THE BOYS OF FIRE AND ASH by Meaghan McIsaac
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 12, 2015

"Fans of James Dashner, Margaret Peterson Haddix, and Patrick Ness need look no further. (Dystopian adventure. 10-15)"
A group of boys leave their primitive home to save one of their own in this dystopian debut. Read full book review >
YOUNG-HEE AND THE PULLOCHO by Mark James Russell
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 12, 2015

"More mundane than magical. (Fantasy. 9-13)"
In this portal fantasy, a Korean teenager must complete a dangerous quest to save her annoying younger brother. Read full book review >

BAYOU MAGIC by Jewell Parker Rhodes
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 12, 2015

"Adventure-seeking girls with a taste for mermaids need apply. (Magical realism. 8-12)"
Infused with a whimsical sense of adventure, Rhodes' latest draws life from the mystical aura of the Louisiana bayou, braiding it with threads of environmental consciousness. Read full book review >
UNUSUAL CHICKENS FOR THE EXCEPTIONAL POULTRY FARMER by Kelly Jones
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 12, 2015

"A delightful protagonist, interesting fowl of various breeds and a cast of appealing second-string characters make this a top pick for young readers, poultry fanciers or not. (Fantasy. 8-12)"
Moving to the farm her family inherited from Great-Uncle Jim, Sophie Brown, 12, discovers a flyer from a local poultry purveyor promoting its "unusual chickens" and quickly discovers it's not false advertising. Read full book review >
SIX by M.M. Vaughan
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 12, 2015

"Inventive, entertaining and thought-provoking. (Fantasy. 8-12)"
Three kids, a pet pig and a helpful chauffeur must unravel a mystery of cosmic proportions. Read full book review >

CUCKOO SONG by Frances Hardinge
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 8, 2015

"Nuanced and intense, this painstakingly created tale mimics the Escher-like constructions of its villainous Architect, fooling the eyes and entangling the emotions of readers willing and able to enter into a world like no other. (Fantasy. 11-14)"
This dense and twisty fantasy set in post-World War I Great Britain mixes monstrous creatures, sibling rivalry, a supernatural doppelgänger, family dysfunction and a kidnapping into a complex brew of eerie atmosphere and unexpected events. Read full book review >
SEX IS A FUNNY WORD by Cory Silverberg
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 5, 2015

"This carefully thought-out explanation may surprise but should be widely appreciated. (glossary) (Nonfiction.7-10)"
Moving up in target audience from their explanation of reproduction, What Makes a Baby (2013), Silverberg and Smyth explore various meanings for the word "sex." Read full book review >
THE ISLE OF THE LOST by Melissa de la Cruz
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 5, 2015

"A paint-by-numbers effort to market a spinoff that's likely to be equally ephemeral. (Fantasy. 11-13)"
In a prequel to an upcoming Disney Channel film, the offspring of four familiar villains bond in an effort to impress their evil parents. Read full book review >
MY TATA'S REMEDIES / LOS REMEDIOS DE MI TATA by Roni Capin Rivera-Ashford
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 5, 2015

"So many cultural treasures are dependent on word-of-mouth transmission, and this story encourages grandparents to lovingly pass on their knowledge to eager grandchildren and family members. (Bilingual picture book. 4-11)"
Following My Nana's Remedies/Los Remedios De Mi Nana, illustrated by Edna San Miguel (2002), Rivera-Ashford offers another semiautobiographical and child-friendly recounting of the importance of sharing intergenerational wisdom, this time accompanied by Castro L.'s expressive illustrations. Read full book review >
THE WORST CLASS TRIP EVER by Dave Barry
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 5, 2015

"A light, comic tone and more-or-less believable stakes make for a winning combination. (Thriller. 8-12) "
A Miami eighth-grader's class trip to the nation's capital quickly escalates into an international incident. Read full book review >
RATSCALIBUR by Josh Lieb
by Josh Lieb, illustrated by Tom Lintern
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 5, 2015

"A crowd-pleasing mix of quick action, true valor, clever wordplay, and gross bits. (Animal fantasy. 9-11)"
A young New York City newcomer becomes a rat and then a hero in this tale of knightly derring-do. Read full book review >
THE SOUND OF LIFE AND EVERYTHING by Krista Van Dolzer
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 5, 2015

"Numerous omissions and inaccuracies work against the earnest 'war hurts everyone' message. (Historical fantasy. 10-13)"
All that's left of Ella Mae's cousin Robby, killed in combat on Iwo Jima, are his bloodstained dog tags, but a California scientist claims that using the DNA it contains, he can reconstruct him. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Nelson DeMille
author of RADIANT ANGEL
May 26, 2015

After a showdown with the notorious Yemeni terrorist known as The Panther, in Nelson DeMille’s latest suspense novel Radiant Angel, NYPD detective John Corey has left the Anti-Terrorist Task Force and returned home to New York City, taking a job with the Diplomatic Surveillance Group. Although Corey's new assignment with the DSG-surveilling Russian diplomats working at the U.N. Mission-is thought to be "a quiet end," he is more than happy to be out from under the thumb of the FBI and free from the bureaucracy of office life. But Corey realizes something the U.S. government doesn't: The all-too-real threat of a newly resurgent Russia. “Perfect summer beach reading, with or without margaritas, full of Glock-and-boat action,” our reviewer writes. View video >