WAKANABI BLUES by Melissa Tantaquidgeon Zobel
Released: June 2, 2015

"Too many ideas and not enough focus unfortunately diminish what could have been a unique and much-needed novel exploring the lives of contemporary Native American teens. (author's note) (Mystery. 13-17)"
Mona Lisa LaPierre's academic parents are off to Russia for research, leaving the teen behind in a cabin deep in the woods of New England with her crotchety Mohegan Indian grandfather, whom she barely knows. Read full book review >
CAST OFF by Eve Yohalem
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 19, 2015

"This novel has all the required elements to appeal to zealous historical-adventure buffs. (map) (Historical fiction. 9-14)"
Find out what happens when two 12-year-olds from vastly different worlds are thrown together in a high-seas adventure packed with action, secrets, and intrigue. Read full book review >

HOLD ME LIKE A BREATH by Tiffany  Schmidt
Released: May 19, 2015

"A decent girl-power twist on an old fairy tale for thriller lovers. (Thriller. 13-18)"
Many parents are overprotective, but perhaps none more so than the Landlows with their daughter, Penelope, whom they forbid anyone even to touch. Read full book review >
HEXED by Michael Alan Nelson
Released: May 5, 2015

"A bit stilted and ambitious, but an action-packed page-turner nonetheless. (Paranormal thriller. 13-17)"
In this prose adaptation of a comic-book series, when a harmless game goes horribly wrong, a cursed young thief must risk everything to help a policeman rescue his daughter from the land of the dead. Read full book review >
THE IMPROBABLE THEORY OF ANA AND ZAK by Brian Katcher
Released: May 19, 2015

"Fans of Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist will find con-tentment here. (Fiction. 13-18)"
Two teens discover that their improbable chemistry is just what it takes for a probable relationship. Read full book review >

HIT COUNT by Chris Lynch
Released: May 19, 2015

"This intense, timely story provides incredible insight into the reasons why knowledge of football's potential danger is not enough to keep young players from taking the field. (Fiction. 14-18)"
A high school football player is relentless in his effort to become a ferocious linebacker, ignoring the damage his body may be experiencing. Read full book review >
WALKING TWO WORLDS by Joseph Bruchac
Released: April 15, 2015

"Captivating and brief enough to be an easy sell for reluctant readers, this effort combines a snapshot of history with a skillful multicultural portrayal. (Historical fiction. 9-14)"
Ely, a Seneca Indian, has been sent to a boarding school to learn the ways of white people in hopes that he can become an effective representative for his people. Read full book review >
LION HEART by A.C. Gaughen
Released: May 19, 2015

"Fans of Scarlet will celebrate both this opportunity to revisit Gaughen's colorfully depicted long-ago world and her suspenseful ending to a lively story. (Historical fiction. 13-18)"
This third and concluding volume in Gaughen's retelling of the Robin Hood legend from Marian's point of view finds Marian (aka Scarlet) facing execution after months of imprisonment by evil Prince John. Read full book review >
THE TRUTH ABOUT MY SUCCESS by Dyan Sheldon
Released: June 9, 2015

"Constantly funny, splendidly witty: a bull's-eye. (Fiction. 12-18)"
A struggling waitress trades places with a spoiled-brat TV star in this comedy. Read full book review >
Released: June 9, 2015

"Now a world-renowned chef, Samuelsson neatly serves up inspiration and food for thought for the many young people interested in cooking. (Memoir. 12-16)"
Based on Yes, Chef (2012), a memoir for adults, this young readers' version offers insights into the life and food of one of America's top chefs.Read full book review >
THE STARS NEVER RISE by Rachel Vincent
Released: June 9, 2015

"Vincent's a pro: large parts of this are un-put-down-able. (Paranormal suspense. 12-18)"
A girl learns that she has the ability to fight the demons that threaten the world in this series opener. Read full book review >
EVEN WHEN YOU LIE TO ME by Jessica Alcott
Released: June 9, 2015

"Ultimately, readers see almost none of the anguish that this relationship would likely have caused Charlie, which dangerously de-emphasizes the predatory nature of Mr. Drummond's attentions. (Fiction. 14-18)"
Charlie, an insecure high school senior, finds herself in a troubling relationship with a teacher. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Pierce Brown
author of GOLDEN SON
February 17, 2015

With shades of The Hunger Games, Ender’s Game, and Game of Thrones, Pierce Brown’s genre-defying Red Rising hit the ground running. The sequel, Golden Son, continues the saga of Darrow, a rebel battling to lead his oppressed people to freedom. As a Red, Darrow grew up working the mines deep beneath the surface of Mars, enduring backbreaking labor while dreaming of the better future he was building for his descendants. But the Society he faithfully served was built on lies. Darrow’s kind have been betrayed and denied by their elitist masters, the Golds—and their only path to liberation is revolution. “Stirring—and archetypal—stuff,” our reviewer writes. View video >