THE TOMBS by Deborah Schaumberg
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 20, 2018

"Not a must-have. (author's note) (Historical fantasy. 14-17)"
A young woman with the ability to see auras, seeking her mother's freedom, discovers that with great power comes even greater danger in Schaumberg's steampunk-lite, historical debut. Read full book review >
HOOPER by Geoff Herbach
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 20, 2018

"No one here is perfect, and their failures make readers cringe yet root for success. Hoops and so much more. (Fiction. 14-18)"
Adopted from Poland three and a half years ago, Adam decides that basketball may be his "passport to a good life." Read full book review >

BLOOD OF A THOUSAND STARS by Rhoda Belleza
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 20, 2018

"Not a stand-alone but an essential conclusion with indelible moments. (map, character list, planet list) (Science fiction. 14-18)"
Separated, unaware of the others, three teens try to wrest control of the galaxy from an evil celebrity in this sequel to Empress of a Thousand Skies (2017). Read full book review >
FLIGHT SEASON by Marie Marquardt
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 20, 2018

"Marquardt once again writes a touching and authentic exploration of immigration, love, and loss. (Fiction. 14-17)"
A grieving hospital intern and an ambitious young nurse's aide bond over their shared friendship with a dying teen patient. Read full book review >
THE OSTRICH AND OTHER LOST THINGS by Beth Hautala
Released: Feb. 20, 2018

"A reasonably engaging coming-of-age tale that might especially appeal to children in Olivia's situation. (Fiction. 10-14)"
Olivia's older brother, Jacob, is autistic. As time passes, the impact of his condition intensifies, threatening to overwhelm her and her parents. Read full book review >

HEART OF ASH by Kim Liggett
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 20, 2018

"The occasionally choppy narrative and underdeveloped relationships mark this for fans of Blood and Salt only. (Paranormal romance. 14-18)"
Ash's transformation into an immortal in Blood and Salt (2015) continues to lead her into both danger and romance. Read full book review >
CAN YOUR OUTFIT CHANGE THE WORLD? by Erinne Paisley
Released: Feb. 20, 2018

"A good introduction to issues within the fashion industry, but activist readers might need some encouragement to pick it up. (glossary, resources) (Nonfiction. 12-16)"
Not all activism starts with fundraising or marching. You can begin in small ways, like with your clothes. Read full book review >
MERCY RULE by Tom Leveen
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 20, 2018

"Teens looking for tension and melodrama may find this to be an appealing read but only if they're willing to overlook a few plot holes along the way. (Thriller. 14-18)"
The lives of a dozen diverse high school students and a teacher are examined in the months leading up to a Halloween school shooting. Read full book review >
NO SAD SONGS by Frank Morelli
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 20, 2018

"An uneven love song to the hardships of caring for ailing family. (Fiction. 14-18)"
After the deaths of his parents, a boy is left to care for his ill grandfather. Read full book review >
CLEM HETHERINGTON AND THE IRONWOOD RACE by Jen Breach
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 27, 2018

"Indiana Jones meets Mad Max in a whirlwind as exciting for teens as it is for middle-grade readers. (Graphic science fiction. 10-16)"
Young archaeologists Clem and her android brother enter a dangerous race to find priceless artifacts. Read full book review >
WHERE I LIVE by Brenda Rufener
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 27, 2018

"Disjointed, didactic, and mostly disappointing. (Fiction. 14-18)"
If she can follow the rules, no one will ever discover that she is the "homeless girl hiding in front of them." Read full book review >
THIS TINY PERFECT WORLD by Lauren Gibaldi
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 27, 2018

"Penny's conflict about her future is believable, and readers facing similar choices should find much that is recognizable. (Fiction. 12-18)"
A summer theater program changes Penny's expectations for life after high school. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >