WEDNESDAY by Anne Bertier
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"Bertier presents a marvelous springboard for using formal elements to create individual or collaborative narratives. (Picture book. 3-6)"
In the tradition of Leo Lionni's Little Blue and Little Yellow (1959), this French import uses geometric shapes, color and size to explore compatibility and conflict. Read full book review >
GOLDIE TAKES A STAND! by Barbara Krasner
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"Readers who pursue the context will discover that the girl who became an Israeli prime minister had a social conscience. (photographs, places to visit, bibliography) (Picture book. 6-8)"
A group of school friends provides Golda Meir with her first leadership test. Read full book review >

MADE BY RAFFI by Craig Pomranz
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"A solid support for all children who don't fit an accepted mode of behavior. (Picture book. 4-7)"
A boy with a flair for fashion finds affirmation. Read full book review >
SAM'S PET TEMPER by Sangeeta Bhadra
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"A satisfactory addition to the wide category of picture books about fury and tantrums. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A little boy's temper becomes a creature of its own. Read full book review >
ON THE WING by David Elliott
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"From the graceful cranes flying across its wraparound cover to the single feather on the title page to the soaring eagle at the end, this book astounds. (Picture book/poetry. 4-10)"
In this carefully planned book, readers simultaneously learn key facts about a variety of birds, absorb different forms of poetry and revel in beautiful artwork. Read full book review >

MY COUSIN'S KEEPER by Simon French
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"A thought-provoking tale of family struggles, schoolyard bullies, masculinity, reaching out and intolerance, jealousy and friendship just right for middle-grade book discussions. (Fiction. 9-12)"
Do you have to be your brother's keeper? Read full book review >
THE GARDEN OF TIME by Jill Hammer
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"Not everyone will appreciate a picture book that requires a glossary and a guide to iconography, but those who do may find that they need to read this one. (Picture book/religion. 6-10)"
Can a book be too beautiful for its own good? Read full book review >
WHY? by Tracey Corderoy
by Tracey Corderoy, illustrated by Tim Warnes
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"Look for a different title to entertain, rather than impersonate, young readers. (Picture book. 3-5)"
More character sketch than story, this title will feel familiar to parents of curious children. Read full book review >
THE CASE OF THE VANISHING LITTLE BROWN BATS by Sandra Markle
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"The appealing design and presentation add value to this account of science in action. (glossary, index) (Nonfiction. 9-13)"
Since 2007, with the first reports of hibernating bats dying in large numbers, scientists have worked from various angles to find the cause and cure, racing against the possibility of extinction. Read full book review >
NEW MONTH, NEW MOON by Allison Ofanansky
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"A nice blend of planetary science and religious observance. (author's note) (Picture book/religion. 5-8)"
The beginning of a new month, known in the Jewish calendar as Rosh Chodesh, is explained via a family's camping trip in the Negev Desert. Read full book review >
MIA'S THUMB by Ljuba Stille
by Ljuba Stille, illustrated by Ljuba Stille, translated by Anja Mundt
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"Thumb-sucking solutions can walk a tricky line between cajoling and shaming; happily, this does neither, but it might not be the easiest solution to imitate in real life. (Picture book. 2-5)"
The whole family tries to help a little girl break a persistent habit in this German import. Read full book review >
THE CAKE by Dorothée de Monfreid
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"There's no moral to this story, just irreverent fun. (Picture book. 3-5)"
When a tiger wants to make a cake, he and his friends fight over its ingredients with humorous (if naughty) results. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Gabrielle Zevin
March 3, 2015

A. J. Fikry’s life is not at all what he expected it to be. He lives alone, his bookstore is experiencing the worst sales in its history, and now his prized possession, a rare collection of Poe poems, has been stolen. But when a mysterious package appears at the bookstore, its unexpected arrival gives Fikry the chance to make his life over—and see everything anew. “Zevin writes characters who grow and prosper,” our reviewer writes, “in a narrative that is sometimes sentimental, sometimes funny, sometimes true to life and always entertaining.” View video >