ARCHIE GREENE AND THE MAGICIAN'S SECRET by D.D. Everest
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 21, 2015

"Familiarity in fiction breeds boredom. (Fantasy. 8-12)"
The delivery of an ancient book propels Archie Greene into a world of magic and danger: the perfect birthday present for any 12-year-old. Read full book review >
DR. CRITCHLORE'S SCHOOL FOR MINIONS by Sheila Grau
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 21, 2015

"A droll addition to the magical school genre, worthy of a seat toward the front of the (Harry) Potter-wagon. (pictorial cast list) (Fantasy. 11-13)"
Will assaults from within and without close a renowned school for minions—leaving the Evil Overlords of the world to draw from rival schools? Read full book review >

SOPHOMORE YEAR IS GREEK TO ME by Meredith Zeitlin
Released: April 21, 2015

"Fans of Sarah Mlynowski, Stephanie Perkins and Louise Rennison will enjoy this squeaky-clean travel adventure about the strength of family and the power of new experiences. (Fiction. 11-15)"
A dyed-in-the-wool New York teen discovers her Greek roots in this breezy novel by the author of Freshman Year & Other Unnatural Disasters (2012).Read full book review >
FRIEND OR FOE by Jody Feldman
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 21, 2015

"It's this altruism, combined with a competitive spirit, that will have readers rooting for these kids. (Fiction. 8-12)"
The Gollywhopper Games come back for a third round of puzzlers and prizes, with the main contestant a kid who is totally into football. Read full book review >
THE MAD APPRENTICE by Django Wexler
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 21, 2015

"A story rich in action and allegory—fantasy fans will want to hang on for what comes next. (Fantasy. 10-14)"
Still searching for her missing father, 12- or 13-year-old Alice Creighton finds a formidable enemy in Torment, a wildly dominating magical creature, in this second book in the Forbidden Library series. Read full book review >

CASTLE HANGNAIL by Ursula Vernon
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 21, 2015

"An appealing protagonist, lots of action, clever, witty writing, witchcraft and evildoers who get nothing but what they deserve—what's not to love? (Fantasy. 10-16)"
Castle Hangnail is in desperate need of a new Master; 12-year-old budding Wicked Witch Molly might be just the person to fill the position. Read full book review >
FART SQUAD by Seamus Pilger
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 21, 2015

"Readers who get a gas from such relentlessly fart-sical humor will come away with aching cheeks. (Fantasy. 8-10)"
Lunchroom burritos fuel superpowers in a series blastoff aimed at alimentary readers. Read full book review >
FROGS by Seymour Simon
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 21, 2015

"A grand addition to any elementary-age collection of nature titles. (index, websites) (Nonfiction. 6-10)"
Frogs and toads, amphibians who lead a double life on water and on land, are the subject of this veteran science writer's latest nature exploration. Read full book review >
ELVIS by Bonnie Christensen
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 21, 2015

"Despite some missteps, adult Elvis fans will be thrilled to share this book with children. (author's note, timeline) (Picture book/biography. 6-11)"
Brief poems present the childhood and youth of the King of rock 'n' roll. Read full book review >
THE CASE OF THE MISSING CARROT CAKE by Robin Newman
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 20, 2015

"Here's hoping for more hard-boiled detecting from Wilcox and Griswold! (Mystery. 5-9)"
Two police mice, one missing cake, a bunch of suspects—it's a big case! Read full book review >
AMELIA'S MIDDLE-SCHOOL GRADUATION YEARBOOK by Marissa Moss
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 20, 2015

"A hint at the end leaves room for this series to evolve into high school; Amelia may be a bit long in the tooth, but devoted fans will follow. (Graphic fiction. 8-12)"
In this newest, 20th-anniversary offering of the Amelia's Notebook series, Amelia graduates middle school and reminisces about all she has learned along the way. Read full book review >
ALICE IN WONDERLAND HIGH by Rachel Shane
Released: April 18, 2015

"Leave this novel at the bottom of the rabbit hole. (Fiction. 10-13)"
The beloved children's classic is reimagined as a teen treatise on environmental activism. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Luis Alberto Urrea
April 21, 2015

Examining the borders between one nation and another, between one person and another, Luis Alberto Urrea’s latest story collection, The Water Museum, reveals his mastery of the short form. This collection includes the Edgar-award winning "Amapola" and his now-classic "Bid Farewell to Her Many Horses," which had the honor of being chosen for NPR's "Selected Shorts" not once but twice. Urrea has also recently published a poetry collection, Tijuana Book of the Dead, mixing lyricism and colloquial voices, mysticism and the daily grind. We talk to Urrea about both of his new books this week on Kirkus TV. View video >