THE BOYS OF FIRE AND ASH by Meaghan McIsaac
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 12, 2015

"Fans of James Dashner, Margaret Peterson Haddix, and Patrick Ness need look no further. (Dystopian adventure. 10-15)"
A group of boys leave their primitive home to save one of their own in this dystopian debut. Read full book review >
DRAGONS BEWARE! by Jorge Aguirre
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 12, 2015

"This rowdy adventure is sure to be a crowd pleaser. (Graphic fantasy. 7-12)"
When a wicked wizard threatens her city, Claudette decides it's once again her job to save the day. Read full book review >

THE COW TRIPPED OVER THE MOON by Jeanne Willis
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 12, 2015

"Children just graduating from nursery rhymes will find this a hoot. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Hey-diddle-diddle! Nursery-rhyme EMTs rescue stranded characters from "Mother Goose." In verse! Read full book review >
SMALL WONDERS by Matthew Clark Smith
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 12, 2015

"Long before Yogi Berra said, 'You can observe a lot by watching,' Fabre proved it so. (historical note, timeline, author's note, annotated source list) (Picture book/biography. 9-11)"
The rewards of simply taking time to bend down for a closer look are celebrated in this tribute to the great French entomologist. Read full book review >
ABUKACHA'S SHOES by Tamar Tessler
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 12, 2015

"Funny and charming. (Picture book. 4-7)"
No matter how hard Abukacha tries to discard his old, worn-out shoes, they always find their way back to him. Read full book review >

SONG FOR A SUMMER NIGHT by Robert Heidbreder
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 12, 2015

"Populated by pink, gold, and brown children, the story is a sweet evocation of the pleasures of nighttime. (Picture book. 4-7)"
A rhyming ode to the sights and sounds of a summer night. Read full book review >
WHAT THIS STORY NEEDS IS A PIG IN A WIG by Emma J. Virján
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 12, 2015

"There's not much of a story here, but a boatload of giggles will keep children returning for more easy-to-read fun. (Early reader. 3-6)"
One pig, one boat, and a lot of passengers add up to one hilarious voyage. Read full book review >
SWIMMING, SWIMMING by Gary Clement
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 12, 2015

"Friendship and a pool: the perfect summer combination, here captured to a T. (Picture book. 4-7)"
A quartet of friends—three boys and one girl—revel in the watery joys afforded by the local public pool. Read full book review >
THE FLY by Petr Horácek
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 12, 2015

"This apologium may not change minds about flies, but it's definitely buzz-worthy. (Picture book. 3-6)"
What's it like to be a fly? Well, it ain't easy. Read full book review >
THE BOYS WHO CHALLENGED HITLER by Phillip Hoose
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 12, 2015

"A superbly told, remarkable true story and an excellent addition to stories of civilian resistance in World War II. (photos, bibliography, chapter notes) (Nonfiction. 12-18)"
A handful of Danish teens takes on the occupying Nazis is this inspiring true story of courageous resistance. Read full book review >
ASK ME by Bernard Waber
Kirkus Star
by Bernard Waber, illustrated by Suzy Lee
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 12, 2015

"Sublimely satisfying. (Picture book. 4-8)"
As a little girl and her father take a walk together, the girl directs her dad to ask her questions about what she likes. Read full book review >
THIS IS MY ROCK by David Lucas
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 12, 2015

"A rocky climb to wisdom. (Picture book. 3-6)"
In another philosophical outing from Lucas (A Letter for Bear, 2013), a goat repels all comers from a rugged peak, then finds its claim of ownership a hollow one.Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Jodi Picoult and Samantha van Leer
authors of OFF THE PAGE
May 19, 2015

Meet Oliver, a prince literally taken from the pages of a fairy tale and transported into the real world. Meet Delilah, the girl who wished Oliver into being. In bestseller Jodi Picoult and her daughter Samantha van Leer’s new young adult novel, Off the Page, it’s a miracle that seems perfect at first—but there are complications. To exist in Delilah’s world, Oliver must take the place of a regular boy. Enter Edgar, who agrees to play Oliver’s role in the pages of Delilah’s favorite book. But just when it seems that the plan will work, everything gets turned upside down. We talk to the mother-daughter team on Kirkus TV. View video >