MADE FOR EACH OTHER by Dorothy Hinshaw Patent
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 23, 2018

"A smorgasbord of dog facts and tidbits whose distinguishing value may be to inspire interest in readers to research further. (sources, index) (Nonfiction. 8-12)"
An overview of the relationship between people and dogs. Read full book review >
GIRL ON POINTE by Chloe Lukasiak
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 23, 2018

"A positive, informative account best suited for the author's more than 1 million YouTube subscribers and social media followers; others can give it a pass. (photographs, epilogue) (Memoir. 12-16)"
With an assist from Ohlin, dancer-turned-reality star-turned-actress-turned-internet sensation Lukasiak offers advice for conquering bullying, overcoming shyness, following dreams, and growing up in the spotlight. Read full book review >

THE ROYAL RABBITS OF LONDON by Santa Montefiore
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 23, 2018

"A humorous, fast-paced adventure with a surprisingly engaging and inspiring hero who discovers 'anything in the world is possible.' (Animal fantasy. 8-12)"
A quiet young bunny longing for adventure becomes involved with a band of elite rabbits dedicated to safeguarding the royal family of England. Read full book review >
WHISKERELLA by Ursula Vernon
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 23, 2018

"Readers will have a ball with this hilarious, charming story. (Graphic/fantasy hybrid. 7-12)"
Hamster princess Harriet is back in Vernon's take on "Cinderella." Read full book review >
THE TRUTH AS TOLD BY MASON BUTTLE by Leslie Connor
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 23, 2018

"Connor's gift for creating complex characters extends to the supporting characters and makes this a compelling read. (Fiction. 9-14)"
Under a cloud of suspicion after the death of his best friend, a boy with a "trifecta of troubles" continues as best he can. Read full book review >

THE LAST GIRL ON EARTH by Alexandra Blogier
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 23, 2018

"This easy-reading sci-fi outing should appeal to fans of Suzanne Weyn and Lisa M. Stasse. (Science fiction. 13-16)"
Only her father and sister know Li's secret, one that could get her killed: she's human. Read full book review >
BEFORE I LET GO by Marieke Nijkamp
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 23, 2018

"Intriguingly spooky but never quite coheres. (Suspense. 12-16)"
Seven months after Corey left her hometown of Lost Creek, Alaska, and her best friend, Kyra, behind, she returns, grief-stricken, to learn what caused Kyra's death. Read full book review >
MY SO-CALLED SUPERPOWERS by Heather Nuhfer
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 23, 2018

"A book that manages to outpace its protagonist in mediocrity—skip it. (Fantasy. 10-13)"
A 13-year-old budding artist struggles to join a popular clique when sudden superpowers derail her plans. Read full book review >
DOLPHINS by Susan Casey
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 23, 2018

"A compelling and eye-opening story of the interconnected worlds of humans and dolphins that's full of engaging detail and vivid language. (acknowledgments, selected bibliography) (Nonfiction. 10-14)"
In this middle-grade adaptation of Voices in the Ocean: A Journey into the Wild and Haunting World of Dolphins (2015), Casey escapes her city life and journeys around the world to better understand how dolphins live, think, and relate to humans. Read full book review >
A LAND OF PERMANENT GOODBYES by Atia Abawi
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 23, 2018

"A heartbreaking, haunting, and necessary story that offers hope while laying bare the bleakness of the world Tareq leaves and the new one he seeks to join. (Fiction. 12-18)"
From award-winning journalist Abawi (The Secret Sky, 2014) comes an unforgettable novel that brings readers face to face with the global refugee crisis. Read full book review >
A PROBLEMATIC PARADOX by Eliot Sappingfield
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 23, 2018

"A glorious cacophony of wildly inventive gadgets, gags, and action. (Science fiction. 10-14)"
After her father's abduction, a middle school genius is sent to a school filled with quirks and quarks. Read full book review >
BAD PRINCESS by Kris Waldherr
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 30, 2018

"Power to the princesses, right on! (further reading) (Nonfiction. 10-14)"
The author of Doomed Queens (2008) examines "princess backlash" and asks: what makes a princess? Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >