ADVENTURES WITH WAFFLES by Maria Parr
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 12, 2015

"Filled with both rollicking escapades and poignant moments, Parr's notable tale portrays a young boy's heartfelt appreciation of family and friends. (Fiction. 8-11)"
Next-door neighbors in a small Norwegian town share mishaps and mischief. Read full book review >
MRS. NOODLEKUGEL AND DROOLY THE BEAR by Daniel Pinkwater
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 12, 2015

"Utterly, endearingly ridiculous. (Fiction. 5-9)"
Is there a Mr. Noodlekugel? Apparently the answer is yes. Read full book review >

BEAR COUNTS by Karma Wilson
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 12, 2015

"Bear's fans may get practice counting the number of times they ask for this again. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Having tackled one concept in Bear Sees Colors (2014), Bear and his charming woodland friends now address the numbers from one through five. Read full book review >
THE BOY WHO LOVED THE MOON by Rino Alaimo
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 12, 2015

"In video and on paper, the art casts an evocative glow, but the story is much changed and the transition from one medium to the other, awkwardly accomplished. (Picture book. 6-8)"
In this atmospheric version of the author's prizewinning short film, a lad woos—and ultimately wins—the Moon. Read full book review >
MASSACRE OF THE MINERS by T. Neill Anderson
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 12, 2015

"This novel neither elucidates nor entertains; it's hard to see a reason for it. (Historical fiction. 12-16)"
A fictional account of a real, deadly day. Read full book review >

THE WILD PIANO by Fred
by Fred, illustrated by Fred, translated by Richard Kutner
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 12, 2015

"Easily eclipsing the decades, this mind-bending fantasy blends familiar literary allusions, psychedelic settings, and just the right smattering of fun. (Graphic fantasy. 7-12)"
Philemon (Cast Away on the Letter A, 2014) returns in another whimsical romp to revisit the letter A and free his friend Bartholomew. Read full book review >
THE RUNAWAY'S GOLD by Emilie Christie Burack
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 12, 2015

"Despite thin spots, Burack's story moves at an engaging clip with enough thrills and historical detail to please many readers. (Historical fiction. 9-12)"
A Scottish lad flees his home in pursuit of treasure that promises to relieve his family's penury forever. Read full book review >
REBELS OF THE LAMP by Michael M.B. Galvin
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 12, 2015

"Mythology, magick, and mayhem—but mostly, mayhem. (Adventure. 9-12)"
New authors Galvin and Speakman present 12-year-old Californian Parker Quarry in stock but action-packed, third-person chapters alternating with the ancient journals of Vesiroth (circa 1,200-900 B.C.). Read full book review >
WITH A FRIEND BY YOUR SIDE by Barbara Kerley
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 12, 2015

"Though it treads perilously close to inspirational blandness, this book will serve to comfort those seeking friends of their own and inspire others to expand their friendship circles. (Picture book. 6-8)"
The concept of friendship earns itself another tribute picture book, this time with crisp, stunning photographs to match. Read full book review >
THE BOYS OF FIRE AND ASH by Meaghan McIsaac
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 12, 2015

"Fans of James Dashner, Margaret Peterson Haddix, and Patrick Ness need look no further. (Dystopian adventure. 10-15)"
A group of boys leave their primitive home to save one of their own in this dystopian debut. Read full book review >
THE TELLING STONE by Maureen Doyle McQuerry
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 12, 2015

"Uneven yet at moments exceedingly exciting: readers who stick through to the end will be looking for the next in the series. (Fantasy. 9-13)"
Timothy James Maxwell and his friends continue their adventure in cosmic realms. Read full book review >
DRAGONS BEWARE! by Jorge Aguirre
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 12, 2015

"This rowdy adventure is sure to be a crowd pleaser. (Graphic fantasy. 7-12)"
When a wicked wizard threatens her city, Claudette decides it's once again her job to save the day. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Jodi Picoult and Samantha van Leer
authors of OFF THE PAGE
May 19, 2015

Meet Oliver, a prince literally taken from the pages of a fairy tale and transported into the real world. Meet Delilah, the girl who wished Oliver into being. In bestseller Jodi Picoult and her daughter Samantha van Leer’s new young adult novel, Off the Page, it’s a miracle that seems perfect at first—but there are complications. To exist in Delilah’s world, Oliver must take the place of a regular boy. Enter Edgar, who agrees to play Oliver’s role in the pages of Delilah’s favorite book. But just when it seems that the plan will work, everything gets turned upside down. We talk to the mother-daughter team on Kirkus TV. View video >