THE HAUNTED SERPENT by Dora M. Mitchell
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 5, 2018

"Fans of Dan Poblocki, John Bellairs, and R.L. Stine will all be right at home and smiling at the shivers (and the jokes). (Suspense. 8-12)"
Ghosts and zombies and boa constrictors, oh my! Read full book review >
THE SHADOW THIEVES by Alexandra Ott
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 5, 2018

"A not-to-be-missed sequel marked by action, mystery, lively dialogue, and steady character growth. (Fiction. 8-13)"
The sequel to Rule for Thieves (2017) finds recovering thief Alli Rosco struggling to stay on the straight and narrow as she settles into a new life with her long-lost older brother. Read full book review >

THE ADVENTURES OF A GIRL CALLED BICYCLE by Christina Uss
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 5, 2018

"Readers will eagerly join Bicycle and 'pedal headfirst' into this terrific adventure, which is chock-full of heart and humor. (map) (Fabulism. 8-12)"
Twelve-year-old Bicycle secretly takes off from Washington, D.C., on her steadfast bike, Clunk, and heads to San Francisco by herself to find her bike-racing hero, Zbig—and, hopefully, her first real friend. Read full book review >
THE FRAME-UP by Wendy McLeod MacKnight
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 5, 2018

"For anyone who's wondered about the people inside the frames. (gallery map, afterword) (Fantasy/mystery. 9-12)"
A girl in a painting and a boy visiting the gallery she hangs in foil art thieves. Read full book review >
THE SEISMIC SEVEN by Katie Slivensky
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 5, 2018

"Overall, an engaging adventure with a high-stakes plot and a timely message about preserving the environment. (author's note, glossary) (Adventure. 8-12)"
Seven kids are in for an explosive summer adventure that might be their last. Read full book review >

CHILDREN'S
Released: June 5, 2018

"Even readers who are not sports enthusiasts will appreciate Long's upbeat account of finding confidence in the water and in life. (Memoir. 8-14)"
In a series of "moments," Paralympic swimmer Long describes how she became "the second-most decorated Paralympian of all time." Read full book review >
THE CARDBOARD KINGDOM by Chad Sell
Kirkus Star
edited by Chad Sell, illustrated by Chad Sell
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 5, 2018

"A breath of fresh air, this tender and dynamic collection is a must-have for any graphic-novel collection. (Graphic fantasy. 9-13)"
Comics creator and illustrator Sell teams up with 10 different authors to create an extraordinary linked anthology, seamlessly interweaving stories of unabashed joy and friendship. Read full book review >
BREAKOUT by Kate Messner
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 5, 2018

"A sensitive coming-of-age tale about waking up to injustice and where that knowledge can lead. (author's note, bibliography) (Fiction. 9-14)"
Seen through the eyes of three seventh-graders, a prison escape upends daily life in a small Adirondack town. Read full book review >
HAWK RISING by Maria Gianferrari
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 5, 2018

"An absorbing reminder that we need never look far to see wild, beautiful nature. (Informational picture book. 6-9)"
A male red-tailed hawk leaves a nest full of hatchlings to scout a suburban neighborhood for prey. Read full book review >
TWAIN'S TREASURE by William B. Wolfe
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2018

"A patchy tale flickering repeatedly from light to dark and back. (Fantasy. 11-13)"
Alex's ability to talk with ghosts puts him in famous company when he and his mom move to Hannibal, Missouri. Read full book review >
MISSING BONES by Phyllis J. Perry
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2018

"A predictable boy-and-dog story with an ample ration of boilerplate family troubles. (Fiction 9-12)"
During a bumpy period of adjustment to his newly blended family, fifth-grader Ricky Martinez is grief-stricken when his beagle, Bones, gets lost. Read full book review >
IRVING BERLIN, THE IMMIGRANT BOY WHO MADE AMERICA SING by Nancy Churnin
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2018

"A book to share that celebrates an immigrant and his abiding love for his adopted country, its holidays, and his 'home sweet home.' (author's note, timeline) (Picture book/biography. 6-9)"
A Jewish immigrant from Russia gives America some of its most iconic and beloved songs. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >