RUTABAGA THE ADVENTURE CHEF by Eric Colossal
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 24, 2015

"Colossal's debut outing is a cheerful if unexceptional popcorn read. (Graphic adventure. 8-11)"
In a land with dragons and other monsters, a happy-go-lucky chef can also be a hero. Read full book review >
JINX'S FIRE by Sage Blackwood
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 24, 2015

"A solid conclusion to a trilogy that, though overcrowded and about a half volume too long, is nonetheless threaded with proper amounts of heroism, humor and ingenious twists of character. (map, not seen) (Fantasy. 10-12)"
Multiple threats to his beloved Urwald send tree whisperer Jinx down magical Paths of Ice and Fire in this populous closer. Read full book review >

BLACKBIRD FLY by Erin Entrada Kelly
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 24, 2015

"Children's literature has been waiting for Apple Yengko—a strong, Asian-American girl whose ethnic identity simultaneously complicates and enriches her life. (Fiction. 9-14)"
Apple Yengko has one possession from the Philippines—a Beatles cassette tape with her father's name written on it. She knows every song by heart. Read full book review >
THE POPCORN ASTRONAUTS by Deborah Ruddell
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 24, 2015

"A scrumptious set of food-themed poems for budding gourmets, ripe for hours of read-aloud fun. (Picture book/poetry. 4-10)"
Ruddell's collection of 21 bite-sized poems whets even the littlest of literary appetites. Read full book review >
SUPERCAT VS. THE FRY THIEF by Jeanne Willis
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 24, 2015

"Gentle, occasionally funny furry adventures for those just ready for chapter books. (Fantasy. 6-9)"
Have no fear, Supercat is here! Read full book review >

FRANK EINSTEIN AND THE ELECTRO-FINGER by Jon Scieszka
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 17, 2015

"There's so much actual information here that the story could pass as a textbook, but science and Scieszka fans won't likely mind. (Science fiction/humor. 8-10)"
Kid genius Frank Einstein's back for a second shocking (and silly) science adventure. Read full book review >
WORK AND MORE WORK by Linda Little
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 17, 2015

"Stylized and idealized but with some potential as a discussion starter. (Picture book. 7-9)"
A young traveler discovers a world of wonders hidden in a seemingly ordinary word. Read full book review >
THE SCHNOZ OF DOOM by Andrea Beaty
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 17, 2015

"Armageddon-averting fun for fans of Jon Scieszka's Spaceheadz and M.T. Anderson's Pals in Peril. (Adventure. 8-12)"
Can Earth again be in peril from extraterrestrial bunnies? Read full book review >
THE GLORKIAN WARRIOR EATS ADVENTURE PIE by James Kochalka
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 17, 2015

"Kooky, bubble-gum fun. (Graphic science fiction/humor. 5-10)"
Silliness reigns supreme as the Glorkian Warrior finds himself on another goofy illustrated adventure that revolves around food and fart jokes. Read full book review >
HOSTAGE RUN by Andrew Klavan
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 17, 2015

"Another empty-caloried thriller, thinly sauced with superficial psychology and earnest professions of generic faith. (Science fantasy. 11-13)"
The desperate MindWar enters a new phase when evil mastermind Kurodar breaks through the boundary between his digital Realm and Real Life in this cranked-up middle volume. Read full book review >
THE LUNCH WITCH by Deb Lucke
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 17, 2015

"Truly, far too often school lunch ladies get a bad rap. In this case, it's justified, and stout-stomached readers who have always suspected the truth should enjoy seeing how. (Graphic novel. 9-11)"
A troubled student leads an evil lunch lady astray…at least temporarily. Read full book review >
FORK-TONGUE CHARMERS by Paul Durham
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 17, 2015

"Generally successful, this adventuresome second installment entertains and leaves dangling ends to set up the third. (Fantasy. 9-13)"
Book 2 in the middle-grade Luck Uglies trilogy (The Luck Uglies, 2014) continues the adventure in the fantasy world of the Shale. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Frank Bruni
March 31, 2015

Over the last few decades, Americans have turned college admissions into a terrifying and occasionally devastating process, preceded by test prep, tutors, all sorts of stratagems, all kinds of rankings, and a conviction among too many young people that their futures will be determined and their worth established by which schools say yes and which say no. In Where You Go Is Not Who You’ll Be, New York Times columnist Frank Bruni explains why, giving students and their parents a new perspective on this brutal, deeply flawed competition and a path out of the anxiety that it provokes. “Written in a lively style but carrying a wallop, this is a book that family and educators cannot afford to overlook as they try to navigate the treacherous waters of college admissions,” our reviewer writes. View video >