THE LEAGUE OF BEASTLY DREADFULS by Holly Grant
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 24, 2015

"A yummy debut, though readers with sensitive stomachs would be well-advised to check them at the door. (Fantasy. 10-12)"
Two sinister spinsters spirit a seemingly ordinary fifth-grader away one day to a moldering former asylum, informing her that she's become an orphan and they are her great-aunts. Yeah, right. Read full book review >
TEDDY MARS by Molly B. Burnham
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 24, 2015

"Fans of world-record quests and those who enjoy lighthearted tales will savor Teddy's efforts. (Fiction. 8-12)"
After discovering TheGuinness Book of World Records, Teddy's determined to achieve a world record, too. Read full book review >

RUTABAGA THE ADVENTURE CHEF by Eric Colossal
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 24, 2015

"Colossal's debut outing is a cheerful if unexceptional popcorn read. (Graphic adventure. 8-11)"
In a land with dragons and other monsters, a happy-go-lucky chef can also be a hero. Read full book review >
JINX'S FIRE by Sage Blackwood
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 24, 2015

"A solid conclusion to a trilogy that, though overcrowded and about a half volume too long, is nonetheless threaded with proper amounts of heroism, humor and ingenious twists of character. (map, not seen) (Fantasy. 10-12)"
Multiple threats to his beloved Urwald send tree whisperer Jinx down magical Paths of Ice and Fire in this populous closer. Read full book review >
BLACKBIRD FLY by Erin Entrada Kelly
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 24, 2015

"Children's literature has been waiting for Apple Yengko—a strong, Asian-American girl whose ethnic identity simultaneously complicates and enriches her life. (Fiction. 9-14)"
Apple Yengko has one possession from the Philippines—a Beatles cassette tape with her father's name written on it. She knows every song by heart. Read full book review >

THE POPCORN ASTRONAUTS by Deborah Ruddell
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 24, 2015

"A scrumptious set of food-themed poems for budding gourmets, ripe for hours of read-aloud fun. (Picture book/poetry. 4-10)"
Ruddell's collection of 21 bite-sized poems whets even the littlest of literary appetites. Read full book review >
SUPERCAT VS. THE FRY THIEF by Jeanne Willis
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 24, 2015

"Gentle, occasionally funny furry adventures for those just ready for chapter books. (Fantasy. 6-9)"
Have no fear, Supercat is here! Read full book review >
FRANK EINSTEIN AND THE ELECTRO-FINGER by Jon Scieszka
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 17, 2015

"There's so much actual information here that the story could pass as a textbook, but science and Scieszka fans won't likely mind. (Science fiction/humor. 8-10)"
Kid genius Frank Einstein's back for a second shocking (and silly) science adventure. Read full book review >
WORK AND MORE WORK by Linda Little
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 17, 2015

"Stylized and idealized but with some potential as a discussion starter. (Picture book. 7-9)"
A young traveler discovers a world of wonders hidden in a seemingly ordinary word. Read full book review >
THE SCHNOZ OF DOOM by Andrea Beaty
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 17, 2015

"Armageddon-averting fun for fans of Jon Scieszka's Spaceheadz and M.T. Anderson's Pals in Peril. (Adventure. 8-12)"
Can Earth again be in peril from extraterrestrial bunnies? Read full book review >
THE GLORKIAN WARRIOR EATS ADVENTURE PIE by James Kochalka
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 17, 2015

"Kooky, bubble-gum fun. (Graphic science fiction/humor. 5-10)"
Silliness reigns supreme as the Glorkian Warrior finds himself on another goofy illustrated adventure that revolves around food and fart jokes. Read full book review >
HOSTAGE RUN by Andrew Klavan
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 17, 2015

"Another empty-caloried thriller, thinly sauced with superficial psychology and earnest professions of generic faith. (Science fantasy. 11-13)"
The desperate MindWar enters a new phase when evil mastermind Kurodar breaks through the boundary between his digital Realm and Real Life in this cranked-up middle volume. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Fatima Bhutto
April 14, 2015

Set during the American invasion of Afghanistan, Fatima Bhutto’s debut novel The Shadow of the Crescent Moon begins and ends one rain-swept Friday morning in Mir Ali, a small town in Pakistan’s Tribal Areas close to the Afghan border. Three brothers meet for breakfast. Soon after, the eldest, Aman Erum, recently returned from America, hails a taxi to the local mosque. Sikandar, a doctor, drives to the hospital where he works, but must first stop to collect his troubled wife, who has not joined the family that morning. No one knows where Mina goes these days. But when, later in the morning, the two are taken hostage by members of the Taliban, Mina will prove to be stronger than anyone could have imagined. Our reviewer writes that The Shadow of the Crescent Moon is “a timely, earnest portrait of a family torn apart by the machinations of other people’s war games and desperately trying to survive.” View video >