WATER'S CHILDREN by Angèle Delaunois
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 21, 2017

"A tribute to the essential substance, washed free of preachiness or even faintly cautionary messages. (Picture book. 6-8)"
Twelve children from different areas of the world offer lyrical reflections on what water means to them. Read full book review >
MAKING WAVES by Joey Weiser
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 19, 2017

"A buoyant undersea adventure. (Graphic fantasy/adventure. 6-11)"
Humans and sea people teeter on the brink of war over diminishing resources. Read full book review >

THE GIANT JUMPEREE by Julia Donaldson
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 18, 2017

"A winner for libraries everywhere: home, public, day care, preschool, and school. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Rabbit, Cat, Bear, and Elephant are afraid of a voice coming out of Rabbit's burrow, but Mama Frog solves the mystery. Read full book review >
THE BOOK OF MISTAKES by Corinna Luyken
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 18, 2017

"It would be a grave mistake not to pick up this picture book. (Picture book. 4-12)"
A striking debut picture book celebrates the creative process. Read full book review >
IF MY LOVE WERE A FIRE TRUCK by Luke  Reynolds
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 18, 2017

"An opening for parent-child pairs to use their own imaginations to see where love will take them. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A father's lullaby to his young son imagines his affection in figurative language. Read full book review >

XANDER AND THE DREAM THIEF by Margaret Dilloway
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 18, 2017

"A satisfying sequel that balances the monsters of Japanese mythology with the personal demons of a likable protagonist; fans will be waiting to see what battles he will fight next. (Fantasy. 8-12)"
Following Xander and the Lost Island of Monsters (2016), Xander Miyamoto's second quest takes him to the Land of Dreams, where he encounters more creatures from Japanese folklore. Read full book review >
FAIR BALL by Derek Jeter
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 18, 2017

"Fans of Jeter and Mantell's earlier books will find more of the same here. (Fiction. 8-10)"
Crises loom when a close friend suddenly turns standoffish, and the distraction affects young Derek's play on the field. Read full book review >
RESPECT YOUR GHOSTS by John Bemelmans Marciano
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 18, 2017

"A droll picture of life yesteryear in a—seemingly—ordinary Italian town. (map, cultural note) (Historical fantasy. 8-10)"
Nine-year-old Sergio may not be the brightest bulb in town, but he shines after helping to settle a 137-year-old feud between two ghosts in Marciano's latest visit to Benevento. Read full book review >
MISSION MOON by Drew Brockington
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 18, 2017

"With its appealing blend of cuteness, substance, and humor, this should have readers over the moon. (Graphic science fiction. 6-10)"
A group of adorable astronaut cats must venture to the moon to remediate the Earth's energy crisis. Read full book review >
FOREST'S FIRST HOME by Tara Zann
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 18, 2017

"Neither realism nor fantasy, this dismal series opener is marred by clichéd characters and a plot evidently unaware of its darker implications. (Fiction. 5-7)"
Returning home from a family camping trip, Olive, 8, discovers a stowaway: Forest, the wild boy she met living in the woods. Now she's got just 24 hours to civilize him sufficiently to satisfy Gam Gam, her grandmother. Read full book review >
THE MUSIC OF LIFE by Elizabeth Rusch
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 18, 2017

"Delightfully energetic, this will inspire young pianists. (Picture book/biography. 4-8)"
A bright, colorful introduction to a beloved instrument. Read full book review >
GEORGIE'S BEST BAD DAY by Ruth Chan
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 18, 2017

"For any kid who has spent part of the day facedown on the ground in utter defeat, Georgie and his pals make great commiserating companions. (Picture book. 3-6)"
In the second Georgie and Friends book from Chan, a very bad day goes from calamity to a memorably good time. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >