CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 16, 2018

"Never melodramatic, this is a timely, eye-opening history. (foreword, introduction, epilogue, source notes, bibliography, index) (Nonfiction. 10-14)"
With Hasak-Lowy, Zimet, a founding member of Votes for Women 2020, an organization dedicated to, in part, celebrating the 100th anniversary of American women's right to vote, explores the decadeslong battle for suffrage and its many leaders. Read full book review >
MEET ME AT THE WELL by Jane Yolen
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 16, 2018

"A much-needed, thoughtful updating of Bible stories about women that functions as both storytelling experience and classic reference tome. (Religion. 10-14)"
Two award-winning children's-book authors team up for a more modern, feminist take on stories of girls and women in the Hebrew Bible. Read full book review >

ALL THAT WAS by Karen Rivers
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 16, 2018

"Emotionally dark and keenly observant, perfect for fans of E. Lockhart's We Were Liars (2014). (Fiction. 14-18)"
Sloane's grief over the murder of her best friend, Piper, is complicated by the rifts that had recently been developing in their friendship. Read full book review >
LOVE, HATE AND OTHER FILTERS by Samira Ahmed
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 16, 2018

"A well-crafted plot with interesting revelations about living as a second-generation Muslim-American teen in today's climate. (Fiction. 13-18)"
High school senior Maya Aziz works up the courage to tell her parents that she's gotten into the film school of her dreams in New York City, but their expectations combined with anti-Muslim backlash from a terror attack threaten to derail her dream. Read full book review >
TRULY DEVIOUS by Maureen Johnson
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 16, 2018

"A classic mystery that would make Dame Agatha proud. (Mystery. 14-18)"
Students attend the prestigious Ellingham Academy for myriad reasons, but all are geniuses, here to study that about which they're most passionate. Read full book review >

HOPE IN THE HOLLER by Lisa Lewis Tyre
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 9, 2018

"A moving and richly engaging tale of despair and redemption. (Fiction. 10-14)"
There isn't much of anything but crushing poverty in the holler, making hope hard to sustain. Read full book review >
A QUIET KIND OF THUNDER by Sara Barnard
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 9, 2018

"Both earnest and nuanced without seeking causes or cures. (Fiction. 14-16)"
A 16-year-old English girl with too much anxiety to speak in public makes a new friend. Read full book review >
BENEATH THE HAUNTING SEA by Joanna Meyer
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 9, 2018

"Epic, musical, and tender. (Fantasy. 12-16)"
A rightful empress, exiled before she takes the throne, finds that her destiny lies under the ocean. Read full book review >
NICE TRY, JANE SINNER by Lianne Oelke
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 9, 2018

"Character-driven, humorous, and deceptively profound. (Fiction. 14-18)"
A young Canadian woman joins the cast of a campus-produced reality TV show after she bombs out of her senior year of high school and decides to get her diploma at a local community college. Read full book review >
VERY, VERY, VERY DREADFUL by Albert Marrin
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 9, 2018

"Not one to shy away from unnerving details, Marrin relays what researchers and scientist express today: another influenza pandemic will unquestionably strike again. (notes, bibliography, further reading, picture credits, index) (Nonfiction. 12-18)"
A comprehensive history of the influenza pandemic of 1918, the worst global killer that humankind has experienced. Read full book review >
FACING FREDERICK by Tonya Bolden
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 9, 2018

"A spirited biography that fully honors its redoubtable subject. (author's note, timeline, source notes, selected sources, index) (Biography. 10-14)"
The story of one of the most iconic and photographed figures in American history. Read full book review >
ROOKIE ON LOVE by Tavi Gevinson
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 2, 2018

"A thoughtful, light read celebrating a universal emotion. (Anthology. 12-18)"
Curated from Rookie, an online magazine dedicated to teens and founded in 2011 by a then-15-year-old Gevinson, this anthology offers tales of love from 45 different, diverse voices. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >