GREAT LIVES by David Weitzman
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Nov. 1, 1996

"His style is clear and uncondescending, resulting in a browsable book that dispenses example after example of what happens when unique individuals follow their hearts. (b&w photos, further reading) (Nonfiction. 10-14)"
This volume in the Great Lives series effectively straddles the fence between trade book and textbook with its two-column pages as well as its length and scope. Read full book review >
ANNIE BANANIE MOVES TO BARRY AVENUE by Leah Komaiko
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 1, 1996

"Packed with funny black-and-white illustrations, this is easy to read, but not necessarily worth the effort. (Fiction. 8-11)"
The stage is set when young Libby declares herself bored senseless, fed up with her piano-playing brother, and longing for a dog. Read full book review >

MEDIEVAL TIMES by Antony Mason
HISTORY
Released: Nov. 1, 1996

In the If You Were There series, a sanitized look at life in the Middle Ages, with information about castles, knights, cathedrals, feudalism, food, and much more. Read full book review >
A DINOSAUR ATE MY HOMEWORK by Jr. Nelson
DINOSAURS
Released: Nov. 1, 1996

"Steer clear of this one. (First printing of 50,000) (Picture book. 6-12)"
This entry in the Flying Rhinoceros series (Wooden Teeth and Jelly Beans, 1995, etc.) presents factual material about dinosaurs through a cast of cartoon characters that includes Earl P. Sidebottom, Jr., who claims that a T. rex ate his homework. Read full book review >
MUTE SWANS by Wendy Pfeffer
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 1, 1996

"Without scientific names, sizes, or other vital statistics on the swans, this is an attractive title, though mostly for browsers. (Nonfiction. 8-10)"
In this entry in the Creatures in White series, glossy full- color photographs and a brief text document the life cycle of the mute swan, a European native that has been introduced into areas of the eastern US and Michigan. Read full book review >

THE TREES OF THE DANCING GOATS by Patricia Polacco
Released: Nov. 1, 1996

"Make sure readers have their hankies ready. (Picture book. 7-9)"
A generous act in a time of need is the highlight of this unforced Hanukkah/Christmas tale from Polacco (Babushka's Mother Goose, 1995, etc.). Read full book review >
FICTION
Released: Nov. 1, 1996

Homage to a brave and dedicated aviation pioneer summoned in lyrical verse and paint-drenched, joyous illustrations. Read full book review >
HIGHEST, LONGEST, DEEPEST by John Malam
NATURE
Released: Nov. 1, 1996

"The pages capture enough of the world to invite repeated viewings and to inspire exploration beyond the book as well. (map, glossary, index) (Picture book/nonfiction. 6- 10)"
In the tradition of Stephen Biesty's books, Malam and Hincks capture 11 of the earth's most dramatic geographic features in this handsome volume. Read full book review >
THE FOX MAIDEN by Elsa Marston
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 1, 1996

"Fuzzy, bucolic acrylic paintings lend much-needed mystery and magic to the tale. (Picture book. 5-9)"
A magical fox from the mountains of Japan has the capacity to take on human form in this original tale inspired by Japanese folklore. Read full book review >
TADPOLES by Elaine Pascoe
by Elaine Pascoe, photographed by Dwight Kuhn
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 1, 1996

"Nevertheless, an especially handsome cover will attract young readers. (glossary, further reading, index) (Nonfiction. 8-10)"
The draw for readers may be information on how to catch, raise, and observe tadpoles from egg to adult, but this solid entry in the Nature Close-Up series also discusses the classification of amphibians, frog families, frog anatomy, life cycle, and endangered status. Read full book review >
THE PUZZLE OF THE DINOSAUR-BIRD by Miriam Schlein
DINOSAURS
Released: Nov. 1, 1996

"Despite the lack of answers, readers will relish the mystery; Hallett's excellent drawings and diagrams clarify and add interest to an already informative and challenging book. (chronology, bibliography, index) (Picture book/nonfiction. 6-9)"
Schlein (More Than One, p. 1047, etc.), subtitling this ``The Story of Archaeopteryx,'' tells how in 1861 the fossil remains of an unusual Jurassic-era creature were found in Germany. Read full book review >
THE LIVING VIOLIN by Barrie Carson Turner
MUSIC AND THE ARTS
Released: Nov. 1, 1996

"It turns a promising media package into a promotional vehicle for EMI, the recording company that is the subject of high praise in the back matter, instead of a cohesive pairing of text and CD. (Nonfiction. 6-9)"
An interactive book-and-CD that purports to provide readers with an opportunity to hear what they're reading about, in this case, violins—but there's a catch. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Clinton Kelly
January 9, 2017

Bestselling author and television host Clinton Kelly’s memoir I Hate Everyone Except You is a candid, deliciously snarky collection of essays about his journey from awkward kid to slightly-less-awkward adult. Clinton Kelly is probably best known for teaching women how to make their butts look smaller. But in I Hate Everyone, Except You, he reveals some heretofore-unknown secrets about himself, like that he’s a finicky connoisseur of 1980s pornography, a disillusioned critic of New Jersey’s premier water parks, and perhaps the world’s least enthused high-school commencement speaker. Whether he’s throwing his baby sister in the air to jumpstart her cheerleading career or heroically rescuing his best friend from death by mud bath, Clinton leaps life’s social hurdles with aplomb. With his signature wit, he shares his unique ability to navigate the stickiest of situations, like deciding whether it’s acceptable to eat chicken wings with a fork on live television (spoiler: it’s not). “A thoroughly light and entertaining memoir,” our critic writes. View video >