SECONDHAND CHARM by Julie Berry
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2010

"An entertaining read—guaranteed. (Fantasy. 10-14)"
Berry's romantic fantasy teems with action, suspense and a bit of boy-next-door romance. Read full book review >
NIGHTSHADE CITY by Hilary Wagner
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2010

"A good story well-told. (Animal fantasy. 10-14)"
Fans of Suzanne Collins's Underland Chronicles and Brian Jacques's Redwall series will enjoy this fast-paced adventure set deep in the Catacombs, where a community of intelligent rats lives in peace and harmony. Read full book review >

ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2010

"Fascinating and useful. (website, suggested reading, index) (Nonfiction. 9-14)"
Gray wolves genetically distinct from their inland cousins live along the coast of British Columbia in a partially protected area called the Great Bear Rainforest. Read full book review >
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2010

"Still, novices may find the step-by-step instruction helpful and appreciate the aggressively upbeat tone. (Nonfiction. 10-14)"
Aimed at civic-minded youth, this hands-on guide to activism may interest kids very new to the concept. Read full book review >
CLOAKED IN RED by Vivian Vande Velde
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2010

"Lightweight but cozy and versatile, it's much funnier than the solemn cover lets on. (Fractured fairy tales. 9-14)"
The opening salvo is an author's note in which veteran writer Vande Velde neatly deconstructs and skewers the original Little Red Riding Hood story—and then proceeds to write eight variations on it. Read full book review >

DAUGHTER OF WINTER by Pat Lowery Collins
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2010

"Still, history lovers will enjoy her adventures. (Historical fiction. 10-14)"
Twelve-year-old Addie has a lot to deal with after her father leaves for the 1849 gold rush and then her mother and younger brother die of fever. Read full book review >
WRITTEN IN BLOOD by John Wilson
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2010

"Still, chapters are short and action filled, Jim is a likable character and reluctant readers will find this to be a fast-paced, easy-to-swallow tale of the Old West. (Historical fiction. 11-14)"
Sixteen-year-old Jim has left his 1870s home in Canada and, based on clues from an old letter, is traveling to the Mexican border village of Casas Grandes in search of his long-missing father. Read full book review >
THE DEFENSE OF THADDEUS A. LEDBETTER by John Gosselink
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2010

"It won't take long for readers to realize that Thaddeus is as weird and annoying as the students and faculty think he is, but there is something endearing about him, too, as readers will glean from the lively assemblage of documents. (Fiction. 10-14)"
Twelve-year-old Thaddeus A. Ledbetter has landed himself in In-School Suspension for the rest of the school year for performing his own safety drill at Crooked Creek Middle School. Read full book review >
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2010

The use of surveillance balloons in the Civil War has been chronicled to some extent in such books for young readers as Thomas B. and Roger McBride Allen's Mr. Lincoln's High-Tech War (2009) and Paul Janeczko's Dark Game (2010), but none has covered the subject with as much depth and detail as this engaging story of how the enterprising Lowe, already famous as an aeronaut at the outbreak of the Civil War, convinced President Lincoln of the value of using balloons to spy on the Confederate army. Read full book review >
MINDBLIND by Jennifer Roy
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2010

"Readers will be happy to see Nathaniel succeed. (Fiction. 10-14)"
Lovable 14-year-old "Aspie" Nathaniel Clark stores his memories in computer-like files in his brain, loves formulas, plays keyboard in a rock band, has some trouble in social situations, likes to spend time in his own mental world and really, really wants to be a genius. Read full book review >
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 28, 2010

"Useful captions accompany the many full-color illustrations of artwork and photographs. (notes, bibliography) (Nonfiction. 10-14)"
This lively look at escapades of daring men—and a surprising number of women—who risked their lives flying in balloons will appeal to adventure, history and science buffs—and perhaps steampunk fans as well. Read full book review >
SPHINX'S QUEEN by Esther Friesner
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 28, 2010

The sequel to Sphinx's Princess (2009) is an ancient Egyptian soap opera starring Nefertiti as a mouthy, gutsy teen. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >