WHAT NOISE DO I MAKE? by Brian McLachlan
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Aug. 15, 2016

"McLachlan shows an astute understanding of how to produce belly laughs in the young; this funny read-aloud would also be a terrific prelude to a zoo visit. (Picture book. 1-3)"
Canadian artist McLachlan creates a new twist on the often pedestrian visualizations of animal noises depicted in many picture books in this genre. Read full book review >
MAXWELL THE MONKEY BARBER by Cale Atkinson
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Aug. 15, 2016

"Atkinson's jungle denizens will easily charm one and all. (Picture book. 2-7)"
"Come to Maxwell's Barbershop! / For a trim or for a chop!" Read full book review >

TRICK OR TREAT, POUT-POUT FISH by Deborah Diesen
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Aug. 9, 2016

"Another branded entry that offers little beyond the minimum requirements. (Board book. 1-3)"
The Pout-Pout Fish brand expands. Read full book review >
PEEKABOO PALS OPPOSITES by Becky Davies
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Aug. 9, 2016

"An excellent resource for little ones fiddling with the building blocks of language. (Board Book. 2-4)"
The animal world is filled with opposites. Read full book review >
COUNTING WITH BAREFOOT CRITTERS by Teagan White
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Aug. 9, 2016

"Despite quibbles, it's a charmer. (Picture book. 2-7)"
Barefoot but otherwise clothed critters have a full day, collecting friends along the way. Read full book review >

EVERYONE IS YAWNING by Anita Bijsterbosch
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Aug. 9, 2016

"Irresistibly somniferous. (Pop-up picture book. 2-8)"
One animal after another yawns with the lift of a flap…even the small child at the end. Read full book review >
10 BUSY BROOMS by Carole Gerber
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Aug. 9, 2016

"A Halloween counting book that doesn't add up to much. (Picture book. 2-5)"
"1 little witch on a long, speedy broom" rescues eight others who are threatened by Halloween creatures…or dreary chores. Read full book review >
I'M NOT TRICK-OR-TREATING by Laura Gehl
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Aug. 9, 2016

"Goes down easily for those youngsters who are similarly frightened, and Peep's corny jokes should be added to every repertoire. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Peep and Egg are back, and this time big sibling Peep is trying to convince Egg to go trick-or-treating. Read full book review >
THERE'S A BEAR ON MY CHAIR by Ross Collins
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Aug. 2, 2016

"Silly, laugh-out-loud fun. (Picture book. 2-6)"
A bear has settled himself in a mouse's chair, and nothing will move him. Read full book review >
THIS IS OUR BABY, BORN TODAY by Varsha Bajaj
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Aug. 2, 2016

"The soft cadence of the rhyming verses and the joyous pictures of the elephants will make this a bedtime favorite. (Picture book. 2-5)"
When a baby elephant is born, "wrinkled and gray," not just the herd, but the whole world rejoices, from morning to night. Read full book review >
ROSH HASHANAH IS COMING! by Tracy Newman
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Aug. 1, 2016

"A simple and joyous introduction to an important holiday. (Board book. 18 mos.-4)"
Two young members of an extended family get ready for the Jewish New Year. Read full book review >
YOU BELONG TO ME by Mamoru Suzuki
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Aug. 1, 2016

"For young readers, the book is like a bath before bed: soothing, comforting, and warm. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Cuddly animals snuggle, hug, and protect a small child in a collection of affectionate poses from Japanese author/illustrator Suzuki. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Jeff Chang
September 20, 2016

In the provocative essays in journalist Jeff Chang’s new book We Gon’ Be Alright, Chang takes an incisive and wide-ranging look at the recent tragedies and widespread protests that have shaken the country. Through deep reporting with key activists and thinkers, personal writing, and cultural criticism, We Gon’ Be Alright links #BlackLivesMatter to #OscarsSoWhite, Ferguson to Washington D.C., the Great Migration to resurgent nativism. Chang explores the rise and fall of the idea of “diversity,” the roots of student protest, changing ideas about Asian Americanness, and the impact of a century of racial separation in housing. “He implores readers to listen, act, and become involved with today’s activists, who offer ‘new ways to see our past and our present,’ ” our reviewer writes in a starred review. “A compelling and intellectually thought-provoking exploration of the quagmire of race relations.” View video >