THE GIRL WITH THE GLASS BIRD by Esme Kerr
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 31, 2015

"A fine mystery that will keep readers engaged until the final, scary reveal—and leave them eager for the next volume in the series. (Mystery. 11-14)"
After watching her vicious cousin kill her pet goldfish—and cook it!—orphan Edie is more than willing to be sent to a girls' boarding school to act as a spy. Read full book review >
PLAYING A PART by Daria Wilke
Released: March 31, 2015

"A lovely, moving novel with a bittersweet conclusion. (Fiction. 12-18)"
A boy raised by his parents in a Moscow puppet theater faces the ugliness of homophobia as one of the actors, who is gay, decides to leave Russia for the Netherlands in order to escape it. Read full book review >

THE KIDNEY HYPOTHETICAL by Lisa Yee
Released: March 31, 2015

"Smart, funny-but-ruthless teens and self-absorbed, grieving adults prove to be enormously appealing. (Fiction. 13-18)"
A perfect, glowing ending to a stellar high school career veers off course when debate-team captain Higgs Boson flunks girlfriend Roo's easy question: If she needed a kidney, would he give her one? Read full book review >
WHAT WAITS IN THE WOODS by Kieran Scott
Released: March 31, 2015

"Readers will be kept up late, shocked to discover the depth of the darkness that lies in the woods. (Suspense. 12-18)"
A camping trip turns deadly for a group of friends as a cackling stalker creeps among the trees, waiting for the perfect moment to strike. Read full book review >
THE START OF ME AND YOU by Emery Lord
Released: March 31, 2015

"A sweet story about forging an identity beyond tragedy. (Fiction. 12-18)"
Life doesn't have to be defined by death, but try telling that to sympathetic strangers. Read full book review >

THE CEMETERY BOYS by Heather Brewer
Released: March 30, 2015

"A slick, spooky, chilling mystery. (Horror. 12-16)"
Stephen's family returns to his father's hometown in search of a fresh start, but the town's dark history threatens to swallow them whole. Read full book review >
SURVIVING BEAR ISLAND by Paul Greci
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 25, 2015

"Bear Island is a challenging environment to survive but a terrific thrill on the page. (Adventure. 9-14)"
A fateful kayaking trip forces Tom to grow up fast while he faces dangers he only ever dreamed about. Read full book review >
THE HAUNTING OF SUNSHINE GIRL by Paige McKenzie
Released: March 24, 2015

"Suspenseful, exciting and endlessly entertaining. (Paranormal suspense. 12-16)"
Paranormal activity threatens to consume the life of a not-so-average teenage girl. Read full book review >
THE WALLS AROUND US by Nova Ren Suma
Released: March 24, 2015

"Eerie, painful and beautifully spine-chilling. (Supernatural suspense. 15-17)"
The intertwined stories of two teenage girls: a convicted killer and a Juilliard-bound ballerina. Read full book review >
LIARS, INC. by Paula Stokes
Released: March 24, 2015

"Captivating to the very end. (Mystery. 12-16)"
When Max's friend goes missing, he finds himself in the middle of an increasingly tangled web of lies and conspiracy. Read full book review >
BOYS DON'T KNIT by T.S. Easton
Released: March 24, 2015

"Wacky characters, a farcical plot and a fledgling romance are all part of the fun in this novel that will appeal to fans of Angus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging.(Fiction. 12-16)"
An unwilling accomplice to petty theft organized by his dim friends, English teen Ben Fletcher is annoyed that he was the one busted when he collided with a crossing guard. Read full book review >
WRITTEN IN THE STARS by Aisha Saeed
Released: March 24, 2015

"A competent narrative that sheds light on the difficult phenomenon of forced marriage, still prevalent in many cultures around the world and often shrouded in silence. (author's note, resources) (Fiction. 12-18)"
A Pakistani-American teen, caught between two cultures, finds herself at risk of losing her independence to a deceptively arranged marriage. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Frank Bruni
March 31, 2015

Over the last few decades, Americans have turned college admissions into a terrifying and occasionally devastating process, preceded by test prep, tutors, all sorts of stratagems, all kinds of rankings, and a conviction among too many young people that their futures will be determined and their worth established by which schools say yes and which say no. In Where You Go Is Not Who You’ll Be, New York Times columnist Frank Bruni explains why, giving students and their parents a new perspective on this brutal, deeply flawed competition and a path out of the anxiety that it provokes. “Written in a lively style but carrying a wallop, this is a book that family and educators cannot afford to overlook as they try to navigate the treacherous waters of college admissions,” our reviewer writes. View video >