IMAGINE THE MOON by Gerald Fierst
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 10, 2017

"Skip the poems and enjoy the cheerful artwork and entertaining prose. (Informational picture book. 4-9)"
From January's Wolf Moon to December's Cold Moon, a survey of moon monikers. Read full book review >
WILD ANIMALS OF THE SOUTH by Dieter Braun
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"An impressive display of wonders in the animal world, a treat for browsers. (Informational picture book. 5-12)"
This companion to Wild Animals of the North (2016) portrays 88 common and lesser-known wild animals native to the Southern Hemisphere. Read full book review >

THE PUDDING PROBLEM by Joe Berger
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"Further reading for fans of Timmy Failure and Big Nate. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)"
Sam Lyttle has a little problem with the truth: even when he's telling it, it isn't totally true. Read full book review >
GIANT TROUBLE by Ursula Vernon
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"Clever wordplay, wonderful character banter, and stinky humor make this outing another giant success. (Graphic/fantasy hybrid. 7-12)"
Hamster princess Harriet faces a big problem in this "Jack and the Beanstalk" retelling. Read full book review >
EDGELAND by Jake Halpern
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"As the living help to liberate the dead, intriguing characters roam the pages of a lifeless story. (Fantasy. 10-14)"
After being banished from House Aron for stealing, orphan Wren must endure the bleak life of a grayling on the island of Edgeland, living underground and supporting herself through thievery. Read full book review >

HOW TO MAKE AWESOME COMICS by Neill Cameron
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"A friendly and engaging orientation for emerging comics creators, although the activity pages make this one for home collections rather than library use. (appendices) (Graphic nonfiction. 6-10)"
A cheerful guide offering a beginner's course in designing comics. Read full book review >
BLOODLING by Lene Kaaberbøl
by Lene Kaaberbøl, illustrated by Rohan Eason, translated by Charlotte Barslund
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"There's plenty of action, but it's hard to tell where this episode fits into the main storyline (if there is one). (Fantasy. 11-13)"
Wildwitch-in-training Clara Ash faces both familial and life-threatening challenges on her 13th birthday, plus leeches—lots of leeches. Read full book review >
GABBY GARCIA'S ULTIMATE PLAYBOOK by Iva-Marie Palmer
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"Hilarious and joyful. (Fiction. 9-12)"
Twelve-year-old Gabby is a golden child, and nothing can go wrong, until it does. Read full book review >
CLAYTON BYRD GOES UNDERGROUND by Rita Williams-Garcia
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"Strong characterizations and vivid musical scenes add layers to this warm family story. (Fiction. 8-12)"
An African-American youngster is happiest when he can play his harmonica with his bluesman grandfather until tragedy removes the music from his life. Read full book review >
CRICKET IN THE THICKET by Carol Murray
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"Happy-go-lucky fun with words, collage, and a smattering of facts about bugs. (Picture book/poetry. 5-9)"
Each of over 25 different "bugs" receives its own short, titled, whimsical poem, an accompanying collage, and a few sentences of factual information. Read full book review >
QUESTIONS ASKED by Jostein Gaarder
by Jostein Gaarder, illustrated by Akin Düzakin, translated by Don Bartlett
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"Quiet, respectful, and touching. (Picture book. 8-12)"
The Norwegian philosopher and author of Sophie's World: A Novel About the History of Philosophy (1994), brings out the existentialist in even the youngest reader. Read full book review >
FUNNY GIRL by Betsy Bird
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"Whether these live up to the subtitle's claim of 'funniest stories ever' is subjective, but the lighthearted array will surely appeal to a wide audience. (Anthology. 9-13)"
The 28 short stories, autobiographical essays, and comic strips in this entertaining anthology are meant to prove that females can be funny, and they succeed. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >