Fantasy Book Reviews (page 4)

SOUND BENDER by Lin Oliver
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 1, 2011

"Ultimately, readers will feel this has all been done before. (Science fiction. 10-14)"
A young adolescent boy discovers secret, amazing powers. Read full book review >
DESTINED by P.C. Cast
FANTASY
Released: Oct. 25, 2011

"Though readers must be willing to overlook some seriously cringeworthy dialogue, this outing will not disappoint House of Night fans. (Paranormal romance. 14 & up)"
The ninth book in the House of Night series opens with Zoey Redbird, the "Nerd Herd" and the rest of the red fledglings returning to school at the House of Night. Though the High Council decreed that Neferet allow their return, tensions on the Tulsa campus run high. Read full book review >

GUARDIAN OF THE GREEN HILL by Laura L. Sullivan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 25, 2011

"Richly atmospheric storytelling in the tradition of Narnia and Nesbit. (Fantasy. 9-14) "
Weeks after her pivotal role in the Midsummer War in Under the Green Hill (2010), contemporary American Meg Morton must decide if she's willing to "do the hard things" and become the Guardian of the Green Hill fairy sanctuary. Read full book review >
THE ANNOTATED PHANTOM TOLLBOOTH by Norton Juster
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 25, 2011

"A timeless tribute to learning as play, much enriched with background on even the (seemingly) throwaway lines and puns. (Literary criticism. 10-12, adult)"
Still ferrying dazzled readers to Dictionopolis and beyond 50 years after his first appearance, young Milo is accompanied this time through by encyclopedic commentary from our generation's leading (and most readable) expert on the history of children's literature and publishing. Read full book review >
THE MAGIC CAKE SHOP by Meika Hashimoto
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 25, 2011

"Emma is a tough cookie, but this recipe for a fun fantasy falls as flat as a collapsed soufflé. (Fantasy. 9-11)"
When "Plain Jane" Emma tries to thwart her evil uncle's scheme to take over a master baker's shop, a lot of slurping, spewing and brewing ensue. Read full book review >

THE JEWEL OF THE KALDERASH by Marie Rutkoski
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 25, 2011

"Thrilling, heartrending and unexpectedly sweet; Petra's adventures could not have had a more satisfying conclusion. (Fantasy. 11-15)"
A slambang finale to a refreshingly different fantasy trilogy. Read full book review >
SWEAR by Nina Malkin
FANTASY
Released: Oct. 18, 2011

"With romances between supernatural creatures and humans dominating the market, this seems like a shameful ploy to draw out something that should have been left where it was—kind of like resurrecting the dead to find a potential boyfriend. (Paranormal romance. 14 & up)"
Not every teen paranormal romance requires a sequel—and this demonstrates why. Read full book review >
THE SCORPIO RACES by Maggie Stiefvater
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 18, 2011

"Masterful. Like nothing else out there now. (Fantasy. 13-18)"
The bestselling author of Shiver (2009) and Linger (2010) turns the legend of the water horse into a taut, chilling, romantic adventure. Read full book review >
BURIED THUNDER by Tim Bowler
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 15, 2011

"Horror with heart. (Horror. 12-15)"
This spine-tingler plunges into the stuff of nightmares. Read full book review >
FOX & PHOENIX by Beth Bernobich
FANTASY
Released: Oct. 13, 2011

"Overall, the blurred magic/technology boundary gives a compelling flavor to an adventure well worth reading. (Fantasy/cyberpunk. 13-15)"
A ghost dragon sends Kai and his spirit pig on a quest to rescue the princess of a cyberpunk China-analogue. Read full book review >
TRIS AND IZZIE by Mette Ivie Harrison
FANTASY
Released: Oct. 11, 2011

"More High School Musical than Wagnerian sturm und drang. (Fantasy. 12 & up)"
Torn between two boys, 16-year-old Isolde also finds herself caught between a normal life and her recently rediscovered magical legacy in this modernization of Tristan and Isolde. Read full book review >
UNFORSAKEN by Sophie Littlefield
FANTASY
Released: Oct. 11, 2011

"An unnecessary sequel that adds little. (Paranormal suspense. 12-18)"
Billed as a "companion," this is not so much a sequel to Banished (2010) as it is a retread. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >