THE BEAR IN MY BED by Joyce Wan
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 5, 2018

"Though gratifying for fans of the illustrator's art, this bear doesn't otherwise quite earn its space in the bed. (Picture book. 2-6)"
The protagonist of Wan's The Whale in My Swimming Pool (2015) returns to find another surprise. Read full book review >
DO NOT LICK THIS BOOK by Idan Ben-Barak
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 5, 2018

"Science at its best: informative and gross. (Informational picture book. 6-9)"
Why not? Because "IT'S FULL OF GERMS." Read full book review >

PROJECT TERRA BITES BACK by Landry Q. Walker
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 5, 2018

"Fans of Book 1 will enjoy hopping around time and space with Elara and her friends again. (Science fiction. 8-12)"
Aspiring terraformer Elara Vaughn is back after summer break. Read full book review >
RUN WILD by David Covell
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 5, 2018

"This sweetly unruly book is destined for mud-stained and ripped pages, as it is sure to accompany many a child on wild adventures in their own parks, playgrounds, and backyards. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A child's world appears in black and white—body indoors and face fixed to a screen—until another child zips by with an invitation to join in a barefoot ramble through the untamed outdoors. Read full book review >
WALK YOUR DOG by Elizabeth Stevens Omlor
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 5, 2018

"Beginning readers will be able to read this refreshing tale alone; younger kids will tell it from the pictures. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A child and a dog go through their day together. Read full book review >

NIBLET & RALPH by Zachariah OHora
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 5, 2018

"OHora has fused bright and engaging artwork highlighting the beauty and diversity of this community apartment building with a truly endearing story that is sure to amuse young readers. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Readers meet a duo of feline friends whose mix-up due to an uncanny resemblance leads to the meeting of two new potential human friends. Read full book review >
MOUNTAINS OF THE WORLD by Dieter Braun
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 5, 2018

"Unfocused but nevertheless gifted with bold visuals and a beguiling sense of appreciation for nature's beauties. (glossary) (Informational picture book. 6-11)"
Imported from Germany, an album of mountains, with tributes to those who scale them, portraits of flora and fauna that live on them, and related topics. Read full book review >
SEVEN BAD CATS by Monique Bonneau
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 5, 2018

"Captures the dual nature of the feline friend, often 'bad' but always your buddy. (Picture book. 2-7)"
Every sailor needs a cat—but what to do with seven bad ones?! Read full book review >
ONE DAY ON OUR BLUE PLANET IN THE OCEAN by Ella Bailey
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 5, 2018

"A pleasant introduction to ocean inhabitants that will show well at storytime. (Informational picture book. 4-7)"
A bottlenose dolphin calf and her pod lead a lost baby whale from the shallow waters of the Great Barrier Reef to his mother in the deep open ocean. Read full book review >
MILLA TAKES CHARGE by Erin Soderberg
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 5, 2018

"This book is for readers who are really into princesses and ready for longer chapter books. (Fiction. 8-11)"
In the first book of this new Disney series, Milla learns to recognize her own strengths as she pursues an adventure with a new group of friends. Read full book review >
ANNIE B., MADE FOR TV by Amy Dixon
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 5, 2018

"Readers graduating from Junie B. to lengthier stories will find a new book-friend in Annie B. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Can "almost-always" best friends get through a rough patch to become "always-always" best friends? Read full book review >
THE HAUNTED SERPENT by Dora M. Mitchell
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 5, 2018

"Fans of Dan Poblocki, John Bellairs, and R.L. Stine will all be right at home and smiling at the shivers (and the jokes). (Suspense. 8-12)"
Ghosts and zombies and boa constrictors, oh my! Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >