IMAGINE THE MOON by Gerald Fierst
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 10, 2017

"Skip the poems and enjoy the cheerful artwork and entertaining prose. (Informational picture book. 4-9)"
From January's Wolf Moon to December's Cold Moon, a survey of moon monikers. Read full book review >
RAYMOND by Yann Le Bec
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"What makes it all worthwhile? Getting 'your ears scratched in just the right place.' (Picture book. 5-8)"
A dog explores a career in journalism, then decides there are better things (for a dog) to do. Read full book review >

MINE! by Jeff Mack
Kirkus Star
by Jeff Mack, illustrated by Jeff Mack
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"A behavioral window for some, a mirror for many, and a delightful book for all. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Mine! Or is it? Read full book review >
WILD ANIMALS OF THE SOUTH by Dieter Braun
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"An impressive display of wonders in the animal world, a treat for browsers. (Informational picture book. 5-12)"
This companion to Wild Animals of the North (2016) portrays 88 common and lesser-known wild animals native to the Southern Hemisphere. Read full book review >
MR. TANNER by Harry Chapin
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"There's inspiration in the refrain: 'He didn't know how well he sang. It just made him whole.' (Picture book. 3-7)"
One of Chapin's songs is brought to life in this book about facing criticism. Read full book review >

BAD GUY by Hannah Barnaby
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"The humor feels accidental here, with illustrations that fail to establish a consistent visual subtext. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Another wannabe bad guy. Read full book review >
THE PUDDING PROBLEM by Joe Berger
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"Further reading for fans of Timmy Failure and Big Nate. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)"
Sam Lyttle has a little problem with the truth: even when he's telling it, it isn't totally true. Read full book review >
GIANT TROUBLE by Ursula Vernon
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"Clever wordplay, wonderful character banter, and stinky humor make this outing another giant success. (Graphic/fantasy hybrid. 7-12)"
Hamster princess Harriet faces a big problem in this "Jack and the Beanstalk" retelling. Read full book review >
HOW TO MAKE AWESOME COMICS by Neill Cameron
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"A friendly and engaging orientation for emerging comics creators, although the activity pages make this one for home collections rather than library use. (appendices) (Graphic nonfiction. 6-10)"
A cheerful guide offering a beginner's course in designing comics. Read full book review >
DADDY HONK HONK! by Rosalinde Bonnet
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"A sweet adoption tale. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A fox unexpectedly becomes an adoptive parent in this charming book about what babies need. Read full book review >
CLAYTON BYRD GOES UNDERGROUND by Rita Williams-Garcia
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"Strong characterizations and vivid musical scenes add layers to this warm family story. (Fiction. 8-12)"
An African-American youngster is happiest when he can play his harmonica with his bluesman grandfather until tragedy removes the music from his life. Read full book review >
RODZILLA by Rob Sanders
by Rob Sanders, illustrated by Dan Santat
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"Older siblings will find much to identify with. (Picture book. 4-8)"
It's a dinosaur! It's a toddler! It's Rodzilla! Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >