WILLOW AND THE WEDDING by Denise Brennan-Nelson
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 15, 2017

"A well-meaning but anodyne picture book for the post-gay-marriage era that doesn't imagine what could come next. (Picture book. 3-8)"
Following her eponymous debut (2008), Willow's second adventure is gay—as in happy and as in, well, gay. Read full book review >
AROUND THE WORLD RIGHT NOW by Gina Cascone
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 15, 2017

"Straightforward—with a little bit of fun. (Informational picture book. 5-8)"
Time zones are not always easy to understand. Read full book review >

SURPRISE! SURPRISE! by Niki Daly
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 14, 2017

"While repeated readings won't offer surprise, squeals of laughter are assured. (Picture book. 3-6)"
The story opens with the trope of a longed-for child and has as many twists as a pig's tail. Read full book review >
MAGICAL CELTIC TALES by Una Leavy
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 10, 2017

"A fresh alternative to dustier collections, well-tuned for reading aloud. (Folk tales. 7-11)"
Nine old tales retold, featuring courage and cleverness, giants and wee folk, rash actions and romance. Read full book review >
IMAGINE THE MOON by Gerald Fierst
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 10, 2017

"Skip the poems and enjoy the cheerful artwork and entertaining prose. (Informational picture book. 4-9)"
From January's Wolf Moon to December's Cold Moon, a survey of moon monikers. Read full book review >

RAYMOND by Yann Le Bec
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"What makes it all worthwhile? Getting 'your ears scratched in just the right place.' (Picture book. 5-8)"
A dog explores a career in journalism, then decides there are better things (for a dog) to do. Read full book review >
MINE! by Jeff Mack
Kirkus Star
by Jeff Mack, illustrated by Jeff Mack
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"A behavioral window for some, a mirror for many, and a delightful book for all. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Mine! Or is it? Read full book review >
WILD ANIMALS OF THE SOUTH by Dieter Braun
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"An impressive display of wonders in the animal world, a treat for browsers. (Informational picture book. 5-12)"
This companion to Wild Animals of the North (2016) portrays 88 common and lesser-known wild animals native to the Southern Hemisphere. Read full book review >
MR. TANNER by Harry Chapin
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"There's inspiration in the refrain: 'He didn't know how well he sang. It just made him whole.' (Picture book. 3-7)"
One of Chapin's songs is brought to life in this book about facing criticism. Read full book review >
BAD GUY by Hannah Barnaby
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"The humor feels accidental here, with illustrations that fail to establish a consistent visual subtext. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Another wannabe bad guy. Read full book review >
THE PUDDING PROBLEM by Joe Berger
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"Further reading for fans of Timmy Failure and Big Nate. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)"
Sam Lyttle has a little problem with the truth: even when he's telling it, it isn't totally true. Read full book review >
GIANT TROUBLE by Ursula Vernon
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"Clever wordplay, wonderful character banter, and stinky humor make this outing another giant success. (Graphic/fantasy hybrid. 7-12)"
Hamster princess Harriet faces a big problem in this "Jack and the Beanstalk" retelling. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >