SECRETS & SEQUENCES by Gene Luen Yang
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 7, 2017

"Nearly every element (especially the bad guys) escalates wildly and successfully in this nifty comp-sci romp. (Graphic science fiction. 8-14)"
The series' overarching plot ramps up in the third entry of the Secret Coders series. Read full book review >
THE BEAST IS AN ANIMAL by Peternelle van Arsdale
Released: March 7, 2017

"Moody, ponderous, and baroque; a good choice for readers with Gothic inclinations. (Fantasy. 12-18)"
In a dark atmospheric fantasy debut, one young woman (like so many adolescents) finds her greatest enemy is the monster within. Read full book review >

THE PAIN EATER by Beth Goobie
Released: March 7, 2017

"Powerfully written, this is not just a story about trauma, but also one of healing. (Fiction. 13-18)"
A thoughtful and sensitive handling of a difficult topic. Read full book review >
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 7, 2017

"In today's world, it remains more important than ever to remember these survivors. (afterword, photos, characters, glossary) (Memoir. 11-14)"
Michael was only 4 when he miraculously survived the liberation of Auschwitz in January 1945. Read full book review >
A MONTH OF MONDAYS by Joëlle Anthony
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 7, 2017

"A solid story that explores themes of family, abandonment, and belonging. (Fiction. 10-14)"
Grade-seven student Suze Tamaki decides whether or not to reconnect with her 10-years-absent mother. Read full book review >

SEVEN DAYS OF YOU by Cecilia Vinesse
Released: March 7, 2017

"Have some tissues handy for the ending. (Fiction. 14-18)"
Fans of Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist and Lost in Translation will find good company in this whirlwind romance set in Tokyo. Read full book review >
MAX by Sara Cohen-Scali
Released: March 7, 2017

"Horrific atrocities—and the ghastly realities of any war—seen through the eyes of a child with heartbreaking cognitive dissonance pack a wallop. (Historical fiction. 15-18)"
The education of a young Nazi, from fetus to 9-year-old. Read full book review >
ARMSTRONG & CHARLIE by Steven B. Frank
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 7, 2017

"Unforgettable, well-drawn titular characters are the heart of this deeply moving and laugh-out-loud funny story about family, friendship, integrity, and navigating differences. (Historical fiction. 10-14)"
Two sixth-grade boys from different worlds are brought together by school desegregation in 1970s Los Angeles. Read full book review >
THE GREAT PURSUIT by Wendy Higgins
Released: March 7, 2017

"A tepid, formulaic fantasy that fails to sufficiently interrogate the issues it raises. (Fantasy.13-18)"
Following duology opener The Great Hunt (2016), Princess Aerity and her people face another brutal threat in the form of angry Lashed citizens, who are tired of being punished for their ability to do magic. Read full book review >
THE INEXPLICABLE LOGIC OF MY LIFE by Benjamin Alire Sáenz
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 7, 2017

"The author of Printz Honor-winning Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe (2012) offers another stellar, gentle look into the emotional lives of teens on the cusp of adulthood. (Fiction. 14-17)"
Three college-bound Latino teens navigate their ways through senior year in El Paso. Read full book review >
THE OTHER F-WORD by Natasha Friend
Released: March 7, 2017

"Those facing similar quests to find birth parents will find this story comforting. (Fiction. 12-18)"
Two teens that share a sperm donor go on a quest to find their father. Read full book review >
CONFESSIONS OF A HIGH SCHOOL DISASTER by Emma Chastain
Released: March 7, 2017

"Awkwardness, drama, and a pinch of burgeoning self-awareness. (Fiction. 12-15)"
The chronicles of Chloe Snow's journey from self-absorbed high school freshman to slightly less self-absorbed sophomore. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Laini Taylor
March 27, 2017

In bestselling YA writer Laini Taylor’s new fantasy novel, Strange the Dreamer, the dream chooses the dreamer, not the other way around—and Lazlo Strange, war orphan and junior librarian, has always feared that his dream chose poorly. Since he was five years old he's been obsessed with the mythic lost city of Weep, but it would take someone bolder than he to cross half the world in search of it. Then a stunning opportunity presents itself, in the person of a hero called the Godslayer and a band of legendary warriors, and he has to seize his chance to lose his dream forever. What happened in Weep two hundred years ago to cut it off from the rest of the world? What exactly did the Godslayer slay that went by the name of god? And what is the mysterious problem he now seeks help in solving? “Lovers of intricate worldbuilding and feverish romance will find this enthralling,” our critic writes. View video >