HEART OF IRON by Ashley Poston
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 13, 2018

"A surplus of angst-ridden back stories told in deeply regrettable prose. (Science fiction. 12-15)"
The story of Anastasia, lost princess of Imperial Russia, retold as space opera. Read full book review >
THE SONG OF SEVEN by Tonke Dragt
by Tonke Dragt, illustrated by Tonke Dragt, translated by Laura Watkinson
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 6, 2018

"It's not for every reader, but the slow reveals will keep the pages turning for fans of Elizabeth Enright and E. Nesbit. (Mystery. 10-15)"
A young schoolteacher's drawn into a conspiracy to free an orphan and discover a treasure. Read full book review >

CHECKED by Cynthia Kadohata
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 6, 2018

"Best for dog lovers, hockey fans, and elite athletes. (Fiction. 10-14)"
An 11-year-old elite hockey player struggles with multiple real-world issues while sidelined from pursuing his dream of playing in the NHL. Read full book review >
BRINGING ME BACK by Beth Vrabel
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 6, 2018

"Engrossing, satisfying, and compassionate. (Fiction. 11-14)"
A boy, desperate and broken, and a young bear with its head caught in a bucket: Vrabel (Pack of Dorks, 2016, etc.) sensitively interweaves these two disparate plotlines. Read full book review >
YOU WILL BE MINE by Natasha Preston
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 6, 2018

"An unconvincing attempt at a holiday-themed thriller. (Thriller. 14-18)"
A serial killer terrorizes a group of university friends in the weeks leading up to Valentine's Day. Read full book review >

CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 6, 2018

"A solid account of women's contributions as aviators during World War II. (bibliography, notes, index) (Nonfiction. 10-16)"
Pearson zooms in on the leaders, pioneers, and supporters of the Women Air Force Service Pilots, or WASPs—a group of over 1,000 young women who contributed to the war effort by ferrying bombers, pursuit planes, and trainer planes where they needed to go, freeing up male pilots to head across the Atlantic. Read full book review >
FADE TO US by Julia Day
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 6, 2018

"A book for readers who like romance that flourishes against the odds and characters who learn and grow. (Fiction. 13-18)"
Brooke Byers is a white 17-year-old who had planned to spend the summer raking in the cash at her new job. But that all changes when her stepsister, Natalie, comes to stay for the summer. Read full book review >
ALL WE CAN DO IS WAIT by Richard Lawson
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 6, 2018

"Patient readers will fall for the characters; others will wonder if it's worth the wait—even with lives on the line. (Fiction. 14-18)"
A lot can happen in the hospital waiting room in the wake of a tragedy. Read full book review >
SHOOT THE MOON by Kate Watson
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 6, 2018

"Faults aside, Watson's plot is snappy, and she manages to keep Tate likable through all of his highly unlikable moments. (Fiction. 14-19)"
Watson's novel may not break the bank, but it's by no means a losing hand. Read full book review >
AMERICAN PANDA by Gloria Chao
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 6, 2018

"A worthy story that stumbles. (author's note) (Fiction. 12-17)"
A Taiwanese-American girl finally starts to experience life beyond her overbearing parents. Read full book review >
THE DRAGON'S CURSE by Bethany Wiggins
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 6, 2018

"Strictly for fans. (cast of characters, glossary not seen) (Fantasy. 12-16)"
Picking up shortly after The Dragon's Prince (2017) concluded, slightly improved more of the same. Read full book review >
THE BOOK OF PEARL by Timothée de Fombelle
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 6, 2018

"A luminous, haunting, intriguingly intricate modern fairy tale. (Fantasy. 12-18)"
Exiled from the "land of fairy tales," a melancholy youth seeks to find his way back. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >