THE OCEANS BETWEEN STARS by Kevin Emerson
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 13, 2018

"Thrills, violence, time/space questions, and some contemplation about colonization make for action on the thoughtful side. (Science fiction. 10-13)"
Between Liam and the starliner carrying his sister lie baffling timestreams, inscrutable enemies, and vast stretches of cold, empty space. Read full book review >
HAMILTON AND PEGGY! by L.M. Elliott
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 13, 2018

"The demand for stories about the world of Alexander Hamilton shows no sign of letting up, and this entry ably feeds the need. (Historical fiction. 13-18)"
The story of Alexander Hamilton's romance with Eliza Schuyler as seen through the eyes of her younger sister Peggy. Read full book review >

VOICES IN THE AIR by Naomi Shihab Nye
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 13, 2018

"Asking tough questions and demonstrating the beauty of the voices on the fringe, Nye once again deftly charts the world through verse: not to be missed. (biographical notes) (Poetry. 13-17)"
A rich collection of poems celebrating diverse lives. Read full book review >
THE HEAT IS ON by Charise Mericle Harper
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 13, 2018

"Fast-paced and fun-filled, a delicious read for middle graders, foodies or not. (Fiction. 8-12)"
In Part 2 of this three-part series, only three contestants remain in the running for the "Next Best Junior Chef" competition. Who will be the next to go? Read full book review >
EARTH VERSE by Sally M. Walker
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 13, 2018

"In all, a provocative verse introduction to what lies on and deep below the Earth's surface. (further reading) (Picture book/poetry. 8-13)"
Earth's geologic wonders illustrated and crystallized through haiku. Read full book review >

VOTES FOR WOMEN! by Winifred Conkling
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 13, 2018

"Almost a century after women's right to vote was secured, Conkling delivers a tour de force—fairly neutral, at times infuriating, occasionally graphic, and reminiscent of disturbing news today. (selected sources, timeline, bibliography, notes) (Nonfiction. 12-16)"
Spanning multiple centuries, this work may be the most comprehensive account for young readers about the founders, leaders, organizers, and opponents of the American suffragist movement. Read full book review >
HEART OF IRON by Ashley Poston
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 13, 2018

"A surplus of angst-ridden back stories told in deeply regrettable prose. (Science fiction. 12-15)"
The story of Anastasia, lost princess of Imperial Russia, retold as space opera. Read full book review >
THE SONG OF SEVEN by Tonke Dragt
by Tonke Dragt, illustrated by Tonke Dragt, translated by Laura Watkinson
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 6, 2018

"It's not for every reader, but the slow reveals will keep the pages turning for fans of Elizabeth Enright and E. Nesbit. (Mystery. 10-15)"
A young schoolteacher's drawn into a conspiracy to free an orphan and discover a treasure. Read full book review >
CHECKED by Cynthia Kadohata
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 6, 2018

"Best for dog lovers, hockey fans, and elite athletes. (Fiction. 10-14)"
An 11-year-old elite hockey player struggles with multiple real-world issues while sidelined from pursuing his dream of playing in the NHL. Read full book review >
BRINGING ME BACK by Beth Vrabel
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 6, 2018

"Engrossing, satisfying, and compassionate. (Fiction. 11-14)"
A boy, desperate and broken, and a young bear with its head caught in a bucket: Vrabel (Pack of Dorks, 2016, etc.) sensitively interweaves these two disparate plotlines. Read full book review >
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 6, 2018

"A solid account of women's contributions as aviators during World War II. (bibliography, notes, index) (Nonfiction. 10-16)"
Pearson zooms in on the leaders, pioneers, and supporters of the Women Air Force Service Pilots, or WASPs—a group of over 1,000 young women who contributed to the war effort by ferrying bombers, pursuit planes, and trainer planes where they needed to go, freeing up male pilots to head across the Atlantic. Read full book review >
ARLO FINCH IN THE VALLEY OF FIRE by John August
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 6, 2018

"Atmospheric at best, formulaic at worst. (Fantasy. 8-12)"
A 12-year-old white boy finds out he's special in a new middle-grade fantasy series. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >