THE CRANE GIRL by Curtis Manley
Kirkus Star
adapted by Curtis Manley, illustrated by Lin Wang
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 1, 2017

"More from this team would be a welcome addition to folk-tale collections. (pronunciation guide, author's notes) (Picture book/folk tale. 4-10)"
A popular Japanese folk tale in which a crane pays back an obligation by becoming human is retold with an unusual ending and with haiku-sprinkled prose. Read full book review >
WARREN THE 13TH AND THE WHISPERING WOODS by Tania del Rio
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 21, 2017

"Another entry in the 'unfortunate events' genre, kitted out with atmospheric art, unusual book design, and a wonderfully homely protagonist. (Horror. 11-13)"
The world's first ambulatory hotel comes a little too close to a powerful witch's demesne in this sequel to Warren the 13th and the All-Seeing Eye (2015). Read full book review >

THE UNBREAKABLE CODE by Jennifer Chambliss Bertman
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 25, 2017

"Brisk, bookish good fun for puzzle and code lovers. (historical afterword) (Mystery. 9-13)"
Riddles in an online book-finding game put young cipher sleuths Emily and James on the trail of both buried treasure and a vengeful arsonist. Read full book review >
ESCAPE FROM LION'S HEAD by Devon Hughes
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 4, 2017

"A compelling page-turner with depth. (Fantasy. 8-12)"
In a futuristic city where the wealthy live in high towers above the poisonous air and citizens are entertained by death matches between hybridized animals, two teens defy the government in hopes of changing their world. Read full book review >
JOIN THE RESISTANCE by Ben Acker
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 7, 2017

"An incomplete character arc makes this outing less than satisfying. (Science fiction. 10-12)"
Mattis Banz dreams of one day joining the Resistance to defeat the First Order, a looming post-Empire threat. Read full book review >

HOW TO MAKE A PEANUT BUTTER, JELLY AND KUNG FU SANDWICH by Jason Bays
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 28, 2017

"A zanily cluttered exploration of format and style that transcends its pages into the digital world. (Graphic fantasy. 6-11)"
In this action-packed graphic offering, a nervous young boy and his fearless robot companion fight to save everyone's favorite sandwich fixings from a nefarious fowl. Read full book review >
MUTANT MANTIS LUNCH LADIES! by Bruce Hale
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 7, 2017

"'Freakity freaking freakiness!' (to quote Carlos) on a high and gleeful level. (Horror. 8-10)"
Seasoned fourth-grade monster hunters Carlos and Benny find heaping helpings of horror in the lunchroom. Read full book review >
WHERE'S THE BALLERINA? by Anna Claybourne
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 1, 2017

"Both balletomanes and seek-and-find lovers should enjoy this performing-arts variation on a popular picture-book game. (Picture book. 6-10)"
Waltz away, Waldo—it's a ballerina we're looking for. Read full book review >
A CASE IN ANY CASE by Ulf Nilsson
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 1, 2017

"May Gordon and Buffy detect again! (Mystery. 6-9)"
Two cases for the forest detectives! Read full book review >
FAIR BALL by Derek Jeter
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 18, 2017

"Fans of Jeter and Mantell's earlier books will find more of the same here. (Fiction. 8-10)"
Crises loom when a close friend suddenly turns standoffish, and the distraction affects young Derek's play on the field. Read full book review >
TRICKED by Jen Calonita
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 7, 2017

"The whimsical Grimm reboot continues. (Fantasy. 9-12)"
After her sister is arrested and hauled off to Fairy Tale Reform School, 12-year-old Gilly Cobbler seizes the opportunity to return to her alma mater only to find it changed under its new management. Read full book review >
BOTANICUM by Kathy Willis
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 14, 2017

"Not encyclopedic but reasonably systematic: a big, decorative, eye-filling survey. (index, websites) (Nonfiction. 9-12)"
A large-format tour of the plant world, organized into seven "galleries" of related types. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Clinton Kelly
January 9, 2017

Bestselling author and television host Clinton Kelly’s memoir I Hate Everyone Except You is a candid, deliciously snarky collection of essays about his journey from awkward kid to slightly-less-awkward adult. Clinton Kelly is probably best known for teaching women how to make their butts look smaller. But in I Hate Everyone, Except You, he reveals some heretofore-unknown secrets about himself, like that he’s a finicky connoisseur of 1980s pornography, a disillusioned critic of New Jersey’s premier water parks, and perhaps the world’s least enthused high-school commencement speaker. Whether he’s throwing his baby sister in the air to jumpstart her cheerleading career or heroically rescuing his best friend from death by mud bath, Clinton leaps life’s social hurdles with aplomb. With his signature wit, he shares his unique ability to navigate the stickiest of situations, like deciding whether it’s acceptable to eat chicken wings with a fork on live television (spoiler: it’s not). “A thoroughly light and entertaining memoir,” our critic writes. View video >