CASTLE HANGNAIL by Ursula Vernon
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 21, 2015

"An appealing protagonist, lots of action, clever, witty writing, witchcraft and evildoers who get nothing but what they deserve—what's not to love? (Fantasy. 10-16)"
Castle Hangnail is in desperate need of a new Master; 12-year-old budding Wicked Witch Molly might be just the person to fill the position. Read full book review >
STILL WATERS by Ash Parsons
Released: April 21, 2015

"An uneven debut, but Parsons shows real promise with Jason's characterization. (Fiction. 12-16)"
A down-on-his-luck teen is made an offer he can't refuse. Read full book review >

THE MAD APPRENTICE by Django Wexler
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 21, 2015

"A story rich in action and allegory—fantasy fans will want to hang on for what comes next. (Fantasy. 10-14)"
Still searching for her missing father, 12- or 13-year-old Alice Creighton finds a formidable enemy in Torment, a wildly dominating magical creature, in this second book in the Forbidden Library series. Read full book review >
FRIEND OR FOE by Jody Feldman
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 21, 2015

"It's this altruism, combined with a competitive spirit, that will have readers rooting for these kids. (Fiction. 8-12)"
The Gollywhopper Games come back for a third round of puzzlers and prizes, with the main contestant a kid who is totally into football. Read full book review >
SOPHOMORE YEAR IS GREEK TO ME by Meredith Zeitlin
Released: April 21, 2015

"Fans of Sarah Mlynowski, Stephanie Perkins and Louise Rennison will enjoy this squeaky-clean travel adventure about the strength of family and the power of new experiences. (Fiction. 11-15)"
A dyed-in-the-wool New York teen discovers her Greek roots in this breezy novel by the author of Freshman Year & Other Unnatural Disasters (2012).Read full book review >

DR. CRITCHLORE'S SCHOOL FOR MINIONS by Sheila Grau
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 21, 2015

"A droll addition to the magical school genre, worthy of a seat toward the front of the (Harry) Potter-wagon. (pictorial cast list) (Fantasy. 11-13)"
Will assaults from within and without close a renowned school for minions—leaving the Evil Overlords of the world to draw from rival schools? Read full book review >
ARCHIE GREENE AND THE MAGICIAN'S SECRET by D.D. Everest
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 21, 2015

"Familiarity in fiction breeds boredom. (Fantasy. 8-12)"
The delivery of an ancient book propels Archie Greene into a world of magic and danger: the perfect birthday present for any 12-year-old. Read full book review >
EVIL SPY SCHOOL by Stuart Gibbs
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 21, 2015

"It's not a nail-biter, but it certainly is an entertaining battle between good and evil. (Adventure. 8-12)"
Super-spy-in-training Ben Ripley is headed for enemy territory. Read full book review >
CONSPIRACY OF BLOOD AND SMOKE by Anne Blankman
Released: April 21, 2015

"Suspenseful and clever, intertwining historical truth with action-packed shootouts. (author's note, bibliography) (Historical fiction. 13-16)"
A former intimate of Adolf Hitler returns to prewar Germany to save her beloved, all while fighting the rising power of the Nazi Party. Read full book review >
MURDER IS BAD MANNERS by Robin Stevens
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 21, 2015

"An irresistible English import with sequels to come. (Mystery. 10-14)"
A pair of eighth-grade girls, admirers of Holmes and Watson, expose a real murderer in a tony English boarding school in 1934. Read full book review >
GONE CRAZY IN ALABAMA by Rita Williams-Garcia
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 21, 2015

"Rich in all areas, Delphine and her sisters' third outing will fully satisfy the many fans of their first two. (Historical fiction. 8-12)"
The coping skills of three sisters are put to the test as they leave Brooklyn for a rural summer in 1969 Alabama. Read full book review >
FINDING PARIS by Joy Preble
Released: April 21, 2015

"Fast-paced with intriguing teen characters, a budding relationship and a bit of mystery—curiosity will keep those pages turning. (Fiction. 13-17)"
Paranormal author Preble (The A-Word, 2014, etc.) crosses over to straight teen fiction with this drama wrapped in a mystery. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Fatima Bhutto
April 14, 2015

Set during the American invasion of Afghanistan, Fatima Bhutto’s debut novel The Shadow of the Crescent Moon begins and ends one rain-swept Friday morning in Mir Ali, a small town in Pakistan’s Tribal Areas close to the Afghan border. Three brothers meet for breakfast. Soon after, the eldest, Aman Erum, recently returned from America, hails a taxi to the local mosque. Sikandar, a doctor, drives to the hospital where he works, but must first stop to collect his troubled wife, who has not joined the family that morning. No one knows where Mina goes these days. But when, later in the morning, the two are taken hostage by members of the Taliban, Mina will prove to be stronger than anyone could have imagined. Our reviewer writes that The Shadow of the Crescent Moon is “a timely, earnest portrait of a family torn apart by the machinations of other people’s war games and desperately trying to survive.” View video >