-mell plot will win over readers new to the series and satisfy its fans (Adventure. 12 & up)"
This third installment in this four-book teen thriller series continues the adventures of a multicultural group of teens in the mysterious mission that they know is important to Earth's survival, this time in Paris. Read full book review >
CITY OF LIES by Lian Tanner
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 27, 2011

"Muddy, if often riveting. (Fantasy. 9-12)"
The second title in Tanner's Keepers Trilogy delivers a fantasy as thickly plotted as but less successful than Museum of Thieves (2010). Read full book review >
THE LAST MUSKETEER by Stuart Gibbs
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 27, 2011

"Using Alexandre Dumas' stories as a jumping-off point, Gibbs mixes fact, fantasy and thrills to create a galloping swashbuckler. (Adventure. 8-12)"
From the gripping first sentence—"Clinging to the prison wall, Greg Rich realized how much he hated time travel"—the excitement never flags in this newly imagined Musketeer adventure. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Jude Deveraux
author of EVER AFTER
July 1, 2015

New York Times bestselling author Jude Deveraux's eagerly awaited Ever After, the third novel in her blockbuster Nantucket Brides trilogy, continues the saga of the Montgomery-Taggerts, set on an island steeped in beauty and unforgettable romance. Life is anything but perfect for Hallie Hartley, a young physical therapist who has given up nearly everything—even her love life—for her beautiful blonde stepsister, Shelly. Though Shelly's acting career has never taken off, she has certainly perfected the crocodile tears to get what she wants—which all too often means Hallie's boyfriends. When Hallie arrives home early from work one fateful day, she makes two startling discoveries that will turn her life upside down. "This sexy, lighthearted romp brings the series to a satisfying close," our reviewer writes. View video >