FADE TO US by Julia Day
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 6, 2018

"A book for readers who like romance that flourishes against the odds and characters who learn and grow. (Fiction. 13-18)"
Brooke Byers is a white 17-year-old who had planned to spend the summer raking in the cash at her new job. But that all changes when her stepsister, Natalie, comes to stay for the summer. Read full book review >
THE JOURNEY OF LITTLE CHARLIE by Christopher Paul Curtis
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 30, 2018

"A characteristically lively and complex addition to the historical fiction of the era from Curtis. (author's note) (Historical fiction. 10-14)"
A white sharecroppers' son finds himself on a mission to recapture a family that has escaped slavery. Read full book review >

BLOOD AND SAND by C.V. Wyk
Released: Jan. 16, 2018

"In this era of Katniss Everdeen, 300's Gorgo, The Matrix's Trinity, and the recently rebooted Wonder Woman, it takes more than a female Spartacus to make a thoughtfully feminist adventure. (Historical fiction/romance. 13-18)"
Though the back cover sells this book as a woman-centered take on Spartacus, readers will get the impression the author repeatedly played "Gladiator" and "300" video games while writing this story. Read full book review >
THE SWEETEST KIND OF FATE by Crystal Cestari
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 13, 2018

"A sequel with even less magic—literal and figurative—than its predecessor. (Paranormal romance. 12-16)"
The story of Amber Sand, matchmaker extraordinaire, continues after The Best Kind of Magic (2017). Read full book review >
A LAND OF PERMANENT GOODBYES by Atia Abawi
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 23, 2018

"A heartbreaking, haunting, and necessary story that offers hope while laying bare the bleakness of the world Tareq leaves and the new one he seeks to join. (Fiction. 12-18)"
From award-winning journalist Abawi (The Secret Sky, 2014) comes an unforgettable novel that brings readers face to face with the global refugee crisis. Read full book review >

HEART OF ASH by Kim Liggett
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 20, 2018

"The occasionally choppy narrative and underdeveloped relationships mark this for fans of Blood and Salt only. (Paranormal romance. 14-18)"
Ash's transformation into an immortal in Blood and Salt (2015) continues to lead her into both danger and romance. Read full book review >
THE OSTRICH AND OTHER LOST THINGS by Beth Hautala
Released: Feb. 20, 2018

"A reasonably engaging coming-of-age tale that might especially appeal to children in Olivia's situation. (Fiction. 10-14)"
Olivia's older brother, Jacob, is autistic. As time passes, the impact of his condition intensifies, threatening to overwhelm her and her parents. Read full book review >
ALL WE CAN DO IS WAIT by Richard Lawson
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 6, 2018

"Patient readers will fall for the characters; others will wonder if it's worth the wait—even with lives on the line. (Fiction. 14-18)"
A lot can happen in the hospital waiting room in the wake of a tragedy. Read full book review >
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 16, 2018

"Never melodramatic, this is a timely, eye-opening history. (foreword, introduction, epilogue, source notes, bibliography, index) (Nonfiction. 10-14)"
With Hasak-Lowy, Zimet, a founding member of Votes for Women 2020, an organization dedicated to, in part, celebrating the 100th anniversary of American women's right to vote, explores the decadeslong battle for suffrage and its many leaders. Read full book review >
THE PRINCE AND THE DRESSMAKER by Jen Wang
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 13, 2018

"A biblio bias-cut whose shimmer is welcome despite its optimistic shortsightedness. (Historical graphic fiction. 12-18)"
Once upon a time, there was a prince who felt fabulous only in exquisite gowns. Read full book review >
TRAVELING THE BLUE ROAD by Lee Bennett Hopkins
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 17, 2017

"Care and research are evident throughout this poignant book, which is much more than its subtitle, 'Poems of the Sea'; in essence and in sum, it is a history of inhumanity. (Picture book/poetry. 8-14)"
A collection of illustrated poems explores human travel across oceans through history. Read full book review >
MEET ME AT THE WELL by Jane Yolen
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 16, 2018

"A much-needed, thoughtful updating of Bible stories about women that functions as both storytelling experience and classic reference tome. (Religion. 10-14)"
Two award-winning children's-book authors team up for a more modern, feminist take on stories of girls and women in the Hebrew Bible. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >