THE KIDNEY HYPOTHETICAL by Lisa Yee
Released: March 31, 2015

"Smart, funny-but-ruthless teens and self-absorbed, grieving adults prove to be enormously appealing. (Fiction. 13-18)"
A perfect, glowing ending to a stellar high school career veers off course when debate-team captain Higgs Boson flunks girlfriend Roo's easy question: If she needed a kidney, would he give her one? Read full book review >
THE LEAGUE OF BEASTLY DREADFULS by Holly Grant
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 24, 2015

"A yummy debut, though readers with sensitive stomachs would be well-advised to check them at the door. (Fantasy. 10-12)"
Two sinister spinsters spirit a seemingly ordinary fifth-grader away one day to a moldering former asylum, informing her that she's become an orphan and they are her great-aunts. Yeah, right. Read full book review >

BOYS DON'T KNIT by T.S. Easton
Released: March 24, 2015

"Wacky characters, a farcical plot and a fledgling romance are all part of the fun in this novel that will appeal to fans of Angus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging.(Fiction. 12-16)"
An unwilling accomplice to petty theft organized by his dim friends, English teen Ben Fletcher is annoyed that he was the one busted when he collided with a crossing guard. Read full book review >
LIARS, INC. by Paula Stokes
Released: March 24, 2015

"Captivating to the very end. (Mystery. 12-16)"
When Max's friend goes missing, he finds himself in the middle of an increasingly tangled web of lies and conspiracy. Read full book review >
BLACKBIRD FLY by Erin Entrada Kelly
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 24, 2015

"Children's literature has been waiting for Apple Yengko—a strong, Asian-American girl whose ethnic identity simultaneously complicates and enriches her life. (Fiction. 9-14)"
Apple Yengko has one possession from the Philippines—a Beatles cassette tape with her father's name written on it. She knows every song by heart. Read full book review >

UNDER A PAINTED SKY by Stacey Lee
Released: March 17, 2015

"Emotionally resonant and not without humor, this impressive debut about survival and connection, resourcefulness and perseverance will keep readers on the very edges of their seats. (Historical fiction. 12-16)"
Two girls on the racial margins of mid-19th-century America team up and head west. Read full book review >
MOON BEAR by Gill Lewis
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 17, 2015

"A moving and memorable tale of a boy and his bear. (Fiction. 9-13)"
Like Nâam-pèng, the bravest bee in a much-loved story, a boy faces a monster—bear-bile farming—and makes a difference. Read full book review >
THE WHISPER by Aaron Starmer
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 17, 2015

"A riveting, imaginative, disconcerting, inscrutable, unresolved sequel, guaranteed to leave readers anxious for the finale. (Fantasy. 10-14)"
In this sequel to The Riverman (2014), 12-year-old Alistair Cleary travels to a parallel world searching for his missing friend, Fiona.Read full book review >
MY PEN by Christopher Myers
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 10, 2015

"Poignant, vulnerable, wise. (Picture book. 7-12)"
A boy describes everything his pen can do, from the literal to the metaphorical. Read full book review >
ROLLER GIRL by Victoria Jamieson
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 10, 2015

"Full of charm and moxie—don't let this one roll past. (Graphic fiction. 9-13)"
One summer changes everything for two 12-year-old girls whose friendship is tested when their interests—and attitudes—diverge. Read full book review >
THE MAINE COON'S HAIKU by Michael J. Rosen
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 10, 2015

"This perfect poetical paean to pussycats makes both a fine gift for a cat lover and an excellent haiku handbook. (Picture book/poetry. 7-12)"
A kitty companion to The Cuckoo's Haiku (2009) and The Hound Dog's Haiku (2011).Read full book review >
THE DEATH OF THE HAT by Paul B. Janeczko
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 10, 2015

"Another winning collaboration from two luminaries. (acknowledgements) (Picture book/poetry. 8-12)"
Janeczko and Raschka reunite for a fourth anthology, featuring poems spanning two millennia. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Frank Bruni
March 31, 2015

Over the last few decades, Americans have turned college admissions into a terrifying and occasionally devastating process, preceded by test prep, tutors, all sorts of stratagems, all kinds of rankings, and a conviction among too many young people that their futures will be determined and their worth established by which schools say yes and which say no. In Where You Go Is Not Who You’ll Be, New York Times columnist Frank Bruni explains why, giving students and their parents a new perspective on this brutal, deeply flawed competition and a path out of the anxiety that it provokes. “Written in a lively style but carrying a wallop, this is a book that family and educators cannot afford to overlook as they try to navigate the treacherous waters of college admissions,” our reviewer writes. View video >