SAME SAME by Marthe Jocelyn
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 13, 2009

"An inviting way of introducing connections and commonalities. (Picture book. 2-4)"
Giving preschoolers and even aging toddlers food for thought, on each page Slaughter and Jocelyn group three items—all rendered as bright, very simple graphic images in primary colors plus black, white and green—that share a common characteristic: "round things," "things that make music," "things that fly." Read full book review >
MY FIRST GARDEN by Wendy Lewison
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 6, 2009

"While it's nice to see Asian-American characters, this well-meaning offering misses the mark. (1-2)"
"Mommy and I made a garden!...Can you guess what will grow?" Read full book review >

POSY by Linda Newbery
ANIMALS
Released: Jan. 6, 2009

"Preschoolers and even toddlers may well wish for more substance to support the sophisticated visuals. (Picture book. 2-4)"
A curious kitten tumbles around the house doing such silly cat things as spider-catching and sofa-scratching. Read full book review >
MY PEOPLE by Langston Hughes
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 6, 2009

"All together, they are the perfect accompaniment to the classic poem and create a complex work of art that any age can relish. (photographer's note) (Picture book. 2-10)"
Hughes first published "My People" in 1923. Read full book review >
SLEEPSONG by George Ella Lyon
ANIMALS
Released: Jan. 6, 2009

"Words and images together create a gentle rock-a-bye rhythm, topping off a collaborative effort that should grace all children's collections. (lyrics and music) (Picture book. 0-3)"
Lyon's sonorous words meld with Catalanotto's dreamy gouache-and-watercolor paintings in this tender lullaby. Read full book review >

THE I LOVE YOU BOOK by Todd Parr
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 1, 2009

"Ho-hum. (Picture book. 2-5)"
"I love you when you are scared. / I love you when you are brave. / I love you when I am away. / I love you when we are cuddled up close." Read full book review >
YUMMIEST LOVE by Lisa McCourt
ANIMALS
Released: Jan. 1, 2009

"Mercifully, McCourt abjures a rhyming text, but otherwise this love-fest does little to stand out from the crowd. (Picture book. 2-5)"
A bear parent and child celebrate their love together. Read full book review >
I’M A HAPPY HUGGLEWUG by Niamh Sharkey
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2008

"Teletubbies on Red Bull. (2-3)"
The titular critter—a plump, vaguely draconic monster with jester-hat horns and a very few pointy teeth in its smiling mouth—opens with its "Hugglewug Song," introduces readers to its family and friends and, like a relentlessly cheery drill-sergeant, leads them through a variety of exercises from counting to I Spy. Read full book review >
IT’S ME, PARSNIP by Sue Porter
ANIMALS
Released: Dec. 1, 2008

"And the cause-and-effect complexity of the tale is developmentally just right. (Novelty/picture book. 1-3)"
Who tracked the muddy footprints all through the house from the yard clear to the bathroom? Read full book review >
HUG A BUG by Eileen Spinelli
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2008

"Endearing, if you like hugging, and light as a feather. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Twenty-two brief sentences accompany lighthearted illustrations to extol the virtues of hugging. Read full book review >
DO YOU LOVE ME? by Joost Elffers
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2008

"Warm, if not fuzzy. (Picture book. 2-5)"
One half of the How Are You Peeling? team (with Saxton Freymann, 1999) leaves food behind to combine forces with the producers of The Little Einsteins TV show to create "the Snuzzles," mouthless, shiny-eyed, balloon-like animals in saturated hues. Read full book review >
HURRY! HURRY! HAVE YOU HEARD? by Laura Krauss Melmed
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 1, 2008

"Kids will be in a hurry to hear it again. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Have you heard? Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >