THE SNURTCH by Sean Ferrell
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Aug. 30, 2016

"Original in its visual and linguistic presentation of behavioral problems, this important call for understanding should sit on library, classroom, and bedrooms shelves—the high ones, just above a Snurtch's reach. (Picture book. 2-8)"
The Snurtch sits in Ruthie's seat at school, all furry, spiky, goofy, and googly-eyed, waiting—just as she expected. Read full book review >
OLIVIA LOVES OWL by David McPhail
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Aug. 30, 2016

"McPhail's soft but unsentimental pen-and-ink drawings completed with muted watercolors strike a pleasant balance between real toddler activities and imaginative play. (Board book. 1-4)"
Following the formula established in Ben Loves Bear (2013), Bella Loves Bunny (2013), and Peter Loves Penguin (2014), McPhail here completes his board-book tour of the seasons. Read full book review >

WINTER, WINTER, COLD AND SNOW by Sharon Gibson Palermo
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2016

"A wintertime version of Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See?(Picture book. 1-4)"
In Palermo's picture-book debut, various animals against snowy backdrops tell readers whom else they know and how those animals go about surviving the winter. Read full book review >
SLEEPY SOLAR SYSTEM by John Hutton
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2016

"Stronger in dreamy cuteness than in astronomical facts. Better bedtime books abound. (Picture book. 1-4)"
A sleepy sun says goodnight to nine planets and other solar system inhabitants. Read full book review >
STANLEY'S COLORS by William Bee
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2016

"A clean-cut introduction to the colors of the rainbow. (Board book. 6 mos.-2)"
Stanley the hamster moves from simple picture books to the board-book set. Read full book review >

I WANT TO BE A DRUMMER! by Mark Powers
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2016

"A simple introduction to a favorite musical instrument. (Board book. 2-3)"
A young percussionist builds a drum. Read full book review >
WORDS FOR ME! by Sarah Jones
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2016

"A solid vocabulary-extension tool. (Board book. 1-2)"
Little readers expand their vocabularies. Read full book review >
MY WONDERFUL NURSERY RHYME COLLECTION by Silver Dolphin Books
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2016

"Overall, a delightful collection—priced so that it's easy to buy several to give as gifts. (Nursery rhymes. 1-4)"
Looking for an attractive compendium of nursery rhymes, songs, games, and lullabies all in one place? These 192 pages will deliver the goods, and then some. Read full book review >
PRESENTS THROUGH THE WINDOW by Taro Gomi
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2016

"There's a subtle lesson here to slow down and evaluate before making a decision. But with this book, a snap judgement holds up—it's a winner. (Picture book. 2-7)"
This year Santa is in a big hurry with his Christmas Eve deliveries. In fact, he's so rushed that he is delivering packages by helicopter. Read full book review >
GOODNIGHT BOB by Ann Hassett
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2016

"A sweetly simple bedtime book with a reassuring message. (Picture book. 2-4)"
A young child's bedtime anxiety is quelled as familiar friends take turns saying goodnight. Read full book review >
LIBBY AND PEARL by Lindsey Bonnice
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Fans of Libby and Pearl will enjoy these best friends in book form, however fleeting their notoriety may be. (Picture book. 1-5)"
A sweet and cheery celebration of the Pink Frilly Dress phenomenon starring a delightfully photogenic toddler and a pink piglet. Read full book review >
MOTOR MILES by John Burningham
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"No one does whimsy like Burningham; no one. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Miles, a dog, learns to drive his own car, and everything changes. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Jennifer Keishin Armstrong
author of SEINFELDIA
August 22, 2016

Jennifer Keishin Armstrong’s new bestseller Seinfeldia is the hilarious behind-the-scenes story of two guys who went out for coffee and dreamed up Seinfeld —the cultural sensation that changed television and bled into the real world. Comedians Larry David and Jerry Seinfeld never thought anyone would watch their silly little sitcom about a New York comedian sitting around talking to his friends. NBC executives didn’t think anyone would watch either, but they bought it anyway, hiding it away in the TV dead zone of summer. But against all odds, viewers began to watch, first a few and then many, until nine years later nearly 40 million Americans were tuning in weekly. In Seinfeldia, TV historian and entertainment writer Armstrong celebrates the creators and fans of this American television phenomenon, bringing readers behind-the-scenes of the show while it was on the air and into the world of devotees for whom it never stopped being relevant, a world where the Soup Nazi still spends his days saying “No soup for you!” “Armstrong’s intimate, breezy history is full of gossipy details, show trivia, and insights into how famous episodes came to be,” our reviewer writes. “Perfect for Seinfeldians and newcomers alike.” View video >