SURVIVING HIGH SCHOOL by Lele Pons
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 5, 2016

"A by-the-numbers high school story with shallow characters and misplaced values. (Fiction. 12-15)"
Vine star Pons crafts a high school novel with herself as protagonist. Read full book review >
AMERICA'S TEA PARTIES by Marissa Moss
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 5, 2016

"A very fine piece of historical reclamation that broadens our understanding of the road to revolution. (Nonfiction. 11-14)"
Moss reminds readers that the tea parties of the 1770s were not strictly a Boston affair, no matter how much the city enjoys its spuriously unique association. Read full book review >

SOPHIE QUIRE AND THE LAST STORYGUARD by Jonathan Auxier
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 5, 2016

"This novel should be in the hands of every human young enough at heart to be enchanted by the written word. (Fantasy. 8-12)"
Sophie is given an extraordinary book to repair, and with it comes all manner of magic and danger. Read full book review >
AVENGING THE OWL by Melissa Hart
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 5, 2016

"A memorable read. (resources) (Fiction. 11-13)"
Solo's dad walked away from a successful Hollywood career writing cartoons, traded the Corvette for a VW bus, and moved his family from their beachfront home to a trailer in Oregon, where Solo's efforts to avenge his kitten's death at the claws of an owl go horribly wrong. Read full book review >
THE FALLEN PRINCE by Amalie Howard
Released: April 5, 2016

"Popcorn fiction at best. (Science fiction. 12-18)"
A parallel-dimension-jumping cyborg soldier must make questionable alliances to save her country from an existential threat in this sequel to The Almost Girl (2013).Read full book review >

BOOKED by Kwame Alexander
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 5, 2016

"A satisfying, winning read. (Fiction. 10-12)"
Nick Hall is a bright eighth-grader who would rather do anything other than pay attention in class. Read full book review >
ONCE WAS A TIME by Leila Sales
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 5, 2016

"Rewarding and uplifting. (Fantasy. 9-13)"
The friendship of two 10-year-old English girls is tested when one travels through a portal to the future. Read full book review >
THE TALE OF A NO-NAME SQUIRREL by Radhika R. Dhariwal
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 5, 2016

"With so many excellent animal-fantasy books available, there's no reason to spend money or time on this one. (Fantasy. 9-12)"
A squirrel and his dog friend go on a journey to find a key that will unlock a powerful map in this middle-grade fantasy. Read full book review >
DAUGHTERS OF RUIN by K.D. Castner
Released: April 5, 2016

"The slow, confusing opening does no favors, but eventually things speed up; anyone who makes it through the midpoint will end eager to see what happens next. (Fantasy. 12-16)"
Another book in the constant stream of read-alikes for Game of Thrones, with an actual body count. Read full book review >
DEADLY FLOWERS by Sarah L. Thomson
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 5, 2016

"Edge-of-your-seat action that will have both girls and boys rooting for the girl ninjas. (Historical fantasy. 10-14)"
A girl's first mission as a ninja is complicated by a pair of young siblings and dangerous Japanese spirits. Read full book review >
23 MINUTES by Vivian Vande Velde
Released: April 5, 2016

"A gripping page-turner for time fantasy enthusiasts. (Speculative fiction. 12-17)"
Blue-haired Zoe Mahar ducks into a bank to escape a downpour and comes face to face with a robber who's not afraid to use his gun. Read full book review >
THE DEADLY 7 by Garth Jennings
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 5, 2016

"Muddled but fun, with a notably subversive premise. (Fantasy. 11-13)"
With help from seven loyal but decidedly iffy companions, 11-year-old Nelson sets out to rescue his kidnapped older sister. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Marilu Henner
author of CHANGING NORMAL
April 26, 2016

After they’d been dating only a short while, and as they were falling in love, Marilu Henner and Michael Brown were hit with the ultimate bad news: Michael was diagnosed with cancer. Refusing traditional care, they pieced together a personal and holistic view on battling his cancer, all while forging an unbreakable bond. In this moving and informative book, Marilu pulls back the curtain on how they dealt with the blow. She relates her holistic perspective on health—including the superfoods, exercises, and immunotherapy they used to fight back—and why a diagnosis doesn’t have to be the end of romance or of a happy and fulfilling life. “An inspiring love story wrapped in a serious call for new ways to treat disease,” our reviewer writes. View video >