GRANTED by John David Anderson
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 13, 2018

"A faithful dog, a good friend, and pinch of magic work wonders in this modern fairy tale. (Fantasy. 9-12)"
Wish-fulfillment can be hard work. Read full book review >
THE OCEANS BETWEEN STARS by Kevin Emerson
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 13, 2018

"Thrills, violence, time/space questions, and some contemplation about colonization make for action on the thoughtful side. (Science fiction. 10-13)"
Between Liam and the starliner carrying his sister lie baffling timestreams, inscrutable enemies, and vast stretches of cold, empty space. Read full book review >

BEST BUDS UNDER FROGS by Leslie Patricelli
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 13, 2018

"This first full-length narrative, a series opener, from board-book creator Patricelli (Hair, 2017, etc.) is a no-frills, funny story about friendship. (Fiction. 7-11)"
Supershy fourth-grader Lily Lattuga (Italian for "lettuce") just wants to blend in at her new school, but on the first day, she throws up on a popular girl's shoes! Read full book review >
THEY DIDN'T TEACH THIS IN WORM SCHOOL! by Simone Lia
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 13, 2018

"Labored, particularly at the end, but daffy enough to fly. (Fantasy. 8-10)"
Adventures and shattered illusions lead to true friendship in this tale of a chicken and a quick-talking worm. Read full book review >
THE HEAT IS ON by Charise Mericle Harper
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 13, 2018

"Fast-paced and fun-filled, a delicious read for middle graders, foodies or not. (Fiction. 8-12)"
In Part 2 of this three-part series, only three contestants remain in the running for the "Next Best Junior Chef" competition. Who will be the next to go? Read full book review >

EARTH VERSE by Sally M. Walker
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 13, 2018

"In all, a provocative verse introduction to what lies on and deep below the Earth's surface. (further reading) (Picture book/poetry. 8-13)"
Earth's geologic wonders illustrated and crystallized through haiku. Read full book review >
MAGGIE, ALASKA'S LAST ELEPHANT by Jennifer Keats Curtis
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 10, 2018

"A solid if not stellar addition to a growing picture-book genre. (Informational picture book. 6-9)"
In this true story, the African elephant Maggie languishes in an Alaskan zoo until she is transported to the Performing Animal Welfare Society's facility in California. Read full book review >
THE BEE BOOK by Charlotte  Milner
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 6, 2018

"Though low on frills, as solid an introduction for the age range as can be found in print. (Informational picture book. 4-10)"
A comprehensive, elementary-level introduction to the honeybee. Read full book review >
THE SONG OF SEVEN by Tonke Dragt
by Tonke Dragt, illustrated by Tonke Dragt, translated by Laura Watkinson
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 6, 2018

"It's not for every reader, but the slow reveals will keep the pages turning for fans of Elizabeth Enright and E. Nesbit. (Mystery. 10-15)"
A young schoolteacher's drawn into a conspiracy to free an orphan and discover a treasure. Read full book review >
RODENT RASCALS by Roxie Munro
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 6, 2018

"'Humans are lucky to have rodents,' Munro argues…and makes her case with equal warmth to hearts and minds. (websites, index) (Informational picture book. 7-9)"
Twenty-one representatives of the largest mammalian order pose in this fetching portrait gallery. Read full book review >
CHECKED by Cynthia Kadohata
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 6, 2018

"Best for dog lovers, hockey fans, and elite athletes. (Fiction. 10-14)"
An 11-year-old elite hockey player struggles with multiple real-world issues while sidelined from pursuing his dream of playing in the NHL. Read full book review >
BRINGING ME BACK by Beth Vrabel
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 6, 2018

"Engrossing, satisfying, and compassionate. (Fiction. 11-14)"
A boy, desperate and broken, and a young bear with its head caught in a bucket: Vrabel (Pack of Dorks, 2016, etc.) sensitively interweaves these two disparate plotlines. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >