THE MONARCHS ARE MISSING by Rebecca E. Hirsch
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2018

"An excellent introduction to a familiar scientific puzzle. (author's note, glossary, further reading, become a citizen scientist, plant a butterfly garden, source notes, selected bibliography, index) (Nonfiction. 9-14)"
Scientists and citizen scientists investigate monarch butterflies. Read full book review >
UNDERNEATH IT ALL by Amber J. Keyser
YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 1, 2018

"A serviceable introduction to the history of women's undergarments, with some nuggets of importance and insight. (source notes, selected bibliography, further information, index) (Nonfiction. 13-18)"
Spanning several centuries in eight succinct chapters, Keyser's narrative takes a look at women's undergarments—their history, political and social implications, sexual and fashion statements, and complex evolution. Read full book review >

TO RIGHT THE WRONGS by Sheryl Scarborough
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 27, 2018

"In some ways this sequel is an improvement on its predecessor, but it still misses the mark. (Mystery. 14-18)"
In a follow-up to To Catch a Killer (2017), 16-year-old forensic enthusiast Erin finds herself in the middle of yet another murder mystery. Read full book review >
CADAVER & QUEEN by Alisa Kwitney
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 27, 2018

"Fans of Marissa Meyer's Lunar Chronicles will enjoy this. (Science fiction. 13-17)"
An American medical student stumbles upon a dark secret in this twist on Frankenstein's story. Read full book review >
PEOPLE LIKE US by Dana Mele
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 27, 2018

"The blend of predictable prep school elements with unpredictable suspense makes this a fizzy read for fans of the genre. (Mystery. 14-18)"
For some girls, it's a killer getting into Bates Academy. For others, attending the elite prep school means getting killed. Read full book review >

GRIM BEGINNINGS by Sarah Graley
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 27, 2018

"An appealing mixture of 95 percent humor and 5 percent horror perfect for fans of John Allison's graphic-novel series Giant Days and the web series Carmilla. (Graphic fantasy. 12-18)"
Two girls attending university crush on each other and fight supernatural creatures in this charming graphic novel for teens. Read full book review >
ADELAIDE'S SECRET WORLD by Elise Hurst
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 27, 2018

"Complex feelings articulated through heart-rending paintings that beg return visits. (Picture book. 5-14)"
Amid a teeming city, bustling with smartly dressed bears, foxes, cats, humans, and ostriches, rabbit Adelaide spends each day alone in her workshop safely behind a soft, red curtain. Read full book review >
THE TRAITOR'S GAME by Jennifer A. Nielsen
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 27, 2018

"Nielsen's fans will eagerly anticipate sequels, but newcomers may find this first entry too little different from others in the genre to persist. (Fantasy. 14-18)"
A rebellious lady fends off and flirts with actual rebels in this series starter. Read full book review >
THIS HEART OF MINE by C.C. Hunter
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 27, 2018

"Writing from personal experience, Hunter delivers a read that's both absorbing and honest. (author's note) (Paranormal romance. 14-18)"
Leah McKenzie is a white high school senior who is waiting for her third heart. She's on the transplant list, but due to a rare blood type she's decided to accept her death. Read full book review >
THE CALCULUS OF CHANGE by Jessie Hilb
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 27, 2018

"Full of heart. (Fiction. 13-17)"
It's not just Tate's two-toned blue yarmulke that makes Aden fall in love with him, but it sure helps. Read full book review >
THIS TINY PERFECT WORLD by Lauren Gibaldi
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 27, 2018

"Penny's conflict about her future is believable, and readers facing similar choices should find much that is recognizable. (Fiction. 12-18)"
A summer theater program changes Penny's expectations for life after high school. Read full book review >
WHERE I LIVE by Brenda Rufener
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 27, 2018

"Disjointed, didactic, and mostly disappointing. (Fiction. 14-18)"
If she can follow the rules, no one will ever discover that she is the "homeless girl hiding in front of them." Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >