WILD IDEAS by Elin Kelsey
Kirkus Star
by Elin Kelsey, illustrated by Soyeon Kim
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 14, 2015

"Profound and entirely wonderful. (author's note) (Informational picture book. 5-12)"
Finding solutions to sticky problems can be a mind-expanding adventure. Read full book review >
THE WHISPERER by Fiona McIntosh
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 14, 2015

"A gripping, first-rate tale of a prince and a pauper. (Fantasy. 8-12)"
Two 13-year-old strangers living in the land of Drestonia find themselves communicating through their minds as their perilous lives become surprisingly intertwined. Read full book review >

THE TRAP by Steven  Arntson
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 7, 2015

"An amazing blend of mystery, romance, science fiction and social commentary. (Science fiction. 9-12)"
It is 1963 in Farro, Iowa, where not much happens—at least until the school bully goes missing and four seventh-graders find a book that allows them to literally have out-of-body experiences. Read full book review >
LIKE A RIVER by Kathy Cannon Wiechman
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 7, 2015

"A superb Civil War tale of friendship, loyalty and what it means to be a man. (bibliography) (Historical fiction. 9-14)"
The stories of three teens intersect in the later years of the Civil War in this debut novel. Read full book review >
THE LOST MARBLE NOTEBOOK OF FORGOTTEN GIRL & RANDOM BOY by Marie Jaskulka
Released: April 7, 2015

"Graceful. Searing. Haunting. (Verse fiction. 12-17)"
Trying to escape their broken worlds, two teens fall in love with devastating results. Read full book review >

LIES I TOLD by Michelle Zink
Released: April 7, 2015

"Highly readable, gripping and touching. (Thriller. 12-18)"
A girl struggles to hold onto her own identity within her family of thieves. Read full book review >
SIMON VS. THE HOMO SAPIENS AGENDA by Becky Albertalli
Released: April 7, 2015

"Funny, moving and emotionally wise. (Fiction. 12-18)"
A gay teen comes out to friends, family and classmates after his secret correspondence with another boy is discovered. Read full book review >
BUTTON HILL by Michael Bradford
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 1, 2015

"Rare, scary fun. With tomatoes. (Horror. 11-13)"
A moment's messing with an odd clock plunges a lad into the strange and dangerous borderland between the living world and the realms of the dead in this decidedly offbeat chiller. Read full book review >
LAUREN IPSUM by Carlos Bueno
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 1, 2015

"Positive, smart, empowering philosophies and thinking skills couched in a wacky adventure. (Fantasy/philosophy. 8-14)"
A lost girl travels through a fantastical Alice in Wonderland-esque world filled with The Phantom Tollbooth-like computer-programming metaphors.Read full book review >
THE KIDNEY HYPOTHETICAL by Lisa Yee
Released: March 31, 2015

"Smart, funny-but-ruthless teens and self-absorbed, grieving adults prove to be enormously appealing. (Fiction. 13-18)"
A perfect, glowing ending to a stellar high school career veers off course when debate-team captain Higgs Boson flunks girlfriend Roo's easy question: If she needed a kidney, would he give her one? Read full book review >
THE LEAGUE OF BEASTLY DREADFULS by Holly Grant
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 24, 2015

"A yummy debut, though readers with sensitive stomachs would be well-advised to check them at the door. (Fantasy. 10-12)"
Two sinister spinsters spirit a seemingly ordinary fifth-grader away one day to a moldering former asylum, informing her that she's become an orphan and they are her great-aunts. Yeah, right. Read full book review >
BOYS DON'T KNIT by T.S. Easton
Released: March 24, 2015

"Wacky characters, a farcical plot and a fledgling romance are all part of the fun in this novel that will appeal to fans of Angus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging.(Fiction. 12-16)"
An unwilling accomplice to petty theft organized by his dim friends, English teen Ben Fletcher is annoyed that he was the one busted when he collided with a crossing guard. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Fatima Bhutto
April 14, 2015

Set during the American invasion of Afghanistan, Fatima Bhutto’s debut novel The Shadow of the Crescent Moon begins and ends one rain-swept Friday morning in Mir Ali, a small town in Pakistan’s Tribal Areas close to the Afghan border. Three brothers meet for breakfast. Soon after, the eldest, Aman Erum, recently returned from America, hails a taxi to the local mosque. Sikandar, a doctor, drives to the hospital where he works, but must first stop to collect his troubled wife, who has not joined the family that morning. No one knows where Mina goes these days. But when, later in the morning, the two are taken hostage by members of the Taliban, Mina will prove to be stronger than anyone could have imagined. Our reviewer writes that The Shadow of the Crescent Moon is “a timely, earnest portrait of a family torn apart by the machinations of other people’s war games and desperately trying to survive.” View video >