MURDER IS BAD MANNERS by Robin Stevens
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 21, 2015

"An irresistible English import with sequels to come. (Mystery. 10-14)"
A pair of eighth-grade girls, admirers of Holmes and Watson, expose a real murderer in a tony English boarding school in 1934. Read full book review >
EVERY LAST PROMISE by Kristin Halbrook
Released: April 21, 2015

"A devastating, important examination of the far-reaching, insidious nature of rape culture. (Fiction. 14-18)"
A small-town girl is forced to choose between doing the right thing or fitting in after a night of unforgettable violence. Read full book review >

CASTLE HANGNAIL by Ursula Vernon
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 21, 2015

"An appealing protagonist, lots of action, clever, witty writing, witchcraft and evildoers who get nothing but what they deserve—what's not to love? (Fantasy. 10-16)"
Castle Hangnail is in desperate need of a new Master; 12-year-old budding Wicked Witch Molly might be just the person to fill the position. Read full book review >
THE TRUTH COMMISSION by Susan Juby
Released: April 14, 2015

"Hilarious, deliciously provocative and slyly thought-provoking, Juby's welcome return is bound to ignite debate. (Fiction. 14-18)"
When curiosity leads three students at a Nanaimo, British Columbia, art school ("Serving oddballs in grades ten through twelve since 2007") to ask a classmate why she had "renovations done," her surprisingly positive response prompts the trio to form the Truth Commission, an experiment in bringing hidden truths to light. Read full book review >
ALL THE RAGE by Courtney Summers
Released: April 14, 2015

"Unflinching and powerful. (Fiction. 14-18)"
In a small town, one girl is raped, and another girl disappears. Read full book review >

LIKE A RIVER by Kathy Cannon Wiechman
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 7, 2015

"A superb Civil War tale of friendship, loyalty and what it means to be a man. (bibliography) (Historical fiction. 9-14)"
The stories of three teens intersect in the later years of the Civil War in this debut novel. Read full book review >
THE LOST MARBLE NOTEBOOK OF FORGOTTEN GIRL & RANDOM BOY by Marie Jaskulka
Released: April 7, 2015

"Graceful. Searing. Haunting. (Verse fiction. 12-17)"
Trying to escape their broken worlds, two teens fall in love with devastating results. Read full book review >
LIES I TOLD by Michelle Zink
Released: April 7, 2015

"Highly readable, gripping and touching. (Thriller. 12-18)"
A girl struggles to hold onto her own identity within her family of thieves. Read full book review >
SIMON VS. THE HOMO SAPIENS AGENDA by Becky Albertalli
Released: April 7, 2015

"Funny, moving and emotionally wise. (Fiction. 12-18)"
A gay teen comes out to friends, family and classmates after his secret correspondence with another boy is discovered. Read full book review >
LAUREN IPSUM by Carlos Bueno
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 1, 2015

"Positive, smart, empowering philosophies and thinking skills couched in a wacky adventure. (Fantasy/philosophy. 8-14)"
A lost girl travels through a fantastical Alice in Wonderland-esque world filled with The Phantom Tollbooth-like computer-programming metaphors.Read full book review >
THE KIDNEY HYPOTHETICAL by Lisa Yee
Released: March 31, 2015

"Smart, funny-but-ruthless teens and self-absorbed, grieving adults prove to be enormously appealing. (Fiction. 13-18)"
A perfect, glowing ending to a stellar high school career veers off course when debate-team captain Higgs Boson flunks girlfriend Roo's easy question: If she needed a kidney, would he give her one? Read full book review >
BOYS DON'T KNIT by T.S. Easton
Released: March 24, 2015

"Wacky characters, a farcical plot and a fledgling romance are all part of the fun in this novel that will appeal to fans of Angus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging.(Fiction. 12-16)"
An unwilling accomplice to petty theft organized by his dim friends, English teen Ben Fletcher is annoyed that he was the one busted when he collided with a crossing guard. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Luis Alberto Urrea
April 21, 2015

Examining the borders between one nation and another, between one person and another, Luis Alberto Urrea’s latest story collection, The Water Museum, reveals his mastery of the short form. This collection includes the Edgar-award winning "Amapola" and his now-classic "Bid Farewell to Her Many Horses," which had the honor of being chosen for NPR's "Selected Shorts" not once but twice. Urrea has also recently published a poetry collection, Tijuana Book of the Dead, mixing lyricism and colloquial voices, mysticism and the daily grind. We talk to Urrea about both of his new books this week on Kirkus TV. View video >