DAUGHTERS OF RUIN by K.D. Castner
Released: April 5, 2016

"The slow, confusing opening does no favors, but eventually things speed up; anyone who makes it through the midpoint will end eager to see what happens next. (Fantasy. 12-16)"
Another book in the constant stream of read-alikes for Game of Thrones, with an actual body count. Read full book review >
DEADLY FLOWERS by Sarah L. Thomson
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 5, 2016

"Edge-of-your-seat action that will have both girls and boys rooting for the girl ninjas. (Historical fantasy. 10-14)"
A girl's first mission as a ninja is complicated by a pair of young siblings and dangerous Japanese spirits. Read full book review >

23 MINUTES by Vivian Vande Velde
Released: April 5, 2016

"A gripping page-turner for time fantasy enthusiasts. (Speculative fiction. 12-17)"
Blue-haired Zoe Mahar ducks into a bank to escape a downpour and comes face to face with a robber who's not afraid to use his gun. Read full book review >
THE DEADLY 7 by Garth Jennings
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 5, 2016

"Muddled but fun, with a notably subversive premise. (Fantasy. 11-13)"
With help from seven loyal but decidedly iffy companions, 11-year-old Nelson sets out to rescue his kidnapped older sister. Read full book review >
THE NEW GUY (AND OTHER SENIOR YEAR DISTRACTIONS) by Amy Spalding
Released: April 5, 2016

"Far too little kissing. Far too much fussing. (Fiction. 13-16)"
For years, every minute in Jules McAllister-Morgan's day has been carefully scheduled and committed to a single cause: getting accepted at Brown University. Read full book review >

SPACED OUT by Stuart Gibbs
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 5, 2016

"Fans of the first book will find this a decent mystery but also a bit of a letdown; here's hoping things pick up again in the next volume. (Mystery. 9-14)"
Another mystery presents itself on Moon Base Alpha. Read full book review >
QUEEN OF LIKES by Hillary Homzie
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 5, 2016

"Timely fun for phone-addicted middle schoolers. (Fiction. 9-13)"
How can a middle school girl survive without her phone? Read full book review >
SCAR by J. Albert Mann
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 5, 2016

"A sobering characterization of not only a historical battle, but war itself. (bibliography) (Historical fiction. 10-14)"
The Revolutionary War forces a sheltered but determined boy to come of age. Read full book review >
EPIC FAIL by Kevin Serwacki
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 5, 2016

"An open end promises more martial arts mischief in Volume 3…it's hard to imagine what trope's yet untapped, though. (Adventure. 9-12)"
Ninja tea ceremony: hot tea, sweet cakes, terrified screams, certain death…. Read full book review >
EMPTY PLACES by Kathy Cannon Wiechman
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 5, 2016

"Still, Adabel is a sympathetic character, and the novel offers an unsentimental, accurate glimpse into an era's past. (Historical fiction. 9-12)"
Secrets dog a motherless girl and her family. Read full book review >
THE EUREKA KEY by Sarah L. Thomson
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 5, 2016

"Unfortunately, this series opener feels far more formulaic than fresh. (Adventure. 9-12)"
After winning a puzzle contest, three young people find themselves in the middle of a dangerous treasure hunt for hidden national artifacts. Read full book review >
CICI RENO by Kristina Springer
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 5, 2016

"A surprisingly successful, suspenseful, and engrossing take on the Cyrano story with a contemporary twist. (Fiction. 11-14)"
To help her good-looking but painfully tongue-tied best friend, Aggie, land Drew, the boy of her dreams, Cici pretends to be Aggie online. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Marilu Henner
author of CHANGING NORMAL
April 26, 2016

After they’d been dating only a short while, and as they were falling in love, Marilu Henner and Michael Brown were hit with the ultimate bad news: Michael was diagnosed with cancer. Refusing traditional care, they pieced together a personal and holistic view on battling his cancer, all while forging an unbreakable bond. In this moving and informative book, Marilu pulls back the curtain on how they dealt with the blow. She relates her holistic perspective on health—including the superfoods, exercises, and immunotherapy they used to fight back—and why a diagnosis doesn’t have to be the end of romance or of a happy and fulfilling life. “An inspiring love story wrapped in a serious call for new ways to treat disease,” our reviewer writes. View video >