THE LEAGUE OF BEASTLY DREADFULS by Holly Grant
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 24, 2015

"A yummy debut, though readers with sensitive stomachs would be well-advised to check them at the door. (Fantasy. 10-12)"
Two sinister spinsters spirit a seemingly ordinary fifth-grader away one day to a moldering former asylum, informing her that she's become an orphan and they are her great-aunts. Yeah, right. Read full book review >
TEDDY MARS by Molly B. Burnham
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 24, 2015

"Fans of world-record quests and those who enjoy lighthearted tales will savor Teddy's efforts. (Fiction. 8-12)"
After discovering TheGuinness Book of World Records, Teddy's determined to achieve a world record, too. Read full book review >

WRITTEN IN THE STARS by Aisha Saeed
Released: March 24, 2015

"A competent narrative that sheds light on the difficult phenomenon of forced marriage, still prevalent in many cultures around the world and often shrouded in silence. (author's note, resources) (Fiction. 12-18)"
A Pakistani-American teen, caught between two cultures, finds herself at risk of losing her independence to a deceptively arranged marriage. Read full book review >
JINX'S FIRE by Sage Blackwood
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 24, 2015

"A solid conclusion to a trilogy that, though overcrowded and about a half volume too long, is nonetheless threaded with proper amounts of heroism, humor and ingenious twists of character. (map, not seen) (Fantasy. 10-12)"
Multiple threats to his beloved Urwald send tree whisperer Jinx down magical Paths of Ice and Fire in this populous closer. Read full book review >
BLACKBIRD FLY by Erin Entrada Kelly
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 24, 2015

"Children's literature has been waiting for Apple Yengko—a strong, Asian-American girl whose ethnic identity simultaneously complicates and enriches her life. (Fiction. 9-14)"
Apple Yengko has one possession from the Philippines—a Beatles cassette tape with her father's name written on it. She knows every song by heart. Read full book review >

IN THE TIME OF DRAGON MOON by Janet Lee Carey
Released: March 24, 2015

"Ultimately, a satisfying tale of a girl who must come to terms with her own blended identity. (author's note) (Fantasy. 12-17)"
Humans, dragons and fey coexist on Wilde Island, but this uneasy peace masks a simmering, mutual distrust that surfaces after the English army abducts an Euit healer and his daughter to cure the aging queen's infertility—failure is not an option. Read full book review >
HOLD ME CLOSER by David Levithan
Released: March 17, 2015

"It's big. It's gay. It's outrageous and hilarious. (Fiction. 12-18)"
Finally, Tiny Cooper gets his own story: the musical. Read full book review >
THE SCHNOZ OF DOOM by Andrea Beaty
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 17, 2015

"Armageddon-averting fun for fans of Jon Scieszka's Spaceheadz and M.T. Anderson's Pals in Peril. (Adventure. 8-12)"
Can Earth again be in peril from extraterrestrial bunnies? Read full book review >
HOSTAGE RUN by Andrew Klavan
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 17, 2015

"Another empty-caloried thriller, thinly sauced with superficial psychology and earnest professions of generic faith. (Science fantasy. 11-13)"
The desperate MindWar enters a new phase when evil mastermind Kurodar breaks through the boundary between his digital Realm and Real Life in this cranked-up middle volume. Read full book review >
MILAYNA by Michelle K. Pickett
Released: March 17, 2015

"At least it has hobgoblins. (Paranormal suspense. 12-18)"
Yet another half-angel book, this one focuses more on physical combat than on supernatural warfare. Read full book review >
FORK-TONGUE CHARMERS by Paul Durham
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 17, 2015

"Generally successful, this adventuresome second installment entertains and leaves dangling ends to set up the third. (Fantasy. 9-13)"
Book 2 in the middle-grade Luck Uglies trilogy (The Luck Uglies, 2014) continues the adventure in the fantasy world of the Shale. Read full book review >
THE WRONG SIDE OF RIGHT by Jenn Marie Thorne
Released: March 17, 2015

"Absorbing and timely. (Fiction. 12-18)"
A 16-year-old girl whose mother has just recently died learns that she is the daughter of the Republican candidate for president of the United States. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Frank Bruni
March 31, 2015

Over the last few decades, Americans have turned college admissions into a terrifying and occasionally devastating process, preceded by test prep, tutors, all sorts of stratagems, all kinds of rankings, and a conviction among too many young people that their futures will be determined and their worth established by which schools say yes and which say no. In Where You Go Is Not Who You’ll Be, New York Times columnist Frank Bruni explains why, giving students and their parents a new perspective on this brutal, deeply flawed competition and a path out of the anxiety that it provokes. “Written in a lively style but carrying a wallop, this is a book that family and educators cannot afford to overlook as they try to navigate the treacherous waters of college admissions,” our reviewer writes. View video >