WICKED JACK by Connie Nordhielm Wooldridge
FAIRY TALES, FOLKTALES AND MYTHS
Released: Sept. 15, 1995

"Everything in these pictures belongs to the sphere of high comedy, and readers will hoot. (Picture book. 5-10)"
Wooldridge's first book is stunning. Read full book review >
KING ODORANT AND HIS FLIES by Larry Miller
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 15, 1995

"The comic illustrations are in perfect harmony with the text; both are informed by the same bonny sense of humor, and the book as a whole radiates good cheer. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A funny fairy tale about a king who never takes a bath. Read full book review >

THE SONG OF MU LAN by Jeanne M. Lee
FAIRY TALES, FOLKTALES AND MYTHS
Released: Sept. 15, 1995

"Lee creates a powerful and distinctive mooda product of spare imagery, elegant repetitions, and use of the present tense to describe the distant pastthat makes for an affecting read- aloud. (Picture book/folklore. 4-9)"
A beautiful translation of a sixth-century Chinese folk poem about Mu Lan, a woman who spends more than a decade in the emperor's army disguised as a man and returns home a hero. Read full book review >
AMAZING ANIMALS by Ingrid Schubert
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 15, 1995

"An agreeable book, if somewhat lopsided, that gives readers a good idea of what it must have been like inside Noah's ark. (Picture book/nonfiction. 4-8)"
A book about friendly animals of all stripes and colors, from every corner of the globe, growing, playing, swimming, flying, hunting, feeding, and dying. Read full book review >
THE GIFT OF CHRISTMAS by Philemon Sturges
FICTION
Released: Sept. 15, 1995

"The faces of her people lapse into cartoons at times, but most of the scenes and objects are lovely in this sensory celebration of Christmas for the very young. (Picture book. 2-5)"
In a singsong rhyme Sturges (Ten Flashing Fireflies, p. 640, etc.) chronicles the sights, sounds, smells, tastes, and feelings of Christmas: ``Scented candles, smoke from the fire;/ Wet wool mittens getting drier.'' He sometimes stretches for the rhyme or waxes a bit sentimental, but the overall effect is festive. Read full book review >

DADDY, DADDY, BE THERE by Candy Dawson Boyd
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Sept. 12, 1995

"1031, etc.) includes families of all ethnicities, giving this fine marriage of pictures and words a universal appeal. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A touching ode to the need of children to have their fathers involved in all aspects of their lives. Read full book review >
THE ENORMOUS SNORE by M.L. Miller
FICTION
Released: Sept. 12, 1995

"Hawkes's paintings are elegant, peppered with comedic touches; their soft focus reins in the energy of the piece and somewhat fuses the many disparate parts. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Letty, separated from her itinerant family during a storm, happens across a kingdom where the royal snore is driving the subjects to distraction. Read full book review >
BABUSHKA'S MOTHER GOOSE by Patricia Polacco
Released: Sept. 12, 1995

"Mother Goose's high spirits reside in this Russian fare, accompanied by boldly painted scenes of people and animals dashing around and happily kicking up claws, paws, and heels. (Picture book/folklore. 3-7)"
An anthology of original poems and flavorfully adapted folk tales and rhymes, carefully sourced and credited. Read full book review >
OFFICER BUCKLE AND GLORIA by Peggy Rathmann
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 12, 1995

"Fans of Rathmann's Good Night, Gorilla (1994) will like this one, too. (Picture book. 4-8)"
The unexpected theme of this picture book featuring a policeman and his dog is jealousy over attention; it has definite child appeal. Read full book review >
REBEL by John Schoenherr
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 12, 1995

"The reunion with its parents makes for an immensely satisfying conclusion, and children will want to search back through the pages for evidence of the first rebellion and the last. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Schoenherr (Bear, 1991, etc.) excels in an expressive and original tale. Read full book review >
MISS MALARKEY DOESN'T LIVE IN ROOM 10 by Judy Finchler
FICTION
Released: Sept. 4, 1995

"On the whole, though, the spare language and bright, expressive pictures make it a rewarding read. (Picture book. 4-6)"
As the narrator knows (the rest of the world has been misinformed), teachers don't go home after school, but spend their lives sleeping in the classroom, roaming the corridors, and taking meals in the lunchroom. Read full book review >
WHO COMES? by Deborah Chandra
POETRY
Released: Sept. 1, 1995

"Although they have plenty of color and breadth, they pale next to Chandra's picturesque text. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A suspenseful, mostly rhyming poem about African animals, vivid in its images of the savanna, but even more vivid in the incessant iambs and repetitions that build tension almost to the end of the book before it is dramatically released. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Michael Eric Dyson
February 2, 2016

In Michael Eric Dyson’s rich and nuanced book new book, The Black Presidency: Barack Obama and the Politics of Race in America, Dyson writes with passion and understanding about Barack Obama’s “sad and disappointing” performance regarding race and black concerns in his two terms in office. While race has defined his tenure, Obama has been “reluctant to take charge” and speak out candidly about the nation’s racial woes, determined to remain “not a black leader but a leader who is black.” Dyson cogently examines Obama’s speeches and statements on race, from his first presidential campaign through recent events—e.g., the Ferguson riots and the eulogy for the Rev. Clementa Pinckney in Charleston—noting that the president is careful not to raise the ire of whites and often chastises blacks for their moral failings. At his best, he spoke with “special urgency for black Americans” during the Ferguson crisis and was “at his blackest,” breaking free of constraints, in his “Amazing Grace” Charleston eulogy. Dyson writes here as a realistic, sometimes-angry supporter of the president. View video >