MOTOR MILES by John Burningham
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"No one does whimsy like Burningham; no one. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Miles, a dog, learns to drive his own car, and everything changes. Read full book review >
LIBBY AND PEARL by Lindsey Bonnice
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Fans of Libby and Pearl will enjoy these best friends in book form, however fleeting their notoriety may be. (Picture book. 1-5)"
A sweet and cheery celebration of the Pink Frilly Dress phenomenon starring a delightfully photogenic toddler and a pink piglet. Read full book review >

GOODNIGHT BOB by Ann Hassett
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2016

"A sweetly simple bedtime book with a reassuring message. (Picture book. 2-4)"
A young child's bedtime anxiety is quelled as familiar friends take turns saying goodnight. Read full book review >
PEEKABOO! ON THE FARM! by Cocoretto
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2016

"Add this and its companions to the ever expanding animal board-book shelf. (Board book. 6 mos.-2)"
Through the unfailingly delightful game of "peekaboo," babies and toddlers are introduced to a series of animals in this book and its companions. Read full book review >
TICKLE MY EARS by Jörg Mühle
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2016

"Grown-ups should not be surprised if their own little ones start asking for a tickle behind the ear and a back rub as part of their own bedtime rituals. (Board book. 6 mos.-3)"
It's late, and Little Rabbit must go to bed, so toddlers are invited to help him settle down in this bedtime storybook. Read full book review >

CLIVE AND HIS BABIES by Jessica Spanyol
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2016

"In a world where toy aisles and sometimes book racks are explicitly and implicitly gendered, Clive's love of baby dolls, frilly hats, glitter, and bags of all sorts is a breath of fresh air. (Board book. 18 mos.-4)"
Meet Clive, a white toddler who loves to play with his toys, his accessories, and his friends. Read full book review >
ANIMAL BABIES ON THE MOUNTAIN! by Julia Groves
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2016

"Readers hoping to share beautiful, age-appropriate images and accurate terminology should look no further than this book and its companions, bracing antidotes to the cuteness that floods the board-book shelves. (Board book. 6 mos.-2)"
Animals that inhabit a mountain biome are introduced in this simple board book, one of four. Read full book review >
PRESENTS THROUGH THE WINDOW by Taro Gomi
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2016

"There's a subtle lesson here to slow down and evaluate before making a decision. But with this book, a snap judgement holds up—it's a winner. (Picture book. 2-7)"
This year Santa is in a big hurry with his Christmas Eve deliveries. In fact, he's so rushed that he is delivering packages by helicopter. Read full book review >
MY WONDERFUL NURSERY RHYME COLLECTION by Silver Dolphin Books
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2016

"Overall, a delightful collection—priced so that it's easy to buy several to give as gifts. (Nursery rhymes. 1-4)"
Looking for an attractive compendium of nursery rhymes, songs, games, and lullabies all in one place? These 192 pages will deliver the goods, and then some. Read full book review >
WORDS FOR ME! by Sarah Jones
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2016

"A solid vocabulary-extension tool. (Board book. 1-2)"
Little readers expand their vocabularies. Read full book review >
I WANT TO BE A DRUMMER! by Mark Powers
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2016

"A simple introduction to a favorite musical instrument. (Board book. 2-3)"
A young percussionist builds a drum. Read full book review >
STANLEY'S COLORS by William Bee
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2016

"A clean-cut introduction to the colors of the rainbow. (Board book. 6 mos.-2)"
Stanley the hamster moves from simple picture books to the board-book set. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Melissa Sweet
author of SOME WRITER!
September 26, 2016

“SOME PIG,” Charlotte the spider’s praise for Wilbur, is just one fondly remembered snippet from E. B. White’s Charlotte’s Web. In Some Writer!, two-time Caldecott Honor winner and 2014 Kirkus Prize finalist Melissa Sweet mixes White’s personal letters, photos, and family ephemera with her own exquisite artwork to tell his story, from his birth in 1899 to his death in 1985. Budding young writers will be fascinated and inspired by the journalist, New Yorker contributor, and children’s book author who loved words his whole life. This authorized tribute is the first fully illustrated biography of E. B. White and includes an afterword by Martha White, E. B. White's granddaughter. “Like Charlotte, Sweet spins a terrific story,” our reviewer writes in a starred review. “A masterful biography that will enchant young readers.” View video >