MR. PERSNICKETY AND CAT LADY by Paul Brett Johnson
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2000

"Not a great conflict-resolution model for the kids. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Mr. Persnickety and Cat Lady are neighbors but not, unfortunately, the best of friends in this mildly amusing, although decidedly mean-spirited story about feuding neighbors. Mr. Persnickety is a fussbudget who likes everything just so, while Cat Lady revels in the chaos that owning 37 cats brings. Read full book review >
DOWN THE DRAGON’S TONGUE by Margaret Mahy
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2000

"An enormously fun and joyous book that works equally well as a group read-aloud or one-on-one. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Mr. Prospero is a staid businessman who loves the well-ordered world at his office. Read full book review >

FROGGY’S BEST CHRISTMAS by Jonathan London
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2000

"A cameo from 'Santa Owl' is the only surprise here, but as Froggy continues to hop through the holidays, he has plenty of fans hopping along behind. (Picture book. 5-7)"
The irrepressible Froggy's best Christmas is also his first, as he usually hibernates through it. Read full book review >
PUDDLE'S ABC by Holly Hobbie
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2000

"Irresistible. (Picture book. 3-5)"
Hobbie's porkers in play clothes return for a fourth episode, just as winning as the previous three. Read full book review >
THE BOOK OF BAD IDEAS by Laura Huliska-Beith
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2000

"Good Idea #1. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Illustrator Huliska-Beith's solo authorial debut is a book that will speak to the personal experience of every reader, even one who has not: parked chewing gum for later, then forgotten where (Bad Idea #14); used parts from the stereo to create an Intergalactic Communication Device (Bad Idea #462); kept glue stick and lip balm in the same pocket (#101); or asked a friend for a quick haircut on class-picture day (#239). Read full book review >

G-REX by Teri Daniels
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2000

"The story isn't messy like life, it is just aimless, and Pearson's artwork is too frail a scaffolding to give this shapeless narrative any structure. (Picture book. 5-8)"
A little brother gets a chance to be as teasing and bullyish as his big brother in this bit of purposeless wish-fulfillment. Read full book review >
BIG TRUCK AND LITTLE TRUCK by Jan Carr
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2000

"The characters, situations, and art hark back to an antique picture-book tradition, but children of any generation will understand Little Truck's feelings. (Picture book. 5-7)"
A small pick-up truck suffers separation anxiety in this tale for fans of Little Toot, Katy, and other animated work machines. Read full book review >
CINDERELLA SKELETON by Robert D. San Souci
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2000

"474, etc.) artwork is reminiscent of The Nightmare Before Christmas—perhaps that can't be helped when skeletons are the principals—but very much its own thing, with abundant cartoony comic licks and ghoulish creatures galore. (Picture book. 3-7)"
This fancy little piece of septet versifying works nicely as a vehicle to tell the story of the graveyard Cinderella. Read full book review >
THE MISSING MITTEN MYSTERY by Steven Kellogg
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2000

"The plot and pictures have undergone considerable change, but this is still suffused with Kellogg's characteristic warmth and charm and all the better for being easier to read to a group. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Kellogg (Give the Dog a Bone, see above, etc.) remakes his Mystery of the Missing Red Mitten (1974) into a larger, longer, and more colorful ramble through snow-covered landscapes. Read full book review >
MA JIANG AND THE ORANGE ANTS by Barbara Ann Porte
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2000

"A fascinating story to read for the Chinese New Year, too, perhaps with a slice of orange for each young listener. (Picture book. 5-9)"
Porte and Cannon previously collaborated on Tale of a Tadpole (1997); this time their focus is on a different sort of tiny creature: orange ants, who play an important role in an original tale set in ancient China. Read full book review >
THE MOUSERY by Charlotte Pomerantz
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2000

Beautifully crafted artwork lifts a pedestrian rhymed text in this tale of two grumpy old bachelors who change their ways. Read full book review >
DR. POMPO’S NOSE by Saxton Freymann
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2000

"The short, rhymed text is a bit klunky, but the pictures are more than strong enough to compensate. (Picture book. 5-7)"
More food play from the creators of How Are You Peeling? (1999), featuring an all-pumpkin cast photographed against monochromatic backgrounds. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >