SLEEPER by MacKenzie  Cadenhead
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Aug. 1, 2017

"A fresh, mostly successful thriller about vengeance, loyalty, and friendship. (Paranormal thriller. 12-16)"
A teenage girl suffering from a sleep disorder finds that an experimental drug cure comes with some unexpected and potentially deadly side effects. Read full book review >
VENTURESS by Betsy Cornwell
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Aug. 1, 2017

"As clever as the heroine's invented boot polishers and sewing machines, as appealing as the dresses designed by her coal-powered automaton horse. (Steampunk. 12-16)"
After the "Cinderella" story ends, a heroine inventor must stop a war between humans and Faerie. Read full book review >

THE WAY IT HURTS by Patty Blount
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Aug. 1, 2017

"Not only does Kristen deserve better, so do readers. (Romance. 14-18)"
The romance between musicians Eli and Kristen is plagued with discordant notes. Read full book review >
SPARKS OF LIGHT by Janet Taylor
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Aug. 1, 2017

"Fans of the first book may overlook the uneven pacing, especially if they are engaged by Hope and Bran's romantic tension and surprising back story. (Science fiction. 13-18)"
Two modern time-traveling groups vie for control of their shared time machine. Read full book review >
OF JENNY AND THE ALIENS by Ryan Gebhart
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Aug. 1, 2017

"Alternately entertaining and repellent. (Science fiction. 15-18)"
Beings from Alpha Centauri have made contact with Earth. Also Derek keeps getting to touch Jennifer Novak's boobs. Read full book review >

THESE THINGS I'VE DONE by Rebecca Phillips
Released: Aug. 1, 2017

"The novel also shines a light on more typical high school dramas—a secret crush on a friend's boyfriend, overbearing parents—and readers can't help but sympathize. (Fiction. 14-18)"
Dara becomes a pariah after accidentally killing her best friend, but she earns the trust of the one person she thought would never talk to her again. Read full book review >
THE SECRET HISTORY OF US by Jessi Kirby
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Aug. 1, 2017

"A weightless romance meant to elucidate that one's true self is unsinkable. (Fiction. 13-17)"
Given a second chance at life, Liv must unravel the mysteries occluded by her memory loss. Read full book review >
BLIGHT by Alexandra Duncan
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Aug. 1, 2017

"A thoughtful and sensitive exploration of corrupt powers and personal responsibility, especially in today's stormy political climate. (Science fiction. 14-18)"
In Duncan's dystopian novel, the United States is run by agribusinesses that control all food production. Read full book review >
TRUTHERS by Geoffrey Girard
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Aug. 1, 2017

"No truth here. (author's note, selected bibliography, websites) (Fiction. 14-18)"
A white, teenage girl is drawn into the shadowy world of 9/11 conspiracy theorists when her PTSD-afflicted veteran father gives her a cryptic set of clues. Read full book review >
LOVE IS BOTH WAVE AND PARTICLE by Paul Cody
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Aug. 1, 2017

"Strictly for fans of Miss Porter's, Wegmans, and the Vineyard. (Fiction. 14-17)"
Two teens find healing through a senior writing project at an upscale school serving gifted youth with psychiatric disorders in Ithaca, New York. Read full book review >
WHEN I AM THROUGH WITH YOU by Stephanie Kuehn
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Aug. 1, 2017

"Full of secrets and plot twists, Kuehn's latest is a satisfying, sophisticated study in complicated relationships. (Thriller. 14-18)"
A multiethnic group of teenagers goes camping on a school trip, but not all of them make it home alive. Read full book review >
WE NOW RETURN TO REGULAR LIFE by Martin Wilson
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Aug. 1, 2017

"A fast-paced yet complex and heart-rending read. (Fiction. 14-18)"
A traumatized abductee returns to his family after having been missing for three years. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >