XANDER AND THE DREAM THIEF by Margaret Dilloway
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 18, 2017

"A satisfying sequel that balances the monsters of Japanese mythology with the personal demons of a likable protagonist; fans will be waiting to see what battles he will fight next. (Fantasy. 8-12)"
Following Xander and the Lost Island of Monsters (2016), Xander Miyamoto's second quest takes him to the Land of Dreams, where he encounters more creatures from Japanese folklore. Read full book review >
RESPECT YOUR GHOSTS by John Bemelmans Marciano
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 18, 2017

"A droll picture of life yesteryear in a—seemingly—ordinary Italian town. (map, cultural note) (Historical fantasy. 8-10)"
Nine-year-old Sergio may not be the brightest bulb in town, but he shines after helping to settle a 137-year-old feud between two ghosts in Marciano's latest visit to Benevento. Read full book review >

KEEP ROLLING! by Eric Litwin
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 18, 2017

"With repetitive refrains and plenty of mud, it's hard to go wrong—but the message is a bit murky. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Litwin's Nut family is back (The Nuts, 2015), this time lamenting their diminutive size. Read full book review >
THE BOOK OF MISTAKES by Corinna Luyken
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 18, 2017

"It would be a grave mistake not to pick up this picture book. (Picture book. 4-12)"
A striking debut picture book celebrates the creative process. Read full book review >
THE GIANT JUMPEREE by Julia Donaldson
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 18, 2017

"A winner for libraries everywhere: home, public, day care, preschool, and school. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Rabbit, Cat, Bear, and Elephant are afraid of a voice coming out of Rabbit's burrow, but Mama Frog solves the mystery. Read full book review >

IF MY LOVE WERE A FIRE TRUCK by Luke  Reynolds
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 18, 2017

"An opening for parent-child pairs to use their own imaginations to see where love will take them. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A father's lullaby to his young son imagines his affection in figurative language. Read full book review >
LET'S FIND MOMO! by Andrew Knapp
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 18, 2017

"Colorful, kid-friendly fun—and Momo! What more could readers want? (Board book. 2-5)"
Books, blog, Instagram, and Facebook—where else can readers find Momo? Read full book review >
FAIR BALL by Derek Jeter
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 18, 2017

"Fans of Jeter and Mantell's earlier books will find more of the same here. (Fiction. 8-10)"
Crises loom when a close friend suddenly turns standoffish, and the distraction affects young Derek's play on the field. Read full book review >
SMELL MY ELEPHANT by Tina Ballon DeBord
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 15, 2017

"Toddlers may identify with Fletcher's devotion to Elephant, but far more engaging stuffed-friend tales abound. Try them first. (Picture book. 2-5)"
What does Fletcher's elephant smell like? Read full book review >
LITTLE RED ROLLS AWAY by Linda Whalen
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 15, 2017

"Designed to address the anxieties moving holds for children, this book is competent and clear. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Little Red, a small barn, is moved from his home, much to his distress. Read full book review >
THE WISHING FOXES by Margaret Read MacDonald
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 15, 2017

"Welcome wherever folk tales are popular. (Picture book/folk tale. 4-8)"
MacDonald and the Whitmans offer an Appalachian version of "The Kind and the Unkind Girls." Read full book review >
FULL MOON LORE by Ellen Wahi
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 15, 2017

"Trite text and overworked art detract from an interesting concept. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Each month of the year is represented by a full moon, one of its nicknames in the Northern Hemisphere, and some notes about seasonal changes during that month. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >