THE SOUND OF THUNDER by J. Torres
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"Hitting 'The End' will just make fans want to start over again. (Graphic fantasy. 9-12)"
In this trilogy conclusion, Rufus returns to the north woods, but can he do anything to save them without his mystic totem? Read full book review >
STORK'S LANDING by Tami Lehman-Wilzig
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"A well-meaning but ultimately unsuccessful blend of eco-awareness and aquaculture. (Picture book. 5-8)"
A wild stork receives some loving care when it becomes caught in netting on Maya's kibbutz during the annual migration from Africa to Israel. Read full book review >

HADES SPEAKS! by Vicky Alvear Shecter
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"'I'll see you on the other side,' Hades leers—'sooner or later.' At least the terra won't be completely incognita. (index) (Mythology. 10-13)"
A tour of the ancient Greek (and Roman) underworld, squired by Hades and his lovely wife, Persephone. Read full book review >
PIRATES OF THE SILVER COAST by Scott Chantler
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"This rollicking serial adventure continues to please. (Graphic fantasy. 10-12)"
In their fifth outing, former circus acrobat Dessa and her nonhuman companions take ship for the "dark island" of Astaroth—first with a smuggler and then with a pirate king (who isn't exactly a king). Read full book review >
MATZO FROGS by Sally Rosenthal
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"A Jewish audience will appreciate the overall significance of the concept and context; Gentiles will get a kick out of the kind frogs. (Picture book. 4-6)"
Amphibian neighbors come to Minnie's rescue when she accidentally spills all the matzo-ball soup she has prepared for Shabbat dinner and doesn't have time to prepare more before sundown. Read full book review >

PANTS FOR CHUCK by Pat Schories
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"Ultimately, since Chuck ends up smartly eschewing the pants at book's end, the title even ends up seeming like a misnomer. (Early reader. 5-7)"
A beginning reader with a silly story that may or may not hold up to interrogation about anthropomorphic animals and story logic. Read full book review >
IF KIDS RULED THE WORLD by Linda Bailey
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"The reminder to play at all ages is important, but one wishes if kids did rule the world there might be an element of idealism as well, not just whimsy. (Picture book. 3-6)"
From the expected to the surreal, Bailey imagines a world where kids make the rules. Read full book review >
ANIMALS WORK by Ted Lewin
by Ted Lewin, illustrated by Ted Lewin
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"Inviting. (Early reader. 2-6)"
Mechanization is not in sight in this look at how animals still help humans at work and at play. Read full book review >
CHARLIE BUMPERS VS. THE SQUEAKING SKULL by Bill Harley
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"Life is the best teacher, and if Charlie can survive all the troubles that come his way, maybe others can too. (Fiction. 7-10) "
Award-winning storyteller Harley serves up hilarious high jinks squirming with Halloween trouble. Read full book review >
GOODNIGHT, YOU by Geneviève Côté
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"These friendship tales are totally in tune with preschool anxiety and fears; Côté brings another winner. (Picture book. 3-5)"
Friends Piggy and Bunny return in the fourth of this charming series, and in this episode, they experience their first campout—that is, if they can dispel their fears first. Read full book review >
WEDNESDAY by Anne Bertier
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"Bertier presents a marvelous springboard for using formal elements to create individual or collaborative narratives. (Picture book. 3-6)"
In the tradition of Leo Lionni's Little Blue and Little Yellow (1959), this French import uses geometric shapes, color and size to explore compatibility and conflict. Read full book review >
GOLDIE TAKES A STAND! by Barbara Krasner
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"Readers who pursue the context will discover that the girl who became an Israeli prime minister had a social conscience. (photographs, places to visit, bibliography) (Picture book. 6-8)"
A group of school friends provides Golda Meir with her first leadership test. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Pierce Brown
author of GOLDEN SON
February 17, 2015

With shades of The Hunger Games, Ender’s Game, and Game of Thrones, Pierce Brown’s genre-defying Red Rising hit the ground running. The sequel, Golden Son, continues the saga of Darrow, a rebel battling to lead his oppressed people to freedom. As a Red, Darrow grew up working the mines deep beneath the surface of Mars, enduring backbreaking labor while dreaming of the better future he was building for his descendants. But the Society he faithfully served was built on lies. Darrow’s kind have been betrayed and denied by their elitist masters, the Golds—and their only path to liberation is revolution. “Stirring—and archetypal—stuff,” our reviewer writes. View video >