MINECRAFT by Max Brooks
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 18, 2017

"For Minecraft fans whose game consoles are broken. (Fantasy. 12-16)"
"Same as it ever was…." Read full book review >
QUESTS FOR GLORY by Soman Chainani
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 19, 2017

"New chapters in this metafictional romp leave the villains ascendant. Stay tuned. (color map) (Fantasy. 11-13)"
A sudden rash of kidnappings and random violence kicks off a major challenge to the reign of King Arthur's newly crowned son, Tedros. Read full book review >

THE FANTASTIC BODY by Howard Bennett
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 7, 2017

"A thorough, accurate, and attractive effort that's useful for quick reference as well as for a deeper examination of the topic. (Nonfiction. 10-14)"
Anatomy and physiology books for older grade schoolers are not especially rare, but it's worth taking a close look at this new one. Read full book review >
NORSE MYTHS by Kevin Crossley-Holland
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 17, 2017

"Lavishly illustrated and strongly atmospheric—as well suited for reading aloud as alone. (schematic of the nine worlds, cast of characters) (Myths. 11-13)"
Twenty tales of gods, giants, and dwarfs, of mighty feats and epic trickery. Read full book review >
FOOLED YA! by Jordan D. Brown
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 12, 2017

"An eye-opener for readers who think their brains have it all figured out (but look what's telling them that, as the old joke goes). (glossary, index) (Nonfiction. 10-13)"
A catalog of trickery, from optical illusions to scams and advertising. Read full book review >

ILLUMANATOMY by Kate Davies
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2017

"A novelty item, but even casual browsers will be riveted. (Informational novelty. 8-12)"
An unusual inside look at human anatomy, featuring specially processed images that are color matched to a three-windowed viewer. Read full book review >
THE FIRST TO KNOW by Abigail Johnson
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Nov. 7, 2017

"A smart, heartfelt tale that's more than its nifty high concept. (Fiction. 13-17)"
The DNA sequencing Dana secretly obtained for her dad was supposed to be his best birthday present ever—now, it threatens to tear her family apart. Read full book review >
HIS ROYAL WHISKERS by Sam Gayton
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 14, 2017

"Complex and convoluted, this tale will repay close attention from fans of offbeat fantasy. (Fantasy. 10-14)"
Love conquers all, sort of, eventually, maybe, in this quirky fantasy that incorporates alchemical transformations, hidden identities, inventive wordplay, and terrible (mostly off-stage) violence and destruction. Read full book review >
THE TRUE QUEEN  by Sarah Fine
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 2, 2018

"Fiery, icy, sad, thrilling. (Fantasy. 12-16)"
It takes two people to make one queen. Read full book review >
THE LAST GIRL ON EARTH by Alexandra Blogier
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 23, 2018

"This easy-reading sci-fi outing should appeal to fans of Suzanne Weyn and Lisa M. Stasse. (Science fiction. 13-16)"
Only her father and sister know Li's secret, one that could get her killed: she's human. Read full book review >
LOVE, HATE AND OTHER FILTERS by Samira Ahmed
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 16, 2018

"A well-crafted plot with interesting revelations about living as a secular Muslim teen in today's climate. (Fiction. 13-18)"
High school senior Maya Aziz works up the courage to tell her parents that she's gotten into the film school of her dreams in New York City, but their expectations combined with anti-Muslim backlash from a terror attack threaten to derail her dream. Read full book review >
THE ETERNITY ELIXIR  by Frank L. Cole
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 2, 2018

"A solid if not spectacular beginning. (Fantasy. 10-13)"
Twelve-year-old Gordy is already a gifted Dram, an adolescent brewer of potions, but it will take all of his talent, his training, and the help of his friends if he is going to save the Elixirist community. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >