CITYBLOCK by Christopher Franceschelli
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Children in urban settings will recognize this city's feel, while suburban or rural children will be equally happy to join in the adventure. (Board book. 1-4)"
The latest addition to Franceschelli and Peskimo's (Dinoblock, 2015, etc.) collection of very thick board books exploits all the possibilities of the format. Read full book review >
BALLET by Sterling Publishing
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"A decent starter for aspiring ballerinas and danseurs. (Board book. 1-3)"
Little readers explore the world of ballet. Read full book review >

MY DREAMS by Marie Fordacq
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Usually spot-on, this time Deneux and his collaborator have missed the mark. (Board book. 2-4)"
At night, when all is calm and quiet, a child dreams all sorts of adventures before coming home to dream some more. Read full book review >
EEK! A MOUSE SEEK-AND-PEEK BOOK by Anne-Sophie Baumann
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Bright and simple—though probably not durable enough to outlast the pleasure the OshKosh set will take in repeat tours. (Pop-up picture book. 2-5)"
In this flap-lifter's delight, a platoon of mice rummages through a house, room by room, for party supplies. Read full book review >
HAND IN HAND by Rosemary Wells
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Thanks to Wells' experienced hand, this book is a fine gift for new parents. (Picture book. 2-6)"
An ode to parenting, from child to mother, starring Wells' beloved bunnies. Read full book review >

OCEAN ANIMALS FROM HEAD TO TAIL by Stacey Roderick
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"For toddlers and preschoolers, an inviting opportunity to swim into the underwater world. (Informational picture book. 2-6)"
A guessing game introduces curious ocean animals from hammerhead sharks to sea horses. Read full book review >
MOTOR MILES by John Burningham
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"No one does whimsy like Burningham; no one. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Miles, a dog, learns to drive his own car, and everything changes. Read full book review >
LIBBY AND PEARL by Lindsey Bonnice
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Fans of Libby and Pearl will enjoy these best friends in book form, however fleeting their notoriety may be. (Picture book. 1-5)"
A sweet and cheery celebration of the Pink Frilly Dress phenomenon starring a delightfully photogenic toddler and a pink piglet. Read full book review >
GOODNIGHT BOB by Ann Hassett
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2016

"A sweetly simple bedtime book with a reassuring message. (Picture book. 2-4)"
A young child's bedtime anxiety is quelled as familiar friends take turns saying goodnight. Read full book review >
PEEKABOO! ON THE FARM! by Cocoretto
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2016

"Add this and its companions to the ever expanding animal board-book shelf. (Board book. 6 mos.-2)"
Through the unfailingly delightful game of "peekaboo," babies and toddlers are introduced to a series of animals in this book and its companions. Read full book review >
TICKLE MY EARS by Jörg Mühle
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2016

"Grown-ups should not be surprised if their own little ones start asking for a tickle behind the ear and a back rub as part of their own bedtime rituals. (Board book. 6 mos.-3)"
It's late, and Little Rabbit must go to bed, so toddlers are invited to help him settle down in this bedtime storybook. Read full book review >
CLIVE AND HIS BABIES by Jessica Spanyol
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2016

"In a world where toy aisles and sometimes book racks are explicitly and implicitly gendered, Clive's love of baby dolls, frilly hats, glitter, and bags of all sorts is a breath of fresh air. (Board book. 18 mos.-4)"
Meet Clive, a white toddler who loves to play with his toys, his accessories, and his friends. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Melissa Sweet
author of SOME WRITER!
September 26, 2016

“SOME PIG,” Charlotte the spider’s praise for Wilbur, is just one fondly remembered snippet from E. B. White’s Charlotte’s Web. In Some Writer!, two-time Caldecott Honor winner and 2014 Kirkus Prize finalist Melissa Sweet mixes White’s personal letters, photos, and family ephemera with her own exquisite artwork to tell his story, from his birth in 1899 to his death in 1985. Budding young writers will be fascinated and inspired by the journalist, New Yorker contributor, and children’s book author who loved words his whole life. This authorized tribute is the first fully illustrated biography of E. B. White and includes an afterword by Martha White, E. B. White's granddaughter. “Like Charlotte, Sweet spins a terrific story,” our reviewer writes in a starred review. “A masterful biography that will enchant young readers.” View video >