THE BOOK OF MISTAKES by Corinna Luyken
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 18, 2017

"It would be a grave mistake not to pick up this picture book. (Picture book. 4-12)"
A striking debut picture book celebrates the creative process. Read full book review >
XANDER AND THE DREAM THIEF by Margaret Dilloway
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 18, 2017

"A satisfying sequel that balances the monsters of Japanese mythology with the personal demons of a likable protagonist; fans will be waiting to see what battles he will fight next. (Fantasy. 8-12)"
Following Xander and the Lost Island of Monsters (2016), Xander Miyamoto's second quest takes him to the Land of Dreams, where he encounters more creatures from Japanese folklore. Read full book review >

FAIR BALL by Derek Jeter
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 18, 2017

"Fans of Jeter and Mantell's earlier books will find more of the same here. (Fiction. 8-10)"
Crises loom when a close friend suddenly turns standoffish, and the distraction affects young Derek's play on the field. Read full book review >
UNDER LOCKER AND KEY by Allison K. Hymas
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 18, 2017

"Lovers of light thrillers won't feel cheated by this one. (Fiction. 9-13)"
A big case makes for strange bedfellows for retrieval specialist Jeremy Wilderson. Read full book review >
RESPECT YOUR GHOSTS by John Bemelmans Marciano
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 18, 2017

"A droll picture of life yesteryear in a—seemingly—ordinary Italian town. (map, cultural note) (Historical fantasy. 8-10)"
Nine-year-old Sergio may not be the brightest bulb in town, but he shines after helping to settle a 137-year-old feud between two ghosts in Marciano's latest visit to Benevento. Read full book review >

MISSION MOON by Drew Brockington
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 18, 2017

"With its appealing blend of cuteness, substance, and humor, this should have readers over the moon. (Graphic science fiction. 6-10)"
A group of adorable astronaut cats must venture to the moon to remediate the Earth's energy crisis. Read full book review >
HIGHER, STEEPER, FASTER by Lawrence Goldstone
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 18, 2017

"For those who love history, aviation, or stories of great daring, this is pure pleasure. (timeline, glossary, notes, bibliography, index) (Nonfiction. 11-15)"
The author's passion for his subject infuses this richly detailed history of the daredevil years in flying. Read full book review >
THE SONG OF GLORY AND GHOST by N.D. Wilson
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 18, 2017

"Action-packed though sometimes murky in mechanics; not so murky is its free-and-easy use of indigenous tropes. (Fantasy. 9-12)"
Sam and Glory are back, pinballing among time periods to defeat evil. Read full book review >
NEWTON'S RAINBOW by Kathryn Lasky
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 18, 2017

"A lively (if unusually lengthy for the format) volume that may inspire readers to share Newton's interest in the world around them. (bibliography) (Picture book/biography. 6-10)"
The story of how Isaac Newton, a lackluster student at the bottom of his class, became one of the most influential scientists in history. Read full book review >
VIVA, ROSE! by Susan Krawitz
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 15, 2017

"Politics and prejudice against Mexicans makes this coming-of-age tale stand out from its ilk. (author's note, further notes, Spanish glossary, Yiddish glossary, additional terms) (Historical fiction. 9-12)"
Mexico, Texas, Pancho Villa, and Russian Jewish immigrants share a story. Read full book review >
STAY by Katherine Lawrence
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 15, 2017

"Millie's reactions to the events of an emotionally trying time are affecting and realistic. (Verse/fiction. 8-12)"
A novel in verse tells the story of Millie's 11th year. Read full book review >
MOTO AND ME by Suzi Eszterhas
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 15, 2017

"Not just for fans of cat pictures, this is an encouraging example of wildlife rescue and release with guaranteed child appeal. (Informational picture book. 4-9)"
A nature photographer fosters a wild serval kitten in Kenya. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >