THE DANGEROUS ART OF BLENDING IN by Angelo Surmelis
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 30, 2018

"Another heartbreaking novel that pits religion and sexuality against each other, but with an important, culturally specific perspective. (author's note, resources) (Fiction. 14-18)"
Mother really doesn't know best in this tale of a closeted gay teen from a devout Christian household. Read full book review >
THE ALTERED HISTORY OF WILLOW SPARKS by Tara O'Connor
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 30, 2018

"An intriguing and incisive plot that starts promisingly but ultimately falls flat. (Graphic fantasy. 12-16)"
Relentlessly bullied by the popular clique, the titular protagonist discovers an unexpected way to change her future. Read full book review >

BAD PRINCESS by Kris Waldherr
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 30, 2018

"Power to the princesses, right on! (further reading) (Nonfiction. 10-14)"
The author of Doomed Queens (2008) examines "princess backlash" and asks: what makes a princess? Read full book review >
A PROBLEMATIC PARADOX by Eliot Sappingfield
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 23, 2018

"A glorious cacophony of wildly inventive gadgets, gags, and action. (Science fiction. 10-14)"
After her father's abduction, a middle school genius is sent to a school filled with quirks and quarks. Read full book review >
A LAND OF PERMANENT GOODBYES by Atia Abawi
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 23, 2018

"A heartbreaking, haunting, and necessary story that offers hope while laying bare the bleakness of the world Tareq leaves and the new one he seeks to join. (Fiction. 12-18)"
From award-winning journalist Abawi (The Secret Sky, 2014) comes an unforgettable novel that brings readers face to face with the global refugee crisis. Read full book review >

DOLPHINS by Susan Casey
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 23, 2018

"A compelling and eye-opening story of the interconnected worlds of humans and dolphins that's full of engaging detail and vivid language. (acknowledgments, selected bibliography) (Nonfiction. 10-14)"
In this middle-grade adaptation of Voices in the Ocean: A Journey into the Wild and Haunting World of Dolphins (2015), Casey escapes her city life and journeys around the world to better understand how dolphins live, think, and relate to humans. Read full book review >
BEFORE I LET GO by Marieke Nijkamp
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 23, 2018

"Intriguingly spooky but never quite coheres. (Suspense. 12-16)"
Seven months after Corey left her hometown of Lost Creek, Alaska, and her best friend, Kyra, behind, she returns, grief-stricken, to learn what caused Kyra's death. Read full book review >
THE LAST GIRL ON EARTH by Alexandra Blogier
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 23, 2018

"This easy-reading sci-fi outing should appeal to fans of Suzanne Weyn and Lisa M. Stasse. (Science fiction. 13-16)"
Only her father and sister know Li's secret, one that could get her killed: she's human. Read full book review >
THE TRUTH AS TOLD BY MASON BUTTLE by Leslie Connor
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 23, 2018

"Connor's gift for creating complex characters extends to the supporting characters and makes this a compelling read. (Fiction. 9-14)"
Under a cloud of suspicion after the death of his best friend, a boy with a "trifecta of troubles" continues as best he can. Read full book review >
GIRL ON POINTE by Chloe Lukasiak
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 23, 2018

"A positive, informative account best suited for the author's more than 1 million YouTube subscribers and social media followers; others can give it a pass. (photographs, epilogue) (Memoir. 12-16)"
With an assist from Ohlin, dancer-turned-reality star-turned-actress-turned-internet sensation Lukasiak offers advice for conquering bullying, overcoming shyness, following dreams, and growing up in the spotlight. Read full book review >
BLOOD AND SAND by C.V. Wyk
Released: Jan. 16, 2018

"In this era of Katniss Everdeen, 300's Gorgo, The Matrix's Trinity, and the recently rebooted Wonder Woman, it takes more than a female Spartacus to make a thoughtfully feminist adventure. (Historical fiction/romance. 13-18)"
Though the back cover sells this book as a woman-centered take on Spartacus, readers will get the impression the author repeatedly played "Gladiator" and "300" video games while writing this story. Read full book review >
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 16, 2018

"Never melodramatic, this is a timely, eye-opening history. (foreword, introduction, epilogue, source notes, bibliography, index) (Nonfiction. 10-14)"
With Hasak-Lowy, Zimet, a founding member of Votes for Women 2020, an organization dedicated to, in part, celebrating the 100th anniversary of American women's right to vote, explores the decadeslong battle for suffrage and its many leaders. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >