THE LEGENDS BEGIN by Shane Hegarty
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 21, 2015

"Provided the delightful Irish flavor isn't sucked dry, readers will be hunting for the sequel in short order. (Fantasy. 9-14)"
Does Finn have what it takes to be a Legend Hunter? Everyone better hope he does! Read full book review >
CITY LOVE by Susane Colasanti
Released: April 21, 2015

"Smart girl chick-lit. (Fiction. 14-18)"
Three teenage girls take on the Big Apple when they share an apartment during the summer before freshman year in college. Read full book review >

THE REMEDY by Suzanne Young
Released: April 21, 2015

"A visceral exploration of the eternal and misguided search for pain-free happiness in an almost-now Brave New World. (Dystopian romance. 14-18)"
Quinlan has an uncanny ability to become someone else, especially if that person is dead. Read full book review >
FINDING PARIS by Joy Preble
Released: April 21, 2015

"Fast-paced with intriguing teen characters, a budding relationship and a bit of mystery—curiosity will keep those pages turning. (Fiction. 13-17)"
Paranormal author Preble (The A-Word, 2014, etc.) crosses over to straight teen fiction with this drama wrapped in a mystery. Read full book review >
MURDER IS BAD MANNERS by Robin Stevens
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 21, 2015

"An irresistible English import with sequels to come. (Mystery. 10-14)"
A pair of eighth-grade girls, admirers of Holmes and Watson, expose a real murderer in a tony English boarding school in 1934. Read full book review >

SOPHOMORE YEAR IS GREEK TO ME by Meredith Zeitlin
Released: April 21, 2015

"Fans of Sarah Mlynowski, Stephanie Perkins and Louise Rennison will enjoy this squeaky-clean travel adventure about the strength of family and the power of new experiences. (Fiction. 11-15)"
A dyed-in-the-wool New York teen discovers her Greek roots in this breezy novel by the author of Freshman Year & Other Unnatural Disasters (2012).Read full book review >
THE MAD APPRENTICE by Django Wexler
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 21, 2015

"A story rich in action and allegory—fantasy fans will want to hang on for what comes next. (Fantasy. 10-14)"
Still searching for her missing father, 12- or 13-year-old Alice Creighton finds a formidable enemy in Torment, a wildly dominating magical creature, in this second book in the Forbidden Library series. Read full book review >
CASTLE HANGNAIL by Ursula Vernon
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 21, 2015

"An appealing protagonist, lots of action, clever, witty writing, witchcraft and evildoers who get nothing but what they deserve—what's not to love? (Fantasy. 10-16)"
Castle Hangnail is in desperate need of a new Master; 12-year-old budding Wicked Witch Molly might be just the person to fill the position. Read full book review >
EVERY LAST PROMISE by Kristin Halbrook
Released: April 21, 2015

"A devastating, important examination of the far-reaching, insidious nature of rape culture. (Fiction. 14-18)"
A small-town girl is forced to choose between doing the right thing or fitting in after a night of unforgettable violence. Read full book review >
WALKING TWO WORLDS by Joseph Bruchac
Released: April 15, 2015

"Captivating and brief enough to be an easy sell for reluctant readers, this effort combines a snapshot of history with a skillful multicultural portrayal. (Historical fiction. 9-14)"
Ely, a Seneca Indian, has been sent to a boarding school to learn the ways of white people in hopes that he can become an effective representative for his people. Read full book review >
THE SECOND GUARD by J.D. Vaughn
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 14, 2015

"A carefully crafted and empowering coming-of-age tale that adds welcome diversity to the fantasy shelves. (Fantasy. 11-14)"
In the matrilineal monarchy of Tequende, when second-born children reach the tender age of 15, their families must surrender them to be trained as the mightiest soldiers in the land, known as the Second Guard. Read full book review >
FIRST THERE WAS FOREVER by Juliana Romano
Released: April 14, 2015

"An emotionally rich coming-of-age love story. (Fiction. 14-16)"
The best of friends chart new territory during their sophomore year. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Luis Alberto Urrea
April 21, 2015

Examining the borders between one nation and another, between one person and another, Luis Alberto Urrea’s latest story collection, The Water Museum, reveals his mastery of the short form. This collection includes the Edgar-award winning "Amapola" and his now-classic "Bid Farewell to Her Many Horses," which had the honor of being chosen for NPR's "Selected Shorts" not once but twice. Urrea has also recently published a poetry collection, Tijuana Book of the Dead, mixing lyricism and colloquial voices, mysticism and the daily grind. We talk to Urrea about both of his new books this week on Kirkus TV. View video >